We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't want to leave”
Review of Melia Cayo Coco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Melia Cayo Coco
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Cayo Coco
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Didn't want to leave”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

This place is amazing what can say but a big thank you to all there staff.we stayed here after a seven day tour for one week .The room was spotless and the beds were big enough to fit at least 8 adults in.There was a tele, iron,fridge,coffee machine bath shower in the rooms .Three al a carte restaurants the Italian and international we're amazing.In the international you ate your dinner whilst violinists play so romantic.The buffet restaurant was full of choice.The pool and snack bar and the beach bar and restaurant just so much to choose from and there cocktails were amazing.The pool was absolutely the best didn't have to fight for a sun bed either.The entertainment was just as amazing Alexander a member of staff done sport activites in the day and became an entertainer at night just so full of energy and fun.The beach was glorious and you could snorkel, scuba dive,sailing,go out on a pedalo,glass bottom boat the list goes on
For 2 cucs return a noddy train takes you to the market or there are several stores in the hotel were you can get everything.A bus you can use to visit other resorts all inclusive 9 til 5 for 5 cucs return.In house doctor and nurse which was not expensive.Sports bar with pool tables etc,music bar for karaoke,archery is available,giant chess,giant connect four the list is endless.
They also exchange money at the desk.the wifi is 4.50 cucs per hour.
Watch out for crabs! They roam free but harmless just a bit of a shock when in toilet you look down and one is staring at you!We did have some issues with the electrical equipment provided but all was very quickly rectified and this would not put us off going again.Dont think we will forget this holiday for a while just so amazing!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Julie N,
We are so glad to thank you for such wonderful remarks! We will certainly share all your compliements with the members of my team who served you so magnificently, for we appreciate the way they "transform" your holiday experience. Exceeding our customers' expectations is what we are all about and what make us feel prouder each passing day. Do email us your preferences when you are ready to come back to your home in the Cayos, your friends at Meliá Cayo Coco will be just too happy to provide.
With warmest regards,
Santiago Innerarity
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,045 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,129
    1,371
    357
    113
    75
See reviews for
533
4,163
105
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,472)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I defenetly return to this hotel and will give advise my friends to visit Melia Caya Coco! Oooooohhhhhhhh it was perfeeeeeect
OMG I wanted to stay there )))))))))
So cool! Everything was perfect: beach, ocean, white sand, habitat & animals, hotel was so amazing and serves level was high!!! Really good))) and quality of entertainment every evening surprised me)))) so good)))))))

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valeria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Valeria C,
WOW! Wonderful comments! Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a full of praise awesome review on our facilities and services. We all do our very best to provide all our customers with memorable holiday experiences, our committment increases when reading comments like yours. Thank you and we do hope to see you again. Please, let us know what your preferences are for your next time as we will be very glad to look after them.
With warmest regards,
Santiago Innerarity
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I can recommend this resort to anyone looking for a great place to relax in Cuba. We stayed in the room at the lake, very comfortabel/quiet and close to the beach and restaurants. The employees are very friendly and helpfull. The beach and swimmingpool area are great. Lots of free beds, no people putting towels at 6 in the morning. The resort is clean and the gardens are maintain very well!
Pay attention, reserve the a la carte restaurants as soon as you arrive.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JW-RDAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear JW-RDAM,
We are so glad to read your review! Thank you for all your remarks and compliments on our facilities and services. We look forward to seeing you again so please, choose us next time you are willing to have a perfect holiday; for we will be able to provide.
With warmest regards,
Santiago Innerarity
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Left this beautiful piece of paradise yesterday, from the moment we arrived we we're treated like family. Jorge our thomas cook rep is amazing very friendly and helpful.
The food is out of this world something for everyone and tastes delicious. Cocktails are yummy - melia cayo coco was my favourite and the piña coladas are so tasty.
Activities are so much fun and I won at archery!!!
The staff are incredible I've made friends for life, I was lucky enough to get engaged whilst I was there. Big big massive thank you to ismary, mavi, Jorge Leon, angel, Alexander, Mandy, lisandra and arley every single person made out holiday so much fun, all very friendly and up for a laugh, karaoke in the music bar is a must!!!
I'm going back next year to get married and the staff have given me there emails to keep in touch and I definately will you are all amazing.
Mavi my nails are still intact lol!
Made very good friends with Becci and Craig who we are meeting up with all the time from now on and also Sophie and Jean from Montreal, I love you all.
I could go on and on you have to experience it to do it justice, no faults with this hotel everything absolutely perfect
See you next year :D

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Kelz_1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Kelz_1987,
A little piece of Paradise is very generous compliment and the best hotel in the world is too much of a praise! Thank you very much for your amazing review! It is so great to know you have encountered with us everything for a perfect vacation! We will make sure to provide you with another awesome experience next year so please, get in touch with us to provide details on your booking and make requests. We would be just too happy to look after them.
With warmest regards,
Santiago Innerarity
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoney Creek, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at the MCC from July 9-23/14. This was our 8th trip to Cuba, and our 3rd visit to the Cayos. We stayed at the Tryp, The Melia in Cayo Guillermo, and the Iberostar Daiquiri. We also stayed at resorts in Holguin/Guardalavaca, Santa Clara, Santa Maria, &Santa Lucia. We have tried different resorts and keep returning to Cuba because we love the beaches and the Cuban people. One thing that we are sure about after having stayed at the MCC is that we definitely want to return to this resort. We already told our family and friends about our wonderful experience. To begin, it only took our bus l5 min. to get here from the airport. Upon arrival, reception told us that our room wasn't going to be ready for 1/2 hr., this was not a problem with us because they mentioned that they had received our E-Mail asking for a non-smoking, 2nd floor room and that was exactly what we were given. Our room was in the 600 block at the end of the resort near the lagoons The room smelled fresh and clean and was cleaned beautifully by our maid for 2 weeks. During our stay, we had a problem with our air conditioner but we were very impressed with the service @ reception because as soon as they were made aware of the problem, they had it repaired right away. The mini-bar was replenished daily with water, 2 beers, and 2 soft drinks. We enjoyed giving the beer and soft drinks to the gardeners, they work very hard in the heat, and they always greeted us with friendly, warm hellos every time we walked by them. The resort is beautiful with gorgeous plants that the gardeners maintain daily. All areas are well maintained and everything is kept clean. The maids, chefs, servers, entertainment staff, bartenders, everyone is friendly. The food was excellent. We only ate at the buffet restaurant and the beach grill. We did not try the A La Carte restaurants because the men are required to wear long pants to these restaurants. This is something that we noticed at all the resorts. This is a tropical Island and the evenings are pretty warm to be wearing long pants! We think that dress shorts, not beach wear should be acceptable. Maybe management can make some changes regarding this issue. We enjoyed the beautiful beach, and loved feeding the fish everyday. We would like to say thanks to everyone who looked after us during our stay at the MCC. Special thanks to Vivian & Laimy (breakfast), Leandro, Geidy (Beach grill), Arley, Aneil, Carlos on the beach, Yanese, Aylcia, etc., there are many wonderful people who work hard every day. We are looking forward to returning next summer. HOLA for now MCC!

P. S. We would like to say hello to our friends Eugenio and Assunta from Montreal who we met on the resort. Please E-Mail us . We tried to E-Mail you with the address you gave us but it did not go through. Hope all is well. Take care.

Nick and Lucy.

Room Tip: The rooms on this resort are close to everything since the resort is smaller than any of the others...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Lucy S,
We are so proud to read the comments from such an experienced traveler. We are very glad to know we have been up to your expectations: having stayed in Cuba so many times before you know what to expect and what can be offered. It is amazing to read that you have encountered our hotel to be a great place in Cuba to stayed in and recommend us to your family and friends. Will certainly pass your compliments to my team, especially to the ones you mention by their names. Thank you very much! Just let us know what your preferences are for next time and we will be just too glad to assist with them.
With warmest regards,
Santiago Innerarity
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the melia from the 2nd July to the 16th and it was absolutely brilliant.We went with 20 other close friends and family and was definitely a very special holiday.
The staff are all brilliant,so friendly and always ready to help.A special mention to Jozeph,Andres,Joel and Arley who are just so attentive and you never see them without a welcoming smile on their faces.Not forgetting Alexander the Great who is part of animation team,top guy and never failed to make us smile or get roped into sport activities,he even sneaked in on our wedding photos by the beach.
We had an amazing wedding day which was perfect and so relaxed in the Cuban surroundings.Thank you to Eidel for all of your assistance on our special day. The weekly beach party fell on the day of our wedding which just added to the amazing day and made it so unique, totally not a typical english wedding.
We were upgraded to a lagoon suite on arrival which was just stunning and a real treat on a very special holiday!
The hotel is beautifully maintained by the friendly gardeners who work so hard in the very warm weather.I am not surprised the Melia is number one of the hotels in Cayo Coco.Thank you Melia,we miss you so much and wish we were still there!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colly1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Colly1984,
We are so glad to know you have encountered everything so perfect while staying with us! It has been our pleasure providing you with a fantastic wedding and so it would be serving you in the future. Have shared all your comments with my team and have already congratulated them for their rightdoing. Thank you for all your praises! Please, let us know what your booking details and preferences are for next time, we will be just too happy to look after them.
With warmest regards,
Santiago Innerarity
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My wife and I sampled this all inclusive a couple of years ago and found it highly recommendable. We upgraded to the lagoon villas, all built on stilts, this also upgraded the food and beverage package, well worth the extra dollars. The beach was easily accessible from all areas, an example of the wild life were diving pelicans and small rays swimming in the shallows.
Trips out to the Cuban mainland are made via a 20 kilometre causeway, it was an eye opening experience to see the relative poverty the locals lived in, we took in a tobacco farm, cigar factory and had an obligatory rum tasting session which everyone enjoyed.
Top tip, pack an insulating mug to keep your all inclusive beer cold!! And a few days in Havana is certainly well worth the money.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geoffrey h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear geoffrey h,
We are so glad to read that your second time with us has also been an enjoyable experience. Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review, and all your compliments on our facilities and services.We are glad to know you had the chance of combining your stay with a scape to Havana, that is a great choice! We do look forward in the hope of seeing you again in the future so please, let us know what your requests are for us to look after them without hesitation.
With warmest regards,
Santiago Innerarity
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cayo Coco hotels
6.6 mi away
Memories Caribe Beach Resort
6.9 mi away
Hotel Playa Coco
Hotel Playa Coco
#10 of 12 in Cayo Coco
2,090 reviews
0.0 mi away
Melia Jardines del Rey
Melia Jardines del Rey
#9 of 12 in Cayo Coco
3,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Sol Cayo Coco
Sol Cayo Coco
#3 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4,201 reviews
1.3 mi away
TRYP Cayo Coco
TRYP Cayo Coco
#7 of 12 in Cayo Coco
5,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Cayo Coco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Cayo Coco

Property: Melia Cayo Coco
Address: Jardines del Rey | Ciego de Ávila, 69400, Cuba
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Coco
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Coco
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Cayo Coco 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront in Cayo Coco, habitat of a large colony of pink flamingos. Five-Star All Inclusive Resort with 250 rooms. Conceived only for adults aged 18 years or more. Its superior suites and rooms are built on stilts over a natural seawater lagoon. Recommended for couples, weddings, and honeymoons. 250 Guest rooms: 168 Standard, 62 Standard Superior Lagoon, 6 Junior Suite, 2 Junior Suite Deluxe Lagoon, 12 Suite Deluxe Lagoon, 4 Dining Restaurants (A la Carta, Buffet, Barbeque), 5 Bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Priceline, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Travelbag and TravelUp so you can book your Melia Cayo Coco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Cayo Coco Hotel Cayo Coco
Cayo Coco Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing