We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brand Spankin' New”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pestana Cayo Coco All Inclusive Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Cayo Coco
Bolton, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Brand Spankin' New”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed at the Pestana Cayo Coco Beach resort December 18 to December 25, 2013, via Sunwing vacations and itravel2000. It is a beautiful brand-new resort the just opened in August 2013. Buildings 8, 9 and 10 may still have been being competed internally.
Our room was on the third floor in building number 4and had a partial oceanview from our balcony. Everything in the room was new and in great condition, bathroom was nicely tiled and large sized. The showerhead was one of those handheld types at the end of a long metal hose and it was difficult to get it to stay up, but the water was always hot and there was always excellent water pressure. If you are an early riser you may have to run the hot water for several minutes before the hot water actually gets to your room but when it gets there it’s great. Beds were firm, TV was new flatscreen with a few English channels, lock on sliding door to balcony worked, etc. Pillows are a personal preference and we did not like the ones provided and they could put more than one choice of pillows in the room since an uncomfortable sleep can detract from somebody enjoying their vacation at an otherwise great resort.
Every single staff person that we dealt with at this hotel was friendly, outgoing and very good at their job. This goes from the maids who take care of your room to the bartenders all around the resort to the serving staff in the buffet and a la carte restaurants to the entertainers around the pool to the gardeners working the property. Sure, there are some who appeared less experienced and who spoke less english, but we were not in Canada were we??? Learn a little Spanish before you go. The front lobby reception people were excellent and assisted with everything from changing money to booking restaurant reservations.
We were pleasantly surprised with the quality of food at the à la carte restaurants and the buffet was also very good. There was good selection, the meals were tasty, and they were served hot and well-prepared. I even had spaghetti Bolognese at the Italian à la cart one evening after seeing the people in the next table eating it and it was very good – I would rarely order pasta when in Cuba because it usually is just not the same as at home. The spread they put out on christmas eve was massive and delicious - smoked salmon oy ve.
Met Alberto there who we remembered from when he worked at the Iberostar down the beach, so it is obvious they have hired some experienced staff from other hotels.
Whiners about the coral on the beach need to get off their lazy behind and walk 100 feet in either direction and you can find many completely sandy areas to walk in. The facilities at the beach bar could be improved.
The resort was getting pretty busy by our last night there on xmas eve....I think that was the fullest the hotel has been since opening. They will make their way thru the growing pains and become a top notch property. The manager seems very attentive and the staff seemed directed to attend to guests issues that were reasonable.
Overall I would give this resort a solid 4 star rating with very good quality management and staff.
P.S. - I always forget to add at the end of our reviews...BRING a BUBBA from Canadian Tire or other thermo-mug with a lid for 2 reasons. 1, it saves on 100 little plastic disposable cups ending up in the beautiful ocean after your trip, and 2 - didnt you come here for BIG, COLD drinks.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank Jeff_and_Joose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingCcs, Director General at Pestana Cayo Coco All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear Jeff and

Thanks for all your comments you find very good the hotel, room, food services and staff from all departments, as you said, we have some experienced employees and many new to be accommodating, but they soon will have the same skill.
It is true your commet about the beach and the bar and I thank you for being constructive.
Hope to see you at the hotel again and enjoy your well deserved vacation.

Sincerely,

director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    716
    1,065
    459
    143
    70
See reviews for
845
985
93
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

My wife & I stayed at the Pestana Cayo Coco for our wedding anniversary from January 13th to 20th. Here is our review:

FLIGHT
We booked online with Air Transat, paid $2K for two tickets. This was the best price we could find for a decent resort. Dominican or Mexico do not come close to beating Cuba in pricing. The outbound flight left at 6:30am, we landed in Jardines Del Rey Airport at 10:30am and were shuttled to the resort by 11am. Our rooms were not ready when we arrived, which happens sometimes. The Canadian airline companies control the flight times and expect the Cuban hotels to adjust to their schedule. Also Cuban hotels have a check-out time policy to balance with having ample time to clean the rooms before the next round of guests arrive. To fully clean a room for a new guest takes 1 to 3 hours, depending on how courteous the previous guest was. This is a balancing act the Pestana is mastering well. During our room delay, the reception desk organized a secured room where we could store our luggage, while we toured the hotel grounds, had a couple of cold drinks, ate lunch and scoped out the beach. Reception told us the delay could take about 2-3 hours; our room was ready in 1.5 hours.

HOTEL LAYOUT
Before we left Canada, we emailed the hotel address listed on the Pestana website, requesting a room near the beach. Other established hotels in Cuba are able to fulfill special requests. When we arrived at the Pestana, we realized all the buildings are smartly organized in a close cluster. Any room in the hotel is the best room. Some of the third-floor rooms are ocean-facing. This may be an extra-cost and worth investigating with your travel agency. Note: the buildings do not have elevators. Each floor is connected with stairs. A 1st floor room is best if you have kids. Also walking up many flights of stairs is not fun when inebriated.

RESTAURANTS
Every guest gets a crack at the 3 a-la-cartes if booked soon upon arrival. We booked only the Criollo/Cuban restaurant because it would naturally have the most authentic and flavourful food, which turned out to be true. We did hear other guests comment the Italian and Med a-la-cartes were "okay" and "good". We often ate at the buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner because of the variety of fresh juices, vegetables, desserts, fresh fruit, salads and grill stations. The Pestana buffet is likely one of the best for an all-inclusive resort in Cuba. Some guests made bad comments about the food, however, I doubt these guests are eating in 3-star michelin rated restaurants on a normal basis, as most did not know how to operate a toaster or how to correctly hold a fork and knife.

Comparing Cuban food to Canadian, Mexican or Dominican food is not valid because all countries have different access to ingredients, food quality and import regulations. We did see a little repetitiveness in the buffet food. I am sure this was to control food waste and ensure the guests have more than enough to eat. The snack-bar, buffet and beach-grill restaurants did not "run out of food". Majority of the guests ate more than their stomachs can hold and often left a lot of food waste on their plates. Everyday 20,864 people in other countries die of hunger and starvation: something to think about before complaining about food at the Pestana or any other place.

BARS
Every bar had a menu either in a plastic sleeve or a black portfolio usually located on the side next to the sugar bowls. Plus all the bartenders and servers were multi-lingual and spoke either English, French, Italian or Russian. They all knew how to mix common cocktails or drinks. The Spanish coffees and cappuccinos from the lobby and theatre bar were delicious, day or night. The Cuba libres and mojitos from the theatre, lobby and beach bar did differ, because every bartender had their own philosophy on the perfect one. Asking them for the meaning of life was much easier. The pool bar can get a little hectic during the day. This is normal in resorts, because it is the most convenient way to get intoxicated, be in the water and meet lots of people. The beach bar is more like a beach kiosk, very small and does the job. It would be nice in the future to maybe have a seating area with a canopy. We never had problems with drinks being watered down and the glasses or plastic cups are standard size. It was also nice to see other guests bring their own cooler mugs or cups.

BEACH
This is primary reason we came to this resort. It has its pros and cons: On a clear sunny day the water is aqua azul, crystal clear and knee deep for hundreds of feet out. The sand is powder soft white with the occasional starfish or shellfish clearly visible. There is lots of coral way way out for snorkelers and also boat or catamaran rentals. The cons: there are specs of rock when first entering the water, which can be avoided by finding the right spots. Shaded beach palapas are also scarce. Guests tipped the beach workers a couple of pesos to reserve chairs and palapas, often for the entire week. There is nothing wrong with this, its simple economics. It would be nice to have more palapas or the option to rent large beach umbrellas or beach tents.


ROOMS
All rooms are new, with very nice furniture and fittings. Like any new house, there will be very small blemishes, from the building and materials settling. There were always handymen making adjustments, fixing broken fixtures, doing minor paint touch-ups, which shows Pestana cares about property. The shower always put out hot water and was really nice to find soaps, gels, lotions well stocked and replenished. We never had problems with towels or dirty sheets. When walking down the corridor, we passed open doors with rooms which looked like a tornado went through them. If anyone had a complaint about the housekeeping, chances are the guests had very bad hygiene to begin with.


NIGHTLIFE
The shows at night put on by the animation team are top notch. The animation team can often be seen practicing during the day and some have studied in school for animation in the nearby city called moron. The Cuban show was hands-down the best, which included a live musical band, 3 singers and dancers in colourful dresses depicting the history of Cuba in the form of an opera.

TIPS
Learning basic Spanish phrases will set any guest apart from the ignorant twit who expects everyone else to understand their thick English or French accent.

Tipping or gratuity is optional and always helps as the average Cuban earns a very tiny and meagre salary. Resort work is also one of the hardest jobs because most workers work 15+ hour shifts, then travel over an hour by public transit to get home. All the Pestana staff work extra hard to ensure guests experience a great life in their country. A country where we as a guest experience comforts that most Cubans will never afford in their lifetime.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
50 Thank Billy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingCcs, Director General at Pestana Cayo Coco All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Billy B:

I liked the explicit way that you made comments about the experience you had in our resort in Cuba. You highlighted the hard work done by Cubans at the hotel, they all do a great effort, they have studied for what they do, yet they do it to please their main source of work, that is you the guest.
In general I see that you appreciate the service, facilities, people, beach, anyway I'll see the comment that you made about the bar on the beach and palapas.
Thanks for coming to Cuba and for coming to Pestana Cayo Coco .
I want that when you come again we will give our best , you will be our repeater guest.

Sincerely,

director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Excellent beach, sun exposure from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. and crystal water most of the time (function of little storms or something like that out on the ocean somewhere). For the ones interested note that the sun runs parallel to the beach and more like South-East to North-West during the months of December-January. We were not interested into the pool story so we cannot comment on it.. anyway, we've enjoyed its landscape.
Great people, willing to learn, improve and/or help. Many thanks especially to Yoannis, Zailyer and Leif for their professional, continuous and unconditional support.
Blocks 2-3-4-5 are closer to the pool and for that they get a bit noisier for up to max 5 P.M.
Like everywhere else there are things that need to be fixed of course. That's 99% not people's fault...
Pellar Beach on a quiet sunny day was simply without equal. Don't miss it! Note that there's not too much shadow up there. I would recommend people (tourists or not) NOT to artificially feed the fish population during these trips. There is plenty out there anyway!
P.S. One shot of 15 yrs. old Havana Club ~ $15 CAD :) ... soooooo good!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingCcs, Director General at Pestana Cayo Coco All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Michael C:


Thank you for your positive comments about the hotel and gives us the encouragement to go on, Not everyone can see the same thing as you, but I imagine you have been in Cuba many times and know that we are learning and we have a nice hotel we have good people and willing to work hard.

We look forward to your next visit and would be happy to serve you.

Sincerely,

director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Let me start by saying the worst thing I'll say about this resort is the fish are shy...lol..i'm guessing because the resort is only 5 months old they're not used to people yet. My husband and I love to snorkel and are used to curious fish who look to be fed bananas and bread...lol oh well.

So, the resort itself is beautiful. Large, clean, beautiful. The beach is awesome, goes on forever, good loungers, a little rocky near the shore so take water shoes. also found sea cucumbers and sea urchins 2 feet from shore so be careful barefoot or otherwise. Beautiful white powdery sand, clear turquoise waters, endless sandbars.

The food...first let me say we've been to Cuba many times to many resorts and the food has been ok at best, but understandably so in most cases. Lots of people say the food is dry and overcooked...but it's cooked so well so that people don't get sick from under cooked meat. the other complaint we hear a lot is the food is bland...well some people don't like spicy foods so if you do then add some spice..bring your fav's with you. Anyway this place has good food. The a la cartes and the buffet. Way better than any other place we've been.

As always, the people here as everywhere in Cuba are awesome. Everyone is so friendly and helpful, and by the time you leave you feel like family. Service in every area was great, but there are a few people that really stood out for us. First, Carlito...an amazing bartender he is the best! He gets to know you and you get to know him and he makes the best drinks especially strawberry daiquiri's. He makes you feel welcome. He was a great guy to chat with he always made time for you even when he was busy. We even taught him to make a Purple Rain. Next was Joeiena, the guest services manager...she was great. We had a small issue on our first day with our a la cartes and she went above and beyond to make everything right for us. Every time we saw her throughout the resort she always had a warm smile for us and inquired about our stay. Ensured us that if we needed anything else to let her know. Then there were the two gentlemen who I think were either gardeners of arborists. You'll recognize them by the big smiles on their faces, and the parrot named Cody. If you're nice to Cody and he likes you, he'll let you pet him on the head..lol. Both of these gentlemen were so kind and so warm and so talented, I love my bracelet and we love our coconut monkey!! Thanks again guys!! Last but not least Daniel...an older gentlemen who we think is maybe the head groundskeeper, very very nice gentlemen. Always checking on us when we saw him making sure everything was ok, but not in an annoying way, always took time to talk with you and get to know you. And one more is the lovely lady that took care of our room...5108 I wanted to bring her home with us she was so fantastic. Always talked with us left beautiful towel art on our bed and did a wonderful job cleaning our room, she definitely. takes pride in her work. Oh and one more...Alberto, also in guest services at the moment. On our first day there we met him while dealing with our small issue over our a la cartes. He was very polite and very helpful. We saw him many times during our stay and he was always friendly. On our last day while waiting for our bus we spent quite a while talking with him, and he is one of the nicest warmest smartest down to earth person we've met. He is working hard to better himself and take care of his family. Kudos Alberto.

What we're trying to say is definitely a good resort to stay at, we defintely will return in the new future. Muchos Gracias amigos and amigas !

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank sbeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingCcs, Director General at Pestana Cayo Coco All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Sbeen:

I want to thank you for your so positive comment about your visit to the hotel, and I see that you are a repeater guest of Cuba and therefore knows how to enjoy the positive, without complications. I see you loved the beach, the food, the service of our staff always smiling, attentive to please, especially' I will give your regards to Carlitos, Yoenia, Daniel, Alberto, who have given excellent service exceeding your expectations, also the maid of your room.
Thanks for wanting to return to Cuba and to our hotel,

Sincerely

Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Let me start by saying that I am not new to Cuba I travel to different areas of Cuba at least 3 times per year. This hotel may have been the nicest hotel I have been too and I was at the Melia Cayo Coco the week prior to my week at Pestana and although the rating of the Melia is higher Pestana is a better hotel hands down in every area. From the minute I got there the staff was helpful and welcoming and the main lobby was beautiful.
Check in:
Was fast and smooth and they accommodated the request I had made via email prior to my arrival.
My luggage was brought to my room very fast and the bell boy even gave me a ride to my room as I had not yet got my bearings in the hotel.
The food:
Well it's Cuba so what else is there to say, pretty standard I certainly found nothing to complain about and although I heard people complaining about the food I certainly didn't see many people going hungry when you looked around the buffet where honestly there was always something you could find to eat. Tip the poutine in the buffet is awesome!
The service:
Was always fast and friendly. I have heard people say here that the snack bar was very slow but honestly I have to say that this was not my experience at all. I would go in and get a table someone would come and take more order within minutes. One occasion my friend was coming to meet me the and my food had arrived even before she did so to me that is fast service. But even it is a little slow you are on vacation just relax they will get there, they honestly seem to be doing a great job!
The entertainment:
I thought the entertainment team did an excellent job! It was a great combination of offering activities without feeling pressure to participate. And there was always enough going on to keep you entertained without getting annoyed or bothered by it! They also split it up between the beach and the pool which meant if you wanted a break from it you could get it and if you wanted to participate there was always something to do.
The night entertainment was pretty typical in terms of the shows but still a very talented team who very clearly work very hard every night to entertain! I also liked that after dinner before the shows there was always live music in the lobby which was very nice and in addition between the mini disco and the main show they do the live music again. All of the musicians were very talented and provided a great atmosphere during the evening. No there is no disco but they do there best by playing music in the lobby fairly late into the evening to provide people who would like to continue the evening an opportunity to do that!
The staff:
I really can't say enough they are amazing and friendly! I didn't meet one person who I felt didn't go out of their way to do whatever they could for me and my friend and they always did it with a smile. Some people who I feel require a special thank you and recognition for what they do everyday are my chamber maid Solansh she was so friendly and happy she always made me smile everyday and even tried to help me with my Spanish a little haha. Pinky and Fernando for there enthusiasm and ability to make people feel comfortable getting involved in the activities. Also pinky on the mic as the MC was great it amazes me the languages she can speak and that you can actual understand (which is often difficult) the DJ Javier without him the party certainly couldn't happen because the music is key and he even took some requests which was awesome so thanks for entertaining! You can tell you really love your Job! And last but not least and I am sorry I forgot your name but my favorite bartender at the pool bar who always remembered my order and made the best Miami vice in the resort! Everyone was great but these people for me just went above and beyond so thank you!
All in all I had a great time at this resort it is beautiful, with great staff what more can you ask for in a resort for a holiday! In my opinion this hotel should have a much higher rating on trip advisor in terms of where it stand relative to the other hotels in cayo coco and I have been to a few of them! Keep up the good work I will be back for sure!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank 4evermemories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingCcs, Director General at Pestana Cayo Coco All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear 4evermemories:

I want to thank the good reviews you had done based on your experience in the hotel, I really agree that there are a lot of commets that had the same impression that we are more than four star. But we must keep working to make it so. I see again the staff has helped a lot in your vacation excellent, I'll give your regards to Pinky, Fernando, Solarish, Javier and I think the bartender is Norris.
Glad you liked the shows, the food, the animation and overall the service of all.
We look forward to your next visit and you will always welcome on Pestana Cayo Coco.

Sincerely,

Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the moon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Had a 6 night stay at this hotel earlier this January. We got a very good deal and were pleasantly surprised from the moment we entered the Resort.

Check-in was ok, we had to wait a little for our room to be ready but it's no big deal. We could leave our luggage at the lobby while we roamed around for first impressions.

Room was good and spacious, the TV could have been a bit bigger and elderly travelers might have some problems with entering and leaving the bathtub. Got a bottle of water almost every day, should have been every day.

The beach is not on par with some of the other areas of Cayo Coco, but it's still beautiful. The bar at the beach was ok. I did miss toilets at the beach area.
The swimming pool is big and nice with a ok pool bar, which could have had a bigger swimup part because it got pretty crowded in the afternoon.

The snack bar was ok, it never had pizzas after 4 a clock and the waiting time was quite long. But the food was good and it had a decent bar attached to it with beverages usually served in glass and not plastic cups which is what im used to from other Cuban resorts snack bars.
The buffer restaurant was good with more than enough choices for me, only once i had to resort to pasta only because i didn't find anything else good or interesting. The service was good and quick. I usually had a glass of water and my drinking order placed well within a minute of sitting down.
I did not try the restaurant closer to the beach which usually served grilled food for lunch. I also didn't try any of the ala cartes, but they seemed popular.

The hotel had 5 bars. The snack bar, pool bar, beach bar and two lobby bars. Both the lobby bars are good, the service is usually fast and you have a bigger selection and better quality on the drinks than what i expected from a 4 star cuban resort. I was very pleased with the afrocuban woman working at the lobby bar, excellent service and drinks. But the bars have one big issue for me, there is no drinking menu. We like to try a wide range of different cocktails (preferably cocktails we never tried before) when we visit all inclusive resorts, but now we had to stick with the usual suspects because we didn't know what they served! This was a big minus for me and it's the first time i have experienced a bar without a menu in Cuba.

The shows were quite good but a little short, there weren't much entertainment after the shows because the hotel lacks a nightclub. Some nights there were live music afterwards, but nothing else. The younger guests usually went to the snack bar to play games and listen to their own music. I did not partake in any of the daytime or nighttime activities that the entertainment staff offered, but it looked like the generic games and activities that most hotels do.

The hotel area was beautiful and you could see that hotel was new. With the price it has now it's a very good deal for travelers wanting to have a great vacation without emptying their bank accounts.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank TravisTouchdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingCcs, Director General at Pestana Cayo Coco All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear TravisTouchdown:

I see from your comments that the hotel exceeded your expectations and as it says is a hotel compared to other 4 stars is superior, sometimes people take us five and requires us food for five or beverages such as five, but I see you understand. About the bar menu I will see thatimmediately, because it exists.
About the price I see what you said makes sense and for that price and what you get. I see you have been very satisfied.

Hope to see you again and thank you for recommending us.

Sincerely,

director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

My wife and I just enjoyed a wonderful week at the new Pestana (Portugese for 'eyelash') Beach Resort. Sunwing did a great job of getting us their and back. Kudos to them!
I'll dispel any misrepresentations from other reviewers by saying the management (G.M. Luis Onate), Niuirdis (Sales Manager), Danis (room reservations) and staff are simply the best. Since the moment we arrived, we were made to feel special. We have been to most of the Cayo Coco beach resorts over the last 15 years with our children and the Pestana exceeded all our expectations.
Shout outs to Danislidy, the Lobby waitress with the million dollar smile-for her fantastic, friendly service. As well, to Armando the Lobby Bartender, Yidsi Dennis for morning cappacinos and Yovani at the beach bar. The food here was the best we have had-thanks in large part to Nacho, Food Manager and his team of chefs. The Cuban restaurant was our favourite (have the mahi mahi and chicken mains), managed by Yamila who was amazing and most accomodating. Pork and chicken dishes amazed us at the Italian a la carte and chicken entree at Mediteranean were great. We had a really nice room on 3rd floor of building 7. Note- rooms have bathroom scales (!) but no clocks? You won't know what time it is but you can track your daily weight gain from the buffet and bars!
Resport massajestic, Ghato offers really good 45 min massages right on the beach or indoors at the fitness centre ($25 C.U.C.s). We with enjoyed catamaran rides with Nautical Instructor, Alejandro, every day. Booked every morning at 9:30 am-day of, for rides. The sail takes you out to the coral reef and back or to te penninsula at tip of beach (a 45 min beach walk). Orly was the best member of the Animacion team- alreays ready with a smile or a joke. Funniest staffer of all was Denis the beach bar service. He just has fun all day-serving you the cold drinks. Roberto and partner set up our beach chaises every morning dutifully. Thanks Roberto! In a sea shell (ouch), we came to relax and eat well and the friendly staff at Pestana did everything to make it happen for us. We will be back- with our kids next time!
Hola~

Room Tip: Front desk will do everything in their power to ensure you get a fine room. Ask nicely~
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank TorontoDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingCcs, Director General at Pestana Cayo Coco All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear TorontoDave:
I want to thank your comments and I can feel that our staff has been a fundamental part of your satisfaction, I can see too that it has been a repeater Visitors to Cuba and recognize that we in the midst of very positive things, like the various services of bar, cafe in morning, a buffet restaurant, You appreciated the a la carte restaurants. And you do not forget the massages on the beach.
I personally give your greetings to each of dmentioned employees Niurdis, Danys, Nacho, Danislaidy, Orly, Armando, Yidsi Dennis, Yovany, Yamila, Gato, Alejandro, Roberto.
We will be waiting for you and your kidsy and we wish you the best always.

Sincerely,

Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cayo Coco hotels
1.8 mi away
Memories Caribe Beach Resort
2.1 mi away
Hotel Playa Coco
Hotel Playa Coco
#10 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,072 reviews
0.2 mi away
Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Melia Cayo Coco
Melia Cayo Coco
#1 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,963 reviews
5.2 mi away
Melia Jardines del Rey
Melia Jardines del Rey
#9 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,941 reviews
4.9 mi away
Sol Cayo Coco
Sol Cayo Coco
#3 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Cayo Coco All Inclusive Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Cayo Coco All Inclusive Beach Resort

Property: Pestana Cayo Coco All Inclusive Beach Resort
Address: Carretera Cayo Guillermo, km 9 1/2, 69400, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Cayo Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pestana Cayo Coco All Inclusive Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 508
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pestana Cayo Coco Beach Resort is the first hotel of the Pestana group in the Caribbean, located on the beautiful island of Cuba. The Pestana Hotel Cayo Coco Beach Resort is located in one of the best beaches of the island of Cuba, marking the Group's entry into Cuba, and reinforces its commitment to resorts "All Inclusive." It is a 4-star hotel of the Pestana Group management, consisting of 508 rooms spread over several buildings, accompanied by a Caribbean landscape and the magical view of the Caribbean Sea. The hotel has (4) restaurants and (5) bars, all these designed to offer the best of national and international cuisine. It is a distinctive and innovative product in the current offer in this area of the island. In addition to its modern design and colorful, typically Cuban. In turn offer an attractive European component, especially in the food, which certainly constitutes an additional source of attraction for this hotel facility. With the International Airport "Jardines del Rey" just a few km, Cayo Coco is a true tropical paradise with white sand beaches and calm waters of turquoise, ideal for diving and to enjoy nature, because the destination is a real nature reserve surrounded by lush coral reefs. In Cayo Coco Beach Resort Pestana, have the chance to experience memorable moments, thanks to our variety of benefits, including (11) buildings with 3 floors each, (2) pools (1) private beach, sailing, horseback horse, Junior Suites and Suites, 100% equipped with balcony, cable TV, air conditioning, hairdryer, safe and telephone. We place at the disposal of our customers, (2) Conference rooms with capacity for 50 people each. Pestana Cayo Coco....Come and make your holiday memorable moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pestana Cayo Coco All Inclusive Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing