We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was quite!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mamacitas Guest House
Ranked #10 of 20 Culebra B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 September 2013

They were remodeling the bar, so the music noise was not there, however there was some construction noise. The location is great, right down town. Our room, #4, has a nice covered patio.. Room was clean, and friendly staff.

Room Tip: #4 is the best one, you have to go outside for the inter net to work though!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grandessolar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2013

My family and I finally got to visit Culebra. The island in general did not disappoint us. Playa Flamenco is just gorgeous. A search of hotels by rating and price yielded this guesthouse. We thought that for a $120 per night rate (plus taxes) the room would be at least average. We were wrong. The three-star rating and pictures seen on this website were deceiving. We were told that this was a suite-like room, good for four people and a fifth guest, for whom they would provide an extra couch or mattress. However, the room was extremely small. There was barely room for the suitcases and to walk. Only the main area had an A/C, and the bed for the extra person was a beat-up mattress that barely fit in the room. The bathroom was dirty, and we had to chase and kill a coach roach before we can actually go to sleep. Next morning at checkout we told the employee. She didn't even apologize.

I gave a rating of 2 to this guesthouse only because the shuttle that takes you to the beach (for a fee, of course) stops right in front of the guesthouse.

I will go back to Culebra, but definitely not to this guesthouse. Now I know that there are better options than this place. Before you go to Culebra, make sure to carefully research and read reviews from different sources.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EMC931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Room: Other reviews have said it was loud... believe it! Friday night the music was so loud in our room, I could literally feel it vibrating in my skull. They were totally over-pushing their speakers and the bass was completely distorted. It was so bad we had to leave the room and go elsewhere in town until the band was done at 11:30. Thursday night it was not that bad, as there was not a live band.
There were no washcloths or shampoo in the room. When asked, the office staff said it was because people kept stealing the washcloths. Shampoo was set to arrive next week. This is a $100+/night room... management, just buy some more washcloths!

Restaurant:
GOOD: The restaurant is charming, and right on the canal. The food and service was very good. The ceviche especially was awesome.
BAD: They add a tip ito the bill automatically, a fact that I did not notice until the next day. I tipped around 20%, which was added on top of the 18% they added to the bill. OK, I should have paid more attention... but I still feel totally cheated, and as a result I will never go back. A tip is not a FEE, it is something we give for good service.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJA_Alexandria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

I visited Culebra and Mamacita's back in June of 2010. We stayed on the top floor back side with a view of the channel and it was the perfect location. The island is quiet, relaxing and allows for you to really get some refreshing from the big city. Mamacita's is a very simple but yet perfectly welcoming place. Everyone was very friendly and helpful, our room was simple but yet provided everything we needed and was reasonably priced. The restaurant and bar downstairs had some great food & even better drinks! It was simple to get to from the ferry, you could always get a taxi to the beautiful & quiet beaches and don't be surprised if an iguana strolled up to your chair or table to bet for food or simply watch you. We snorkeled with Taz & his wife while staying and is some of the best snorkeling i have had in the Caribbean. We are quietly awaiting our return to Culebra and this time we will certainly be taking friends. A helpful hint is load up on supplies (snacks, food, extra beer or drinks) on the mainline and bring over on the ferry with you. Stores are limited and of course a little more spendy because everything has to come over on the ferry. :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I choose this place because its website boasts it has a restrauant and bar , after I checked in at 530 pm they told me that both the bar and restrauant were closed because it rained , this is insane because it rains here 2-3 times a day
They could not find the key to our room , gave us a master key ,the a/c remote did not work
Which is the only way to control the a/c unit
That's about it , there are few decent places to dine on this island , do not stay here if you think it has a restrauant / bar

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcase10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed here for several nights and absolutely loved the service, location, and the rooms..I would recommend it to anyone and would certainly go back. We took a taxi to the near-by UN-commercialized beaches, ate at the cafe, met new folks at the bar, felt welcome, and enjoyed wandering around the island. We felt safe and enjoyed island life! Loved it!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tough M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

The location of the restaurant is lovely on the water. The servers were terrible - surly and not nice. Food was average and way too expensive. We had a very bad experience and would not recommend this.

Stayed: June 2013
Thank Trvlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culebra
22.2 mi away
The Fajardo Inn
The Fajardo Inn
#3 of 4 in Fajardo
1,000 reviews
1.1 mi away
Club Seabourne
Club Seabourne
#1 of 4 in Culebra
387 reviews
24.4 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
#7 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
429 reviews
22.8 mi away
Virgin Islands Campground
Virgin Islands Campground
#1 of 3 in Water Island
308 reviews
22.2 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mamacitas Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mamacitas Guest House

Address: Culebra Fajardo-Station, 00775, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Culebra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Culebra
Price Range: £84 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mamacitas Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mamacitas is a guest house, restaurant, bar and gift shop located on the Island of Culebra in the Carribean. If you're looking for a great place to eat, stay, or just meet others, Mamacitas is a must for your list of places to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mamacitas Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamacitas Guesthouse Hotel Culebra
Guest House Mamacitas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing