We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greta place in Cayo Coco for adult-only”
Review of Melia Cayo Coco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Melia Cayo Coco
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Cayo Coco
Certificate of Excellence
Longueuil, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Greta place in Cayo Coco for adult-only”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We were there from May 22nd to June 1st 2014. It was our second time at this hotel and it was a great pleasure to rediscover this hotel. DO NOT MISS the international a la carte restaurant located on the lagoon (las caletas). The food was great as you would expect in a French restaurant. All the superior rooms (lagoon) have been redone with new furniture and paint.
The Wi-Fi works quite fast at the lobby. It was 4.5 CUC per hour. There two different cards, one for onsite computer and one for Wi-Fi. Ask for the right one. I have to mention the impressive filet mignon at the buffet, it was soooo good, especially for low season. We really enjoyed the ambiance at the lobby bar. We like to drink cava (sparkling white wine) before dinner and they have plenty of bottle at the lobby and with orange juice for mimosa. We rented a car to discover the neighbor island Cayo Paredon, there is an impressive lighthouse still running since 1859.
About the construction East of Melia, yes we hear sounds, but not really loud, You cannot go to Cayo Coco and not spending one day at Playa Pilar in Cayo Guillermo. That beach is probably the nicest one in Cuba. There is a hotel under construction on the west area, not really close to the restaurant. Take the hopon-hopoff bus for 5 cuc it definitively worth the trip.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed our superior room #3912. You may enjoy sun at your balcony in the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Norm-Lily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear loyal customer,
We are so glad to read it has been such an enjoyable second holiday!
Thank you very much for taking the time to review it. Your comments make us feel like we have succeeded and give us strength to continue in the same direction!
Yes, all we get about our Buffet are compliments and although we are striving in making our a la carte restaurants better than our buffet; we know there is still room for improvement and we are working on it.
The room you had (3912) is a superior room over the lagoon. Aren't they lovely!
I hope we can welcome you back in the future. We will be delighted in providing you with another enjoyable holiday experience next time you visit us.
With warmest regards,
Santiago Innerarity
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,037 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,122
    1,370
    357
    113
    75
See reviews for
532
4,157
105
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,470)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed for 8 days in suite on lagoon - room was amazing. Adults only so quiet around pool and dining is sophisticated even in the buffet. Good ievening entertainment and food in all restaurants excellent standard for AI. Staff make this place wonderful, so helpful and friendly. They should adopt stricter dress code in buffet restaurant in evening. I recommend and upgrade to suite on lagoon.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Supershopper123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Customer,
I am very happy to read you were delighted with our Deluxe Suites.
We get so many compliments on our buffet and a la cart restaurants, which makes us very happy.
We have already shared all your nice words with our staff. All of them worked hard with the best intention of providing our guests with an unforgettable stay.
There are always adjustments to be made and your observations and suggestions always help us to do so.
We do look forward in the hope of being able to welcome you back in the near future.

With warmest regards,
Santiago Innerarity
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

we went may 2014. weather in 1st week was very warm, but with a few thunderstorms (which cooled the humidity down nicely). 2nd week it was hot! :)
our room was very spacious and kept spotless every day by the maid, who also made nice swan decorations with the towels and added flowers.
the food was excellent! so much variety and quantity. we mainly ate in the buffet restaurant, which was nice, decent size etc. the waiters and waitresses were brilliant.
you can also book to eat in some a la carte restaurants too. there is an Italian, a carribean, and one called internationale, which was also excellent! the presentation was like some of the dishes you might see on masterchef!
another thing I've just thought of - the gardener's go round spraying mozzi repellent in the bushes etc. someone said not other hotels do that. so that's good
Would I recommend this hotel? YES!!!!! definitely

Room Tip: take mozzi spray! you will get bitten by mozzis so small you might not see them. (even tho the garde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahlouisejwlry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Customer,
Thank you very much for your fantastic review.
I am very glad to know that you have encountered our food and services to a high standard and you were pleased with the offer of our buffet and a la cart restaurants. We know there is still room for improvement and we are working on it.
We are very proud of our staff. Our maid staff is one of the most valued teams.
You are right, at this time of the year we start to have some mosquitoes around. We spray as much as we can to avoid them. It is a good advice to bring some repellent.
Thank you for recommending us, and do look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

With warmest regards,

Santiago Innerarity
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Over the years I have heard so many negative things about Cuba. Thought I would finally give it a try. We stayed here and I have to say after travelling for twenty five years to many places I was pleasantly surprised.We arrived and our lagoon view room was ready. The room is very plain,nothing fancy but very clean.Beds are on the hard side. They only leave one bottle of water in the room so we had to order more each day.There is instant coffee in the room but no milk,cream etc. The resort is very nice, not too large but does need some repairs.The service was very good and all the staff were very friendly. Now for the food. It was pretty good at the main buffet.You could always find something you liked at each meal. Watch for under cooked chicken.The restaurant at the beach is not at all good.I ordered fajitas and my daughter had a hot dog and they were terrible,hot dog had a wierd flavour and mine dripped in grease.Just before we got up to leave we smelt a strange odor and discovered it was the rabbit they were grilling at the bbq area.It was disgusting so we never went back to eat there.The snack bar by the pool was good.They had tasty burgers etc.The beach and pool were beautiful and always found lots of shade for myself.The bars were ok, drinks were nothing special. I tryed quite a few drinks and only a couple were good.They do not give you very much ice in your drinks so always ask for lots of ice when ordering.This resort is in the middle of no where so if you like to stroll in a town or do some shopping forget it. The closest town is about sixty four klm. away and they charge $80 to go there. A bit expensive, so we decided not to.There is a market not too far but they don't have much,things are little expesive and it takes about fifteen minutes to see it all. Overall I may go back to Cuba some day but I would pick a different area to go to. If you just want to stay at the resort and not do anything else then it would be a good pick. If you like to check out the area, shop etc. then I wouldn't recommend this area.Personally I would rather spend my vacation money in Mexico or Dominican.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the lagoon view room. It had a large balcony and was very roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nanci J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Customer,
We are glad to read that your first vacation in Cuba has been a pleasant surprise.
I am happy to know that in spite of the issues you mentioned you enjoyed your stay.
We are also happy to know you were pleased with the services my team provides.
Have also noted your comment on the restaurants and bars, also the observations you have made on mattresses, and will revise the matter accordingly, thank you very much for commenting on this.
Although most of our visitors leave lots of compliments; we are certain that there is lot of room for improvement and we are truly focused on filling those gaps which still require our action.
We hope to see you again in the future so please, email us your preferences for us to look after your next time in Meliá Cayo Coco with pleasure.

With warmest regards,
Santiago Innerarity
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We totally enjoyed our stay at Melia Cayo Coco. The property was a lovely design in beautifully kept gardens, with a lovely beach and lagoon. The food was of good quality very varied nicely cooked and presented. The room was a good size and kept very clean throughout our two week stay. The towel and flower displays were a lovely touch from the housemaid. The public areas were constantly cleaned and again the flowers around these areas were lovely, even in the toilets.
We had a lot of rain the second week but it was always warm. The staff were all hard working, charming and helpful. Thank you to everyone who made our first trip to Cuba a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: We were in Standard room which was a very good size
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Customer,
I am so happy to read your holidays with us were wonderful and relaxing and that we have exceeded your expectation on your first trip to Cuba!
Thank you very much for your compliments on the beach, lagoon, gardens and specially on the staff. We know they make the difference with their outstanding service.
We will be delighted in providing you with another wonderful holiday experience, so please, choose us once again and do contact us to look after your requests to make your next stay in Meliá Cayo Coco another one to remember.
With warmest regards,

Santiago Innerarity
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

One of the best holidays we have had. You could not fault the hotel, it's spotless. The staff were very friendly. The animation group were fantastic, the nightly shows were the best we have ever seen. A great variety of food every night, nothing was too much trouble. Great music nightly in the lobby bar where the staff would get you up dancing, great fun.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lagoon rooms, the best. Very peaceful, comfortable and clean. When we go back we wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCay0C0c0, Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Customer,
Just by reading the title of your review we get a perfect portrait of your very much enjoyable holiday experience and what Meliá Cayo Coco means for you.
Thank you so much for reviewing your experience, especially for your compliments about our staff, entertaiment, food and superior rooms.
Please, choose us again, and send us your requests; we will be more than happy in looking after them.

With warmest regards,
Santiago Innerarity
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

After lengthy delays at Manchester airport we finally arrived at the melia, it was well worth the wait,the hotel and grounds are spotless, the gardeners do a fine job, and make a very good sun hat,!!!, we ate mainly in the self service restaurant food and staff fabulous no complaints, the beach and pool are spotless, prefer the beach myself which was to die for,and plenty of beds, the staff are really polite and helpfu land always with a smile, to many to name but aylec wasvely don't know where she gets the energy always on the go.this was our first visit but not our last , never go back to the same place twice but are making an exception for the melia see you next year. I would also recommend havana had 3 nights there not to be missed, so a very big thankyou to all the management and staff see you in 2015. Maggie young

Room Tip: there all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mags9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Maggie Young,
Thank you very much for your fantastic review.
Your comments make us feel like we are moving on the right direction to make our hotel even better for your future enjoyment.
Thank you for taking the time to mention those who served you best. We will make sure to pass your nice words especially onto them but also to the rest of the staff.
Great to read that you have encountered our hotel to be a wonderful place for your vacation, and special thanks for recommending us!
Please, as soon as you make your booking, as you have already announced, email us your details for us to look after another excellent holiday in Meliá Cayo Coco.

With warmest regards,
Santiago Innerarity
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cayo Coco hotels
6.6 mi away
Memories Caribe Beach Resort
6.9 mi away
Hotel Playa Coco
Hotel Playa Coco
#10 of 12 in Cayo Coco
2,089 reviews
0.0 mi away
Melia Jardines del Rey
Melia Jardines del Rey
#9 of 12 in Cayo Coco
3,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Sol Cayo Coco
Sol Cayo Coco
#3 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4,196 reviews
1.3 mi away
TRYP Cayo Coco
TRYP Cayo Coco
#7 of 12 in Cayo Coco
5,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Cayo Coco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Cayo Coco

Property: Melia Cayo Coco
Address: Jardines del Rey | Ciego de Ávila, 69400, Cuba
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Coco
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Coco
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Cayo Coco 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront in Cayo Coco, habitat of a large colony of pink flamingos. Five-Star All Inclusive Resort with 250 rooms. Conceived only for adults aged 18 years or more. Its superior suites and rooms are built on stilts over a natural seawater lagoon. Recommended for couples, weddings, and honeymoons. 250 Guest rooms: 168 Standard, 62 Standard Superior Lagoon, 6 Junior Suite, 2 Junior Suite Deluxe Lagoon, 12 Suite Deluxe Lagoon, 4 Dining Restaurants (A la Carta, Buffet, Barbeque), 5 Bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Booking.com, Priceline, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melia Cayo Coco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Cayo Coco Hotel Cayo Coco
Cayo Coco Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing