We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dinghy Dock

Dinghy Dock
Ranked #2 of 40 Restaurants in Culebra
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Bar, Seafood, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, View, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Great place, right on the water, swimming tarpon and gulls waiting to be fed. Several dinghies arrived and left while we were there. Great atmosphere and drinks. Food was fine, maybe a bit expensive, but it's a small island, and it sone of the few places offering decent fish. Very friendly service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TripAway7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    491
    361
    92
    25
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ct., USA
Level Contributor
130 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Local hang out on the water”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Had a good local dinner with great octopus salad - local style with lots of garlic, onions, peppers for color. Also had shrimp and tuna. Great piña colada --- and big tarp fish come up to the surface on the edge of the patio deck. Check out the artist studio next door. This was our second night in Culebra--first night we ate at Mamacitas- also a good meal.

Helpful?
1 Thank MyrellaCt_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“This is the place to party in Culebra”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Ended up running a tab of 200 coz if the awesome drinks. Great service, good location, decent food, and a really good evening.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Akshay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yummy dinner!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Had some local fish and seafood which was delicious.You also eat at the edge of the water with people arriving for dinner on their boats! Very entertaining to watch! Also a great bar scene!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TinaKaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
92 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Mea Culpa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

I wrote a review for Dinghy Dock on May 13 based on my experience up till then. It was a rather mediocre experience for the food. I actually spent a couple more weeks on Isla Culebra and had opportunity to visit Dinghy Dock several times since then. Based on the entire time, I feel my original assessment was not entirely accurate. What I found on later visits was that on Saturday Evenings there is a person who comes to entertain with live drumming, during which at times the customers spontaneously burst out in song to accompany him. This creates such an amazing communal feel that you are part of something even if you are there alone. While my dinner entrees were a,right, i found that you could order appetizers while sitting at the bar, of which the panko breaded grouper fingers were an option. They were really fantastic! I shocked one of the customers - a man from Norway living on his sailboat- who had arrived on his "dinghy" when I suggested the grouper fingers were "to die for". Taking me literally, he hesitated then after I had explained the expression to him, he ordered them and later laughingly agreed. The mix of people and the atmosphere really makes Dinghy Dock a special place, especially on Saturday drumming nights.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yinzer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dinghy Dock also viewed

Culebra, Puerto Rico
Culebra, Puerto Rico
 
Culebra, Puerto Rico
 
Culebra, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Dinghy Dock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing