We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressed”
Review of TRYP Cayo Coco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
TRYP Cayo Coco
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Cayo Coco
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Well I am by far not a oicky person but since I was going to Cuba I decided that I wqs not going expect Taj ma Hall (sorry about spelling) conditions. I was quite impressed with thehotel and it's staff they were all friendly and could not do enough to help make your vacation an enjoyable one from teh servers in the restaurants to the bar tenders right down to the person who makes up your room, I do not remember everyones name but Richardo in the Guest Servies area went above an beyond what I was expecting. The food was better than what I was expecting in the buffet and as well as the A La carte restaurants. I will return one day to the Tryp Resort without hesitation. The short bus ride from the airport was also nice about 15 minutes max door to door

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EileenSimard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at TRYP Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear EileenSimard,

We are happy to know that you liked your stay in our Hotel and that you will return without hesitation. Thank you for your comments in this site.

Best regards,

General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,962)
There are newer reviews for TRYP Cayo Coco
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,817 - 1,823 of 5,962 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

Spend the week of nov 23-30 at tryp with 6 sisters . Unfortunately weather didn't Work with us but we all had an amazing time .
The week started off with probably the quickest check in I have ever had and I travel every year at least twice . Room in building 4 very clean and we requested the four rooms all be in same building and it was done prior. Changed and headed straight to the pool . Went to varedaro year before and had so many complaints .
I honestly did not have any complaints about the service !!! Incredible pleasant workers . Everyday had an amazing hola smile for you . No matter who it was they always tried to help you in anyway possible . The amount of workers that spoke incredible English was truly amazing . Clean beach towels always available . Chairs at either pool and beach available . The hola sun rep was pleasant and helpful . The good food was very much appreciated and the fresh pasta and stir fry was awesome daily . We enjoyed the Italian Japanese and international dinners. They always were more than happy to accommodate the 7 of us . Every buffet meal we had two amazing ladies saving a table for us Margaret and her best buddy (sorry her name I can't remember ) made us all feel incredibly important and wanted!! Thanks so much for all the extra touches ladies . Steve the entertainment staff was such a great guy and keep us happy during the rainy times .
Some of us went to beach party and we had a great time despite the rain again . Again some of us went on the jeep safari on the second last day and we had an amazing experience with lore our guide . The only complaint on this was that our rep never told us we needed to drive standard and none of the four of could but lore jumped on and drove us . Entertainment nightly was alittle too boring for us same old stuff . Same dancers just different routines but still good .
The most disturbing thing was from our fellow Canadians from Quebec . Every time the host nightly would ask where everyone was from they would not say they were from Canada instead wanted to be known separately from Quebec , this type of behavior was embarrassing , we had people from other places around the world say to us ' don't quebecers know they are from Canada ??
Come on fellow Canadians stop the rudeness and be proud your Canadian eh!!!!!
Anyways suggestions on things to pack . Bug spray for night time , any type of waterproof change container to hold their one peso in yo use as tips ( they always appreciated any amount of tip you left ) a plastic cup to put drinks in , theirs are small and to constantly have to refill is s pain lol
Stores in hotels were reasonably priced but we went to mainland morin and prices were a lot better . Last day check out was just as fast . We left gifts for our maid fault on our bed and left all our toiletries and clothes shoes etc .., to our guide lore . They do appreciated any thing you leave for them , so you can bring extra toothpaste shampoo etc.., they live and need this
Once again thanks so very much for making our annual sisters holiday memorable and enjoyable
I will be returning with my family in the very near future !!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at TRYP Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Adele C,

Thank you for your time to write your comments on this site. It has been very ncie to know that you enjoyed your stay here and that you will comeback with your family again.

Best regards,

General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed in the Tryp at the end of November (2 couples). First impressions were not good as the room I was allocated was in poor condition ie bathroom door missing, safe broken and not attached to the wall and holes in the woodwork. After complaining we were given a better room. However, the door would not lock and it took several attempts to resolve this. The hotel was built in 1996 and is in desperate need of refurbishment. To be fair this seems to be underway so if you do stay there, ask for a refurbished room if available.
Food in the buffet is pretty bad although breakfast is ok if you are prepared to queue at the egg station for omelette etc. The International and Asian al la carte restaurants were very good and the Italian and Sea Food was ok. There were 3 other restaurants but these were closed / mothballed when we were there.
Drinks were good but often served in plastic cups even at the main lobby bar. All of the bars ran out of particular drinks even rum! There did not seem to be anybody monitoring the supplies so it was a case of drinking what was available, or waiting for a delivery.
Entertainment is ok but not great (quiz / party games and the inevitable Michael Jackson tribute) The best we had was a guy singing to a karaoke machine and playing a bit of guitar. This had a few people dancing although several cubalibres helped the mood.
The beach is non existent at high tide but brilliant when the tide goes out. The sea is warm and safe to swim in. You can walk out for 50 metres and the water is still waist high.
All of our party were bitten by insects on the beach, by the pool and at night. My wife had well over 100 bites on her legs alone and eventually became ill for a couple of days. The number of insects was probably due to the amount of rain we had. Whilst we were there a tropical storm caused havoc and 2 people in Havana were killed. We got off lightly but still had 5 days of rain / sun.
There are 2 pools, the main pool which is very busy and noisy with games etc and the quiet pool which has a little bar and you can swim or relax in the jacuzzi
Most of the guests were Canadian and for them this is a cheap no frills package holiday. I was told that they were only paying around $500.00 each. However, if you are flying from the UK and expect a 4 star Caribbean hotel you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank c8omb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at TRYP Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear c8omb,

We sincerely regret have not been able to fulfill your expectations during your stay. We thank you for your time to write your comments in which you give us several opportunties for improvements. Thank you again and our apologies.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

After doing a lot of online research and talking with seasoned travellers, we decided on Tryp Cayo Coco as our first all-inclusive Caribbean getaway. If I had to sum up the Tryp in one sentence, it would be: A 4-star resort with 2-star rooms.

The resort itself we found fabulous. The grounds were nice and well maintained. The staff was exceptional and friendly. We found the food in the buffet suited our palates just fine - the sautéed chicken and paella really stood out. The a la carte restaurant Suzhou was just amazing. The entertainment staff were great.

Our room was just steps from the beach, which offered some pretty amazing snorkelling. We saw sea urchins, a multitude of colourful fish, and even some jellyfish less than 20 meters off the beach. The water was warm and clear.

The only part of our experience that took a little getting used too was our room. While nothing explicitly wrong, the room was a little dated and smelled musty. Don't get me wrong, the room was clean and properly maintained daily by the wonderful staff at Tryp. But given the 100% plus humidity every day, nothing in the room ever felt quite dry. The mattresses were on the thin side, and not on par with what one would expect while travelling in North America or Western Europe. This definitely took a day or two to get used to, but did not take away from our experience here.

Chances are good that we will return to Tryp Cayo Coco in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at TRYP Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Marc S,

It has been very nice to read your comments. Sorry for the inconviniences with the humidity in the room. Actually the humidity here, in the tropical area, is very hight. It is nice to know that you would like to come back and hope to meet you here very soon.

Best regards,

General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Spent 2 weeks here from Nov.6/13 -Nov.30/13. Had a fantastic time. Met people from Argentina, England, Spain and from all across Canada. I went on my own but after my 1st nite there was always someone around to hang with for meals, dancing or just having a drink and listening to the band or meeting new people. Everyone I talked to enjoyed the food (not bland at all). The resort is 20 years old and they have started to renovate the rooms . My room was an older one but it was clean, good water pressure and plenty of hot water. The beach could be small at times depending on the winds and tide but the water was warm, clear and soft sand. They have 2 pools, a quite pool and a party pool. You decide where you want to be and I never had a problem getting a chair at either pool. The games they played around the pool were amazing. They always had a minimum of 12 people (usually more) playing and lots more watching and enjoying the fun. Check in was fast and easy. All the staff were pleasant and would talk to you if you started a conversation with them. Sometimes you would have to wait for a drink but I was on holidays and not in a rush. I understand why a lot of people return to this resort. For the price I paid I thought it was a good deal and would come back again. It is a place that is easy to meet new people, enjoy yourself, and relax. Any and all staff I dealt with were great.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank squintyghost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at TRYP Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear squintyghost,

Thank you for your comments. It is nice to know that you enjoyed your stay and you made new friends. Hope that you will return very soon.

Best regards,

General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Spend the week of nov 23-30 at tryp with 6 sisters . Unfortunately weather didn't Work with us but we all had an amazing time .
The week started off with probably the quickest check in I have ever had and I travel every year at least twice . Room in building 4 very clean and we requested the four rooms all be in same building and it was done prior. Changed and headed straight to the pool . Went to varedaro year before and had so many complaints .
I honestly did not have any complaints about the service !!! Incredible pleasant workers . Everyday had an amazing hola smile for you . No matter who it was they always tried to help you in anyway possible . The amount of workers that spoke incredible English was truly amazing . Clean beach towels always available . Chairs at either pool and beach available . The hola sun rep was pleasant and helpful . The good food was very much appreciated and the fresh pasta and stir fry was awesome daily . We enjoyed the Italian Japanese and international dinners. They always were more than happy to accommodate the 7 of us . Every buffet meal we had two amazing ladies saving a table for us Margaret and her best buddy (sorry her name I can't remember ) made us all feel incredibly important and wanted!! Thanks so much for all the extra touches ladies . Steve the entertainment staff was such a great guy and keep us happy during the rainy times .
Some of us went to beach party and we had a great time despite the rain again . Again some of us went on the jeep safari on the second last day and we had an amazing experience with lore our guide . The only complaint on this was that our rep never told us we needed to drive standard and none of the four of could but lore jumped on and drove us . Entertainment nightly was alittle too boring for us same old stuff . Same dancers just different routines but still good .
The most disturbing thing was from our fellow Canadians from Quebec . Every time the host nightly would ask where everyone was from they would not say they were from Canada instead wanted to be known separately from Quebec , this type of behavior was embarrassing , we had people from other places around the world say to us ' don't quebecers know they are from Canada ??
Come on fellow Canadians stop the rudeness and be proud your Canadian eh!!!!!
Anyways suggestions on things to pack . Bug spray for night time , any type of waterproof change container to hold their one peso in yo use as tips ( they always appreciated any amount of tip you left ) a plastic cup to put drinks in , theirs are small and to constantly have to refill is s pain lol
Stores in hotels were reasonably priced but we went to mainland morin and prices were a lot better . Last day check out was just as fast . We left gifts for our maid fault on our bed and left all our toiletries and clothes shoes etc .., to our guide lore . They do appreciated any thing you leave for them , so you can bring extra toothpaste shampoo etc.., they live and need this
Once again thanks so very much for making our annual sisters holiday memorable and enjoyable
I will be returning with my family in the very near future !!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chaplainToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at TRYP Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear ChaplainToronto,

Your comments are very nice and it is nice to know that your trip was enjoyable for you and your sisters. Thank you for your time and hope to see you next time with your family.

General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

This was our second visit to the tryp and this holiday was just as good as our first visit, maybe even better.

The service was brilliant and a little tipping here and there goes a long way. Special mention to the lobby bar evening staff who were excellent during our visit. Also Jordi from the buffet restaurant was brilliant.

The one thing that wasn't as good during this visit was the beach which seems to have been washed away a bit especially when the tide was in. This may have been due to coming at a different time of year?

The english night was fun, a party was thrown in the nightclub for the british guests where we shared champagne and food with some of the hotel staff. The foam party and night pool party were also good fun.

The best part if this resort is the wild life on the doorstep. My favourite is the snorkling, within walking distance from the beach is all sorts of marine life underwater, sea urchins, anemones, hermit crabs and loads of different types of fish.

We are hoping to return again next year.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carntbebotherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at TRYP Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear carntbebo,

It is very nice to know that your second time here was nice also. Thank you for your comments and hope to see you again very soon.

Best regrads,

General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Coco
5.5 mi away
Memories Caribe Beach Resort
5.8 mi away
Hotel Playa Coco
Hotel Playa Coco
#10 of 12 in Cayo Coco
2,136 reviews
17.8 mi away
IBEROSTAR Daiquiri
IBEROSTAR Daiquiri
#2 of 7 in Cayo Guillermo
4,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Melia Jardines del Rey
Melia Jardines del Rey
#9 of 12 in Cayo Coco
3,257 reviews
1.2 mi away
Melia Cayo Coco
Melia Cayo Coco
#1 of 12 in Cayo Coco
6,246 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sol Cayo Coco
Sol Cayo Coco
#3 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP Cayo Coco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP Cayo Coco

Address: Ave. Los Hoteles, 1300, Cuba
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Coco
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Coco
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Coco
Price Range: £90 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — TRYP Cayo Coco 4*
Number of rooms: 508
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star All-Inclusive Tryp Cayo Coco hotel (508 rooms) offers select gastronomic service and an exciting day and night recreation program. The property is located in one of the pristine keys off the coast of the central region of Cuba.Built over a natural lagoon, facing and wide stretch of sugar-white beach. Ideal for families, diving lovers, fishing and nautical activities.Guest Rooms508 rooms: 343 Standard, 57 Standard Ocean View, 102 Standard Superior Ocean View, 6 SuiteDining9 Restaurants (A la Carta, Buffet, Barbeque, Gourmet), 3 Bars ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Melia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your TRYP Cayo Coco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel Cayo Coco
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel Ciego De Avila
Tryp Cayo Coco Cuba
Cayo Coco Tryp
Trip Cayo Coco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing