We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inexpensive Lunch” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Batey - CLOSED

El Batey
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Inexpensive Lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

When in a hurry and don't want to spend a lot of money, El Batey has local foods at a good price, always to the sound of local music

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank tillbrauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    44
    19
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Juliet, Tennessee
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Our favorite on Culebra”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

A real local place. We ate there twice. The fried whole snapper was fantastic. Hamburgers are huge and hit the spot. Right on the main drag. Plenty of outdoor seating at picnic tables. Can't miss it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good location not exciting food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

They didn't seem much interested in receiving customers--maybe we were just too early at 5:30 p.m.--but managed to pull together a fish sandwich and some rice and beans. The beans were terrific however.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A local joint for very good local food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Yelp and other review sites give this place a bad name for being what it is. But it is what it is, a local PR bar that lost it's liquor license because of an "incident" that serves very good local food. We have had the whole fish with plantains, the fried pork with rice and beans and they were all very good. Actually the rice and beans were better than very good, they were excellent. But you have to understand that this is as local as they come so yes, it will take about 45-1hr to get your food because there is only one guy making it in the back and no the bartender isn't going to pretend he's happy to see you when he takes your order.

We always end up here because 80% of the time, they are open 100% of the time and the food is very good at a reasonable price. And now it's BYOB!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank jtkappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Simple service, good food, lacking that fun island vibe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

We came here on our last night in Culebra. We were hoping to dine at the newer restaurant on the island but they never called us back to let us know if they could get us in for dinner. El Batey was recommended to us by the owners of Mango Fish Guesthouse, where we stayed while visiting the island. I guess El Batey has no liquor license at the moment, so I'm assuming that might be why they were lacking in atmosphere. You can actually bring your own wine or beer so if you are looking to save some money while dining out, this might be the perfect spot for you. Drinks aren't cheap on the island! Okay, so the food. My Caesar salad with grilled chicken was awesome. The chicken was cooked fresh and the salad was the perfect size. The homemade dressing was amazing! Probably one of the best I've had. My husband ordered the 10 oz. Cheeseburger. It was served on a fresh baked roll and served with all the sides. The curly fries are homemade and delish. I think maybe a little less grease and they would be something I crave. The prices were right at El Batey. If you are looking for a wonderful meal at a great price on this island, this is your spot. Maybe even get it to go and bring it to the beach with a bottle of wine. The beaches are open 24 hours on Culebra! El Batey has been a family run restaurant for over 30 years. There is a reason it's still around. We will be back next time we visit Culebra.

Helpful?
Thank mammatea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Batey also viewed

Culebra, Puerto Rico
Culebra, Puerto Rico
 
Culebra, Puerto Rico
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing