We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tipping??”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Iberostar Cayo Coco
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Cayo Coco
Alliston, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Tipping??”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

The resort was great...the food was great because my family loves seafood it's worth standing in the line at the buffet. All and all a really great resort. the restaurants were really good too!
I would recommend any one to go.
BUT
The only reason I am writing this review is hopes to make the management aware of there staff. and tipping.
The night we arrived I felt invisible ( they only acknowledged the guests whom been there all week) and wished we had picked a different resort the first almost hour I stood in line for a drink. Guests who had been for the week there would walk right in front of me and the bartender would love them up and I just kept standing there in disbelieving, I was shocked by the bartender. ( the bar by the night;y stage)
Some staff hardly smiled. I love Cuba and have had many trips to cuba. I just found the staff here weren't happy or willing to serve me most of the time. My husband and I bring lots down with us to give as gifts and love to do it. as well as cash tips Once we had given a gift then they would be happy and smile next time. We only ever want to give to those who are happy who want to serve, and whom seem like good caring people.
Some staff were very open in asking for things and that was fine. Those people were the ones whom smiled at least! And I was happy to pass along anything I had to give.
We spent a bundle in cash and gifts to get service. We could have gone to Paridice ( the five star) with the extra money we spent tipping.

Hopefully my review will help any of you future people get service. . The resort is great.

p.s

Dear management.... Canadians love feeding and helping stray cats and dogs. It is a part of our culture. Please don't get mad at us for feeding them. Children also LOVE to do this. If it bothers you so much you could charge a dollar to feed what we took from the buffet. I would happily pay it.

p.s.s

The hairdresser lady made us feel like we were going to be removed from the resort and kicked out of cuba because we got the girls hair braided at the beach.

P.S.S

invest in more shade umbrellas at the beach.....guests are going to kill each other over the shade. your beach is beautiful and the water is incredible.

Room Tip: We had a room by the pool, close to buffet and ocean on the ground floor. We could leave our slidin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank Kathleen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director Genera... I, General Manager at Iberostar Cayo Coco, responded to this review, 10 March 2016
Dear Guest,
First of all, we would like to tell you that we really appreciate you have chosen our resort Iberostar Mojito to spend your well-deserved holidays.
We really appreciate you have taken the time to write a review about your stay with us.
Our staff is our best asset and you know they will always walk the extra mile to give the best service possible.
Once again we thank you for your comments which are of great importance to keep on improving our work.
Kind Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    25
    10
    7
    2
See reviews for
16
20
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This resort was run down. They beach was very nice, clean, not far from playa Pilar. Make a point to go, it's beautiful. Rooms were dates and not super clean. The workers are all very nice. Some will openly ask for your items. Also be prepared if you go into Moron for no toilet seats or paper. Very remote so I would stay at a nicer larger resort with more amenities. Tried to go horseback riding but the horses were so thin it didn't feel right. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ChloeMortimer86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director Genera... I, General Manager at Iberostar Cayo Coco, responded to this review, 10 March 2016
Dear Guest,
First of all, we would like to tell you that we really appreciate you have chosen our resort Iberostar Mojito to spend your well-deserved holidays.
We really appreciate you have taken the time to write a review about your stay with us.
Our staff is our best asset and you know they will always walk the extra mile to give the best service possible.
Once again we thank you for your comments which are of great importance to keep on improving our work.
Kind Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cayo Coco hotels

Ajax
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

My girlfriends and I traveled to Iberostar Cayo Coco, Cuba for 4 nights 5 days in mid April 2013 and had a wonderful time, this is a older hotel that was bought out by Iberostar and it’s really nice. The staff was friendly, the entertainment staff wasn’t overly pushing about joining in daily activities, and the food was surprising good (as you hear food in Cuba has little or no taste)

The weather was amazing – bugs were bad (I didn’t notice the bites until I returned home) – remember to wear lots and lots of sun block so many of us got burn.

My only complaint was they didn’t have enough shady areas to lounge near the pool or the beach. All of the huts were taken up every single day which led us to lay in the sun and burn.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Sarahjaynez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director Genera... I, General Manager at Iberostar Cayo Coco, responded to this review, 10 March 2016
Dear Guest,
First of all, we would like to tell you that we really appreciate you have chosen our resort Iberostar Mojito to spend your well-deserved holidays.
We really appreciate you have taken the time to write a review about your stay with us.
Our staff is our best asset and you know they will always walk the extra mile to give the best service possible.
Once again we thank you for your comments which are of great importance to keep on improving our work.
Kind Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Coco
7.4 mi away
Memories Caribe Beach Resort
7.5 mi away
Hotel Playa Coco
Hotel Playa Coco
#10 of 12 in Cayo Coco
2,119 reviews
20.1 mi away
IBEROSTAR Daiquiri
IBEROSTAR Daiquiri
#2 of 6 in Cayo Guillermo
3,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Iberostar Mojito
Iberostar Mojito
#8 of 12 in Cayo Coco
3,657 reviews
3.1 mi away
Melia Jardines del Rey
Melia Jardines del Rey
#9 of 12 in Cayo Coco
3,178 reviews
6.6 mi away
Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Cayo Coco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Cayo Coco

Property: Iberostar Cayo Coco
Address: Jardines del Rey, 65200, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Cayo Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Cayo Coco 4*
Number of rooms: 352
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Iberostar Cayo Coco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing