We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An oasis with a breath taking view of the ocean.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cap Lamandou Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cap Lamandou Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Jacmel
Plantation, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An oasis with a breath taking view of the ocean.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

I returned to this hotel in Jacmel for a second visit, this time for business. The hotel is well situated right on the ocean with big rooms overlooking the blue ocean. The breakfast buffet is well appointed with local fruits and some day you can have local dishes. The two negative marks I give this hotel are the price and the lack of comfort inside the rooms. For a hotel that pricy $121 for a standard room, one should expect an international standard in the setting, the decor, and the furnishings. I would always return to Cap Lamandou for the view and the courtesy of hotel staff but it is too pricy for Jacmel, for Haiti.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Bapthol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    31
    15
    8
    5
See reviews for
15
11
5
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Do not ever leave anything of value in your room ever!!!
I had my passport stolen and they were completely unhelpful and because I had a friend in UN security they leaned on them and magically my passport showed up 2 weeks later bone dry in the parking lot... Now there was rain in between the time it went missing.
Also a colleague had money go missing as well but as he had a delegation of people. The money was returned.
Much better options but if you want a western style hotel this is it. But you won't feel secure!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cap Lamandou H, Directeur général at Cap Lamandou Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you for your review. We are sorry for your bad experience with us one year ago. However we are surprised to learn that your missing passport or your colleague money got stolen. We do not have thieves or alike. Many of our staff (housekeepers, front desk agents, guards etc.) have been working for years. They are known for their honesty and their integrity. For proof, there are a lot of things recovered for guests that have been storing for years pending claim. Moreover, there is a safe in each room in case guests would need to put things of value. You will not have to feel insecure when you are with us. We hope that we have clarified.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jacmel hotels

Calgary
Level Contributor
106 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

We found the hotel nice and had no major problems with it.

It is in Haiti so you need to be flexible and patient on some things..
ie. the internet is very intermittent
the power goes of at least once a night so clocks blink and the generators(loud) kick in

The food at the restaurant was good but it is quite slow when you order a meal.

The pool area is nice and has a great view.

Dave

Room Tip: away from the generators!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DaveCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamaica, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

it was a short stay. We came late and left early the next morning. Breakfast was great!!!!!!! View was nice! Staff was pleasant! Just wished they could have honored the price listed on the website which was considerably cheaper than what we paid.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Monclas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

AC works 90% of the time (for Haiti, that is exceptional), great area - close to a few local beaches. Great service, everyone is kind and friendly.

Both times I went I did not experience any mistreatment of animals, I am a huge animal lover and this would have completely turned me off (I know their culture is different than ours but it is still something off putting for me). It is good to know management is keeping an eye on this.

We have gone with a group of 25+ and had the same great service even then.

Remember they run on island time, so if you are in a rush get off the island!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Liveloudlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

We have stayed at Cap Lamandou the last 5 years. The first year the rooms were a reasonable rate and were in pretty good condition and we received a pitcher of drinkable water each day. Each year the price of the room has gone up and the room conditions have gone down, along with the service. This past year our door to the bathroom wouldn't close all the way and the wood on the door was rotten. We had lizards living in the door frames, which was better then the cockroaches we had several years ago which were living in the headboard and crawled on my son. We paid about $50 more this year per room per night. Unless they lower their rates and upgrade their rooms I don't think it's worth the money. The view is beautiful and their is a pool, but that's not kept very clean either. There is air conditioning but ours went out at night several times and we would have to restart it several times during the night

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sot58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed at Hotel Lamandou en route to Aux Cayes: the property was very impressive. The views of the ocean from our room were breathtaking. The staff was very polite and the food was great. I would recommend this hotel to those who love the ocean and who enjoys comfort- the rooms are very comfortable

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovehaiti80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jacmel
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cyvadier
Hotel Cyvadier
#1 of 5 in Jacmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Florita
Hotel Florita
#2 of 5 in Jacmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
25.4 mi away
NH Haiti El Rancho
NH Haiti El Rancho
#1 of 13 in Petionville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.1 mi away
Marriott Port-au-Prince Hotel
Marriott Port-au-Prince Hotel
#1 of 20 in Port-au-Prince
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
77.2 mi away
Port Morgan
Port Morgan
#3 of 3 in Ile-a-Vache
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
77.8 mi away
Abaka Bay Resort
Abaka Bay Resort
#1 of 3 in Ile-a-Vache
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cap Lamandou Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cap Lamandou Hotel

Property: Cap Lamandou Hotel
Address: Route de Lamandou Rue Luce Turner, Jacmel 9110, Haiti
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Haiti > Sud-Est Department > Jacmel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Jacmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cap Lamandou Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Cap Lamandou Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing