We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st Trip to Cuba”
Review of TRYP Cayo Coco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
TRYP Cayo Coco
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Cayo Coco
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Overall we had a great time in Cuba and Tryp Cayo Coco was a great place to spend our first trip there. We would definately go back. The staff overall were good, the only negative experience I had was with the staff at the front desk. I did not find that they were overly helpful. The staff in the buffet were exceptional and all other staff were friendly. The beach was fantastic and the grounds were kept immaculate. Food was not the greatest but really who goes to Cuba for the food? I am looking forward to visiting again next year.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor in building 1 and it was quiet and overall good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Debra O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at TRYP Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Debra O,

It has been very nice to read that overall you had a great time in Cuba and that our Hotel was a great place to spend your first trip in Cuba.
We sincerely regret the impression that you have gotten about the front desk staff and thank you for the opportunity of letting us know about this. Your comments give us chance to keep on working for improvements.and will take them into consideration for it.
It is also nice to know that you are considering to comeback next year. It will be a pleasure to meet you here again.
Thank you for your time once again.

Best regards,

Asier Baquero
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,969)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,442 - 1,448 of 5,969 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

The tryp is a fantastic place to holiday in the cayos.this was my third time there and going back in 4weeks.definitely would recommend it.staff were extremely nice helpful and friendly.entertainment was provided day and night. Stunning beach but the sand flies were a pain.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at TRYP Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Emma C,

Thank you for your time and loyalty. It is excellent to know about your preference for our Hotel as a fantastic place for your vacations and that you are coming back in 4 weeks. Thank you for recommending us. Our staff will be happy of meeting you again. Hope to meet you too.

My best regards,

Asier Baquero
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We had an excellent stay at the Tryp in early July. Three adults, two teens and a 10 year-old.

The site is wonderful (great wide shallow beach with fine white sand, nice wildlife, mature and varied vegetation, well groomed gardens, nice pools, etc.)

All the staff was really committed to making our stay enjoyable and memorable. Cleaning staff, gardeners, bartenders, waiters, front desk, entertainment staff, management and even maintenance staff were always smiling and willing to help. Special thanks to Sr William and Yudel at Customer Service and Ricardo at the Quiet Pool Bar and the cleaning ladies in block 10.

Entertainment staff works hard and keeps the main pool area lively during the day. Musicians and singers in the restaurants and lobby and quite talented. Evening dancing shows are good but a would suggest a little more live musicians to add variety - but we were lucky and had a really great show from Cuban star Haila one night.

Nice variety of restaurants. We tried all a-la-carte restaurants and found them all interesting with a slight preference for the International and Asian. Everyone found what they needed at the buffet. Pancake / french toast, Egg, Grill, Fried Rice, Pizza and Fresh Fruit stations are very good but a little more variety for the rest of the buffet would be welcome. Service was excellent and quick at all restaurants.

We were in Block 10, which in right by the quiet pool, Great spot away from the main action. Quite despite the fact that the resort was full and there was quite a bit of action on the site.

Our teens had a blast and made lots of new friends. The students who were on site were partying seriously but hotel and S-Trip staff were managing the situation well, ensuring the action was mainly at one end of the resort, away from the rest of guests. It was lively at times but generally well in control.

Compared to some other Cuban destinations where resorts are newer, you get the benefit of mature trees and beautiful mature gardens. The downside is that rooms need a little refreshing work and the hotel is currently working at renovations. However it is very clean. If something isn't right, let the staff know and they will fix it pretty quickly. Anyhow, you don't go to such a resort to stay inside.

I've read comments about a scent of humidity in some rooms. It was the case when we came into one of our three rooms. We opened the patio door for 20 minutes and it did the trick. No more scent for the whole week.

Having travelled to Cuba in the winter, we expected a lot of mosquitos this time and stocked up on repellent. Turned out not to be so bad. Main areas are fumigated and we frankly didn't have to use much of our stock. Mosquito-wise, Canadian forests are much worse than Cayo Coco this time of year.

One last thing; there are plenty of palapas and chairs at the beach and around pools so you don't have to reserve spots in the morning like in many other resorts. Nice.

Great stay, Great value. Perfect is you want a nice all-inclusive beach Holiday with the whole family without having to spend a fortune.

We will go back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Benoit T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at TRYP Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Benoit T from Repentigny,

Thank you for your lovely review, by the sound of it you had a great time!
We are happy to read that you enjoyed the resort and our service. We have passed your good comments to the Staff mentionned. It is always good hear this after working hard day by day.

We hope to see you back soon, here at Tryp Cayo Coco!

Kind regards,

Asier Baquero
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We got married at this resort in Oct 2010 and we fell in love we have been back 2 other times as well and will continue to go for many years. The staff are very kind and would do anything to make you happy and make your stay the best that it could be. The nightly and daily entertainment is awesome and a lot of fun.
We love this resort and would highly reccomend this to everyone.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thoburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at TRYP Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Thoburns,

Repeat guests like yourself are very important for us and in your case looks there is a very romantic link to the hotel.
Thank you very much for your fabulous feedback about your recent visit to Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel. We are very happy that we did succeed in exceeding your expectations in all respects.
All our Staff tries to ensure that our guests receive the best of service possible.
We really appreciate that you took the time to write about our services and facilities.

We hope we will be seeing you again soon.

Warm regards,

Asier Baquero
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The Tryp Cayo Coco is one of the oldest hotel in Cayo Coco, therefore yes the rooms are not the greatest, but who stay's in their room anyway. Most of the rooms will be updated by next year and they are very clean anyway, just outdated. For the good things, I find that this hotel has the greatest staff, from gardiners, room housekeepers, entertainment staff to the Manager. This is my 5th time going there and I will continue to go every year. The food at the TRYP is one of the best place in all of Cuba. The ocean is just beautiful, white sand beaches and water very shallow. The kids club is perfect. Don't pay attention to all the bad review, this is just fussy people. As for the student being there, don't worry, I was there in July when there was 600 students and they never bothered us. They have their own entertainment staff and are kept apart from the other hotel guest.

Thanks everyone at the TRYP for another great vacation. See you next year

Room Tip: Ask for room in block 6, 7, 8, they are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Line C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at TRYP Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Line C from Gatineau, Qc

Taking words from your comments, we have to say that we just love customers like yourself.

You like the product and point us at what you like. We are doing a big effort in mantain and improve the structure of the hotel on one side and mantain and improve the service on the other side.
Every day we have a morning brief and check every customer comment, we really try to deliver the best. It is great to read comments like yours.

We hope to see you back soon, here at your second home, Tryp Cayo Coco!

Kind regards,

Asier Baquero
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We had a last minute deal....was wonderful break. Beach and ocean were beautiful! We had a main level suite with access to the pool and bar. Nightly entertainment was good. Live bands playing in the lobby was an after dinner treat

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sherry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at TRYP Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Sherry L,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments about your stay in our hotel.
We are happy to read that you you enjoyed our service and hotel.
As you are saying, for sure you had a good deal for the hotel. We are not a luxury hotel but an All Inclusive resort and we focus on deliver all the basics well organized plus a very good service from our dedicated Staff.

We hope to see you back soon in the Tryp Hotel!

Best regards,

Asier Baquero
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This was our 7th visit to Tryp. The rooms are very simple but they are clean, the water is hot and the A/C works great.
The staff are great and make it feel like home. I have no need to look else because as soon as I step off the plane I am relaxed and in vacation. Can't wait to go back in January

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riverthepup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at TRYP Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Riverthepup from Toronto,

Repeat guests like yourself are extremly important for us. Seven times, thank you very much. Thank you for your lovely review, by the sound of it you had a very good time. We are happy to read that you enjoyed the resort and our service.

As you said the basics are covered: simple but clean rooms, hot water, A/C working. We are working on improvements too. Then Staff makes you feel like you are at home. That is great.

We hope to see you back soon, here at your second home, Tryp Cayo Coco!

Best regards,

Asier Baquero
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cayo Coco hotels
5.5 mi away
Memories Caribe Beach Resort
5.8 mi away
Hotel Playa Coco
Hotel Playa Coco
#10 of 12 in Cayo Coco
2,140 reviews
1.2 mi away
Melia Cayo Coco
Melia Cayo Coco
#1 of 12 in Cayo Coco
6,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sol Cayo Coco
Sol Cayo Coco
#3 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4,279 reviews
1.3 mi away
Melia Jardines del Rey
Melia Jardines del Rey
#9 of 12 in Cayo Coco
3,269 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pullman Cayo Coco
Pullman Cayo Coco
#2 of 12 in Cayo Coco
1,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP Cayo Coco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP Cayo Coco

Address: Ave. Los Hoteles, 1300, Cuba
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Coco
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Coco
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Coco
Price Range: £94 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — TRYP Cayo Coco 4*
Number of rooms: 508
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star All-Inclusive Tryp Cayo Coco hotel (508 rooms) offers select gastronomic service and an exciting day and night recreation program. The property is located in one of the pristine keys off the coast of the central region of Cuba.Built over a natural lagoon, facing and wide stretch of sugar-white beach. Ideal for families, diving lovers, fishing and nautical activities.Guest Rooms508 rooms: 343 Standard, 57 Standard Ocean View, 102 Standard Superior Ocean View, 6 SuiteDining9 Restaurants (A la Carta, Buffet, Barbeque, Gourmet), 3 Bars ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Melia, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Prestigia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your TRYP Cayo Coco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel Cayo Coco
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel Ciego De Avila
Tryp Cayo Coco Cuba
Cayo Coco Tryp
Trip Cayo Coco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing