We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Culebra Aquafari”

Kayaking Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kayaking Puerto Rico is proud to offer the finest KAYAKING & SNORKELING excursions on the island! Winner of the Puerto Rico Tourism Company QUALITY AWARD, KPR specializes in professionally guided eco oriented trips across Puerto Rico’s Eastern Coast and Culebra Island.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Grafenwohr, Germany
1 review
“Culebra Aquafari”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

As an avid adventurer, I have never kayaked before, plus I had an 8 yr old who had never snorkeled, I thought the tour was very informative and insightful. Wr saw two types of turtles and we were taught about the reef by out awesome tour guide Brian.

Helpful?
Thank Bryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    527
    51
    4
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“All Day Water ”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

I booked two excursions with this company, the "Aquafari at Culebra's" and "Bio Bay At Fajardo".

** This company gives a $10 discount per person if you book two excursions with them, so make sure you get it if is not mentioned but they always do. **

The Aquafari consist of a 3 activity day, swim, kayak and snorkel.

If you are in the mainland a ferry needs to be taken to Culebra's Island - ( the lines are crazy, so be there early, have someone make the line for the ferry to Culebra's Island while you get the tickets which are included in the price of the excursion ) - The ferry ride is about a 45 - 55 minutes, once you arrive you'll be taken to the welcome center and then the fun begins... First stop Flamingo beach beautiful beach very clean, beautiful view, a very great way to start the day, around the area there are some kiosk with souvenirs and food, personal favorite is kiosk #6 and got the Shark Nuggets for as weird as it sounds trust me on this one is a very tasty dish. After that you are taken to Tamarindo Beach for your Second stop which is the kayaking, all the gear is available as well as snacks, once in the kayak you are taken deep in the sea where the corals are and that's where stop 3 begins with the snorkeling you get a in dept overview of the coral a unforgettable experience, after the snorkel is done you go back to the kayak and the kayak back. The surprise we got is after kayaking you are taken to a near by location to snorkel side by side with the turtles and that will be the Aquafari excursion, the ppl the guided are all very fun, informative and helpful.

Be ready to spend most of the day there, you wont regret it !

Helpful?
Thank R3team
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Treated like children”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

First off we are avid kayakers and snorkelers. We have done it all over the world and there was no one on our tour who had not kayaked before. I only know that because our guides asked. Now that seemed to be only an empty question. The guide Brian treated us like total children(there were no kids on our tour). He was rude and demeaning to some of the guests and we were all made to follow in a line to our destination. They would yell at you if you weren't exactly in line. Given the wide open space and no shallow reefs I felt it unnecessary. We wasted time circling in a line to get to the destination which was fairly close. There was not much freedom of path or exploration, which made us feel like we should have just rented kayaks and gone on our own. The reef was ok, but there wasn't much given in the way of explaining what was out there in terms of non-coral sea life. We were thoroughly disappointed and would not recommend it to our friends. I have used KPR in the past and felt like they were great for Mini-Boating and Bio Bay tours, but Aquefari Culebra was an unwelcome break from an otherwise great track record.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
1 review
“My 7 year old loved it!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

This was one of best trip we took. KPR staff from registration to end rocks!.

I don't know swimming but, with life jacket on, I did it.

My 7 year daughter who did not wanted to do it, once she went in water snorkeling, she never look back , she had best time seeing fish, reef, and swim with turtles.

Brian was our tour guide, with jewel and Norman. They are great team. They helped us out a lot, given we had 7 and 10 year old kids with us kayaking for first time. They were extremely friendly and walked us through step by step.

If you are taking snorkeling trip to culebra, don't even think twice to go with KPR.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Minu12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson Heights, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“saw turtles!!!”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The Aquafari tour with kayaking puerto rico was so much fun!!!! We had Brian as our guide and he was great ! The ferry ride to culebra was about an hour long. The ferry ride was included in the price of the excursion which is great considering there are people there from 6 am standing on line to purchase the ferry ticket . Once at Culebra we were taken to Flamenco Beach to swim for a little and to grab a bite. The beach was GORGEOUS!!! We ate at one of the kiosks and had shark nuggets , pretty tasty. We then headed to Tamarindo Bay for our Kayaking/Snorkeling. The kayaking was simple . We kayaked to reefs. Brian was very knowledgeable about the reef life. we were able to snorkel around for a bit also .He was very carfeful and had us be careful as well. We then kayaked back to shore. From there we were able to snorkel some more and we saw turtles. it was nice to swim alongside the turtles. The snorkel equipment was included and snacks as well. If you have the chance to do this tour, don't think twice about it!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paola Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kayaking Puerto Rico also viewed

 

Been to Kayaking Puerto Rico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing