We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect holiday destination”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Melia Cayo Coco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Melia Cayo Coco
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Cayo Coco
Certificate of Excellence
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday destination”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I can recommend this resort to anyone looking for a great place to relax in Cuba. We stayed in the room at the lake, very comfortabel/quiet and close to the beach and restaurants. The employees are very friendly and helpfull. The beach and swimmingpool area are great. Lots of free beds, no people putting towels at 6 in the morning. The resort is clean and the gardens are maintain very well!
Pay attention, reserve the a la carte restaurants as soon as you arrive.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JW-RDAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear JW-RDAM,
We are so glad to read your review! Thank you for all your remarks and compliments on our facilities and services. We look forward to seeing you again so please, choose us next time you are willing to have a perfect holiday; for we will be able to provide.
With warmest regards,
Santiago Innerarity
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,865 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,006
    1,328
    347
    110
    74
See reviews for
516
4,033
102
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,433)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Left this beautiful piece of paradise yesterday, from the moment we arrived we we're treated like family. Jorge our thomas cook rep is amazing very friendly and helpful.
The food is out of this world something for everyone and tastes delicious. Cocktails are yummy - melia cayo coco was my favourite and the piña coladas are so tasty.
Activities are so much fun and I won at archery!!!
The staff are incredible I've made friends for life, I was lucky enough to get engaged whilst I was there. Big big massive thank you to ismary, mavi, Jorge Leon, angel, Alexander, Mandy, lisandra and arley every single person made out holiday so much fun, all very friendly and up for a laugh, karaoke in the music bar is a must!!!
I'm going back next year to get married and the staff have given me there emails to keep in touch and I definately will you are all amazing.
Mavi my nails are still intact lol!
Made very good friends with Becci and Craig who we are meeting up with all the time from now on and also Sophie and Jean from Montreal, I love you all.
I could go on and on you have to experience it to do it justice, no faults with this hotel everything absolutely perfect
See you next year :D

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Kelz_1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Kelz_1987,
A little piece of Paradise is very generous compliment and the best hotel in the world is too much of a praise! Thank you very much for your amazing review! It is so great to know you have encountered with us everything for a perfect vacation! We will make sure to provide you with another awesome experience next year so please, get in touch with us to provide details on your booking and make requests. We would be just too happy to look after them.
With warmest regards,
Santiago Innerarity
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoney Creek, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at the MCC from July 9-23/14. This was our 8th trip to Cuba, and our 3rd visit to the Cayos. We stayed at the Tryp, The Melia in Cayo Guillermo, and the Iberostar Daiquiri. We also stayed at resorts in Holguin/Guardalavaca, Santa Clara, Santa Maria, &Santa Lucia. We have tried different resorts and keep returning to Cuba because we love the beaches and the Cuban people. One thing that we are sure about after having stayed at the MCC is that we definitely want to return to this resort. We already told our family and friends about our wonderful experience. To begin, it only took our bus l5 min. to get here from the airport. Upon arrival, reception told us that our room wasn't going to be ready for 1/2 hr., this was not a problem with us because they mentioned that they had received our E-Mail asking for a non-smoking, 2nd floor room and that was exactly what we were given. Our room was in the 600 block at the end of the resort near the lagoons The room smelled fresh and clean and was cleaned beautifully by our maid for 2 weeks. During our stay, we had a problem with our air conditioner but we were very impressed with the service @ reception because as soon as they were made aware of the problem, they had it repaired right away. The mini-bar was replenished daily with water, 2 beers, and 2 soft drinks. We enjoyed giving the beer and soft drinks to the gardeners, they work very hard in the heat, and they always greeted us with friendly, warm hellos every time we walked by them. The resort is beautiful with gorgeous plants that the gardeners maintain daily. All areas are well maintained and everything is kept clean. The maids, chefs, servers, entertainment staff, bartenders, everyone is friendly. The food was excellent. We only ate at the buffet restaurant and the beach grill. We did not try the A La Carte restaurants because the men are required to wear long pants to these restaurants. This is something that we noticed at all the resorts. This is a tropical Island and the evenings are pretty warm to be wearing long pants! We think that dress shorts, not beach wear should be acceptable. Maybe management can make some changes regarding this issue. We enjoyed the beautiful beach, and loved feeding the fish everyday. We would like to say thanks to everyone who looked after us during our stay at the MCC. Special thanks to Vivian & Laimy (breakfast), Leandro, Geidy (Beach grill), Arley, Aneil, Carlos on the beach, Yanese, Aylcia, etc., there are many wonderful people who work hard every day. We are looking forward to returning next summer. HOLA for now MCC!

P. S. We would like to say hello to our friends Eugenio and Assunta from Montreal who we met on the resort. Please E-Mail us . We tried to E-Mail you with the address you gave us but it did not go through. Hope all is well. Take care.

Nick and Lucy.

Room Tip: The rooms on this resort are close to everything since the resort is smaller than any of the others...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Lucy S,
We are so proud to read the comments from such an experienced traveler. We are very glad to know we have been up to your expectations: having stayed in Cuba so many times before you know what to expect and what can be offered. It is amazing to read that you have encountered our hotel to be a great place in Cuba to stayed in and recommend us to your family and friends. Will certainly pass your compliments to my team, especially to the ones you mention by their names. Thank you very much! Just let us know what your preferences are for next time and we will be just too glad to assist with them.
With warmest regards,
Santiago Innerarity
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the melia from the 2nd July to the 16th and it was absolutely brilliant.We went with 20 other close friends and family and was definitely a very special holiday.
The staff are all brilliant,so friendly and always ready to help.A special mention to Jozeph,Andres,Joel and Arley who are just so attentive and you never see them without a welcoming smile on their faces.Not forgetting Alexander the Great who is part of animation team,top guy and never failed to make us smile or get roped into sport activities,he even sneaked in on our wedding photos by the beach.
We had an amazing wedding day which was perfect and so relaxed in the Cuban surroundings.Thank you to Eidel for all of your assistance on our special day. The weekly beach party fell on the day of our wedding which just added to the amazing day and made it so unique, totally not a typical english wedding.
We were upgraded to a lagoon suite on arrival which was just stunning and a real treat on a very special holiday!
The hotel is beautifully maintained by the friendly gardeners who work so hard in the very warm weather.I am not surprised the Melia is number one of the hotels in Cayo Coco.Thank you Melia,we miss you so much and wish we were still there!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colly1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Colly1984,
We are so glad to know you have encountered everything so perfect while staying with us! It has been our pleasure providing you with a fantastic wedding and so it would be serving you in the future. Have shared all your comments with my team and have already congratulated them for their rightdoing. Thank you for all your praises! Please, let us know what your booking details and preferences are for next time, we will be just too happy to look after them.
With warmest regards,
Santiago Innerarity
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My wife and I sampled this all inclusive a couple of years ago and found it highly recommendable. We upgraded to the lagoon villas, all built on stilts, this also upgraded the food and beverage package, well worth the extra dollars. The beach was easily accessible from all areas, an example of the wild life were diving pelicans and small rays swimming in the shallows.
Trips out to the Cuban mainland are made via a 20 kilometre causeway, it was an eye opening experience to see the relative poverty the locals lived in, we took in a tobacco farm, cigar factory and had an obligatory rum tasting session which everyone enjoyed.
Top tip, pack an insulating mug to keep your all inclusive beer cold!! And a few days in Havana is certainly well worth the money.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geoffrey h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear geoffrey h,
We are so glad to read that your second time with us has also been an enjoyable experience. Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review, and all your compliments on our facilities and services.We are glad to know you had the chance of combining your stay with a scape to Havana, that is a great choice! We do look forward in the hope of seeing you again in the future so please, let us know what your requests are for us to look after them without hesitation.
With warmest regards,
Santiago Innerarity
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed at the Melia from July 18th-July 25, 2014. We stayed in the lagoon rooms and they were very spacious and very clean. The food was excellent!!! Myself and one of the other people in our group both have Celiac Diesease and we ate all our meals in the buffet. There were so many choices and we never had any problems finding something to eat. A couple of the nights I was able to look at the packages of food to read the ingredients. I was very impressed with how accommodating everyone was. The resort itself is beautiful! The grounds keepers are always busy cleaning and gardening. The beach is spectacular. It was clean and raked every night. There were plenty of chairs and lots of areas for shade. We spent a lot of time with the staff at the Blue Dive shop located at the resort. My husband and his friend dove 9 times and my friend and I dove twice. The staff at the dive shop, especially Niño and Jose were amazing and we will definetly go
back to the Melia for that reason. The staff at the resort were terrific. Jordan and Joel at the snack bar, Jamil at the beach bar, Livan at the lobby bar and Mavi and Alex from the entertainment staff. They all made our holiday so much fun. We will be back next July and we have told so many people about this amazing resort. Thank you for such a great holiday!

Room Tip: The Lagoon rooms are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Tracy C,
We are so glad to know you have been so pleased with our services. Yes, the diving team is outstanding, and we have already passed your remarks to them. Thank you for commenting on the service all my team provides, we are proud of them all and truly appreciate the way they perform for all our customers. Special appreciation for recommending us and announcing your return, we would be striving in providing you and every future customer with the holiday experience you all deserve.
With warmest regards,
Santiago Innerarity
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My wife and I stayed from July 26-Aug.2/14, we had a wonderful vacation at the Melia Cayo Coco.
Our room was very clean and tidy, thank-you Yenis.
The gardeners work hard to make the grounds beautiful, thank you Celido.
Most mornings we had breakfast at the International Restaurant which was part of our package, the breakfast is al a cart, plus a small buffet with a nice variety.
Amilkar is a wonderful waiter quick to refill our juice and water, remembering our orders for breakfast and lunch, at the Lunch BBQ, where we usually ate in the afternoon.
We did eat breakfast one morning at the buffet restaurant and three times for dinner, we always found a wide variety of foods to choose from meat and fish cooked to order.
Other wait staff that helped to make our stay memorable Yelenni at the Italian and Cuban restaurant, Arley in the lobby bar and "You-smell-kiss" at the International and Lunch BBQ.
We spent most of our days reading on the lovely beach where there is usually a breeze to help cool you off.
We did spend one day around the pool which is very nice and the activity (animation) team work hard to give the vacationers a memorable stay, thank-you Mavi.
We never left the resort but never felt the need to, everything we needed was at the Melia.
True you won't see the true Cuba, but you will feel the true warmth of the Cuban people.
One waiter told us that they like to give you good service not for the tips but so we will tell people what good service that they gave us!
Yes, I did tip and yes it is all inclusive but I like to tip for good service.
The resort is just a short trip from the airport about ten minutes.
There are many packages to this resort we went with WestJet we left Toronto about 10:30am arrived in Cayo Coco around 2:30 and were on the beach by 4pm!
Checkout was 12pm we left for the airport shortly afterwards.
Our flight scheduled for 2:30pm was delayed until 3pm we landed in Toronto shortly after 6pm.(we caught a tail wind!)
Go with a package that allows you the most time at your destination
Gracias, Melia Cayo Coco

Room Tip: We had room 3422 which faced east, we had shade on our balcony in the afternoon overlooking the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BriDuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Pa-Oopah,
It is so encouraging reading your wonderful comments on our facilities and the service my team provides. Thank you so much for sharing them, thank you for taking the time to mention so many names of those who served you best making the difference to your holidays. WOW, that is a very wise way of spelling "You-smell-kiss"!!! Please, keep us posted on your booking for your next time with us, we would be very glad to look after another positive experience in Meliá Cayo Coco.
With warmest regards,
Santiago Innerarity
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Coco
6.9 mi away
Hotel Playa Coco
Hotel Playa Coco
#10 of 12 in Cayo Coco
2,058 reviews
6.6 mi away
Memories Caribe Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Sol Cayo Coco
Sol Cayo Coco
#3 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Melia Jardines del Rey
Melia Jardines del Rey
#9 of 12 in Cayo Coco
2,797 reviews
19.3 mi away
Melia Cayo Guillermo
Melia Cayo Guillermo
#3 of 6 in Cayo Guillermo
4,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Cayo Coco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Cayo Coco

Property: Melia Cayo Coco
Address: Jardines del Rey | Ciego de Ávila, 69400, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Coco
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Coco
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Cayo Coco 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront in Cayo Coco, habitat of a large colony of pink flamingos. Five-Star All Inclusive Resort with 250 rooms. Conceived only for adults aged 18 years or more. Its superior suites and rooms are built on stilts over a natural seawater lagoon. Recommended for couples, weddings, and honeymoons. 250 Guest rooms: 168 Standard, 62 Standard Superior Lagoon, 6 Junior Suite, 2 Junior Suite Deluxe Lagoon, 12 Suite Deluxe Lagoon, 4 Dining Restaurants (A la Carta, Buffet, Barbeque), 5 Bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melia Cayo Coco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Cayo Coco Hotel Cayo Coco
Cayo Coco Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing