We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant - terrible service, way too expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mamacitas Guest House
Ranked #10 of 19 Culebra B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Restaurant - terrible service, way too expensive”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

The location of the restaurant is lovely on the water. The servers were terrible - surly and not nice. Food was average and way too expensive. We had a very bad experience and would not recommend this.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trvlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    33
    14
    12
    17
See reviews for
16
44
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2013

This place has new owners who are more concerned about their bar business than the guesthouse or restaurant. The environment is no longer family friendly and staff is not friendly. Rooms are not optimally clean and it is impossible to sleep at night with loud music blaring from the bar.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LNMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Culebra hotels

London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We considered several locations for a long weekend in PR and found that Mamacita was a good value. Its just steps from the downtown area, which gives you easy access to local restaurants and shops. You never get stuck in the hotel compound.

The rooms are basic but clean and there is plenty of room. The atmosphesre is festive but the noise level is fine and didn't present a problem.

The restaurant and bar are good too but we were there for the beautiful beaches.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2013

I had the best vacation in my life with my girlfriend, clean rooms, nice facilities to relax yourself, the restaurant? WOW!!! you have to try it, I have to give a 5 star to the food, nice taste... Im planning a next visit soon... thanks to all at the Mamacitas Guesthouse, see you soon...

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aleogustav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013 via mobile

This place wasn't my first choice but I'm real glad i stay here. It has a nice restaurant nothing fancy but good food. Nice bar and music and a tv with sports. The place is near the town Sonia easy to buy things. Culebra is a great island to visit and flamenco beach is spectacular ! Love the place

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Israel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013 via mobile

This was a last minute find for us--- but certainly the best part of our vacation to Puerto Rico. Noel, the manager, could not have been more hospitable and helpful. He gave us ice and a cooler to take to the beach and hooked us up with captain sebastion for a heavenly day on Culebrita. The free wifi worked perfectly. Granted we were there on week nights, but it was so quiet. Granted the rooms are nothing fancy- but for the price and the personal attention you just can't beat this place. I just wish I was still there!

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013 via mobile

Mamacita's is a great value for visitors to Culebra. The location puts travelers in the heart of the downtown area, which is great if you want to choose between restaurants or pick-up necessities at the grocery stores. The restaurant portion is a bit on the high end, but there are other restaurants in the area to choose from.

The rooms are basic, with charm. Although the restaurant and bar is downstairs, the noise level never presented a problem.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moipierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culebra
1.1 mi away
Club Seabourne
Club Seabourne
#1 of 4 in Culebra
386 reviews
15.8 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,828 reviews
13.8 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
566 reviews
18.3 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
453 reviews
18.2 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#1 of 1 in Esperanza
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mamacitas Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mamacitas Guest House

Property: Mamacitas Guest House
Address: Culebra Fajardo-Station, 00775, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Culebra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Culebra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mamacitas Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mamacitas is a guest house, restaurant, bar and gift shop located on the Island of Culebra in the Carribean. If you're looking for a great place to eat, stay, or just meet others, Mamacitas is a must for your list of places to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mamacitas Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamacitas Guesthouse Hotel Culebra
Guest House Mamacitas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing