We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not be deceived”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mamacitas Guest House
Ranked #14 of 19 Culebra B&B and Inns
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Do not be deceived”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

My family and I finally got to visit Culebra. The island in general did not disappoint us. Playa Flamenco is just gorgeous. A search of hotels by rating and price yielded this guesthouse. We thought that for a $120 per night rate (plus taxes) the room would be at least average. We were wrong. The three-star rating and pictures seen on this website were deceiving. We were told that this was a suite-like room, good for four people and a fifth guest, for whom they would provide an extra couch or mattress. However, the room was extremely small. There was barely room for the suitcases and to walk. Only the main area had an A/C, and the bed for the extra person was a beat-up mattress that barely fit in the room. The bathroom was dirty, and we had to chase and kill a coach roach before we can actually go to sleep. Next morning at checkout we told the employee. She didn't even apologize.

I gave a rating of 2 to this guesthouse only because the shuttle that takes you to the beach (for a fee, of course) stops right in front of the guesthouse.

I will go back to Culebra, but definitely not to this guesthouse. Now I know that there are better options than this place. Before you go to Culebra, make sure to carefully research and read reviews from different sources.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EMC931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    29
    14
    12
    17
See reviews for
14
40
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Room: Other reviews have said it was loud... believe it! Friday night the music was so loud in our room, I could literally feel it vibrating in my skull. They were totally over-pushing their speakers and the bass was completely distorted. It was so bad we had to leave the room and go elsewhere in town until the band was done at 11:30. Thursday night it was not that bad, as there was not a live band.
There were no washcloths or shampoo in the room. When asked, the office staff said it was because people kept stealing the washcloths. Shampoo was set to arrive next week. This is a $100+/night room... management, just buy some more washcloths!

Restaurant:
GOOD: The restaurant is charming, and right on the canal. The food and service was very good. The ceviche especially was awesome.
BAD: They add a tip ito the bill automatically, a fact that I did not notice until the next day. I tipped around 20%, which was added on top of the 18% they added to the bill. OK, I should have paid more attention... but I still feel totally cheated, and as a result I will never go back. A tip is not a FEE, it is something we give for good service.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJA_Alexandria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Culebra hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

I visited Culebra and Mamacita's back in June of 2010. We stayed on the top floor back side with a view of the channel and it was the perfect location. The island is quiet, relaxing and allows for you to really get some refreshing from the big city. Mamacita's is a very simple but yet perfectly welcoming place. Everyone was very friendly and helpful, our room was simple but yet provided everything we needed and was reasonably priced. The restaurant and bar downstairs had some great food & even better drinks! It was simple to get to from the ferry, you could always get a taxi to the beautiful & quiet beaches and don't be surprised if an iguana strolled up to your chair or table to bet for food or simply watch you. We snorkeled with Taz & his wife while staying and is some of the best snorkeling i have had in the Caribbean. We are quietly awaiting our return to Culebra and this time we will certainly be taking friends. A helpful hint is load up on supplies (snacks, food, extra beer or drinks) on the mainline and bring over on the ferry with you. Stores are limited and of course a little more spendy because everything has to come over on the ferry. :)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

I choose this place because its website boasts it has a restrauant and bar , after I checked in at 530 pm they told me that both the bar and restrauant were closed because it rained , this is insane because it rains here 2-3 times a day
They could not find the key to our room , gave us a master key ,the a/c remote did not work
Which is the only way to control the a/c unit
That's about it , there are few decent places to dine on this island , do not stay here if you think it has a restrauant / bar

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcase10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed here for several nights and absolutely loved the service, location, and the rooms..I would recommend it to anyone and would certainly go back. We took a taxi to the near-by UN-commercialized beaches, ate at the cafe, met new folks at the bar, felt welcome, and enjoyed wandering around the island. We felt safe and enjoyed island life! Loved it!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tough M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

The location of the restaurant is lovely on the water. The servers were terrible - surly and not nice. Food was average and way too expensive. We had a very bad experience and would not recommend this.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trvlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

This place has new owners who are more concerned about their bar business than the guesthouse or restaurant. The environment is no longer family friendly and staff is not friendly. Rooms are not optimally clean and it is impossible to sleep at night with loud music blaring from the bar.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LNMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culebra
1.1 mi away
Club Seabourne
Club Seabourne
#1 of 4 in Culebra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
13.8 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
15.8 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
18.6 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palmetto Guesthouse
Palmetto Guesthouse
#5 of 19 in Culebra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mamacitas Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mamacitas Guest House

Property: Mamacitas Guest House
Address: Culebra Fajardo-Station, 00775, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Culebra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Culebra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mamacitas Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mamacitas is a guest house, restaurant, bar and gift shop located on the Island of Culebra in the Carribean. If you're looking for a great place to eat, stay, or just meet others, Mamacitas is a must for your list of places to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Mamacitas Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamacitas Guesthouse Hotel Culebra
Guest House Mamacitas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing