We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No pretense, million dollar views”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Culebra
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tamarindo Estates Beach Apartments
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Culebra
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Just my kind of place--older with charm of days gone by. Small cottages with covered decks facing amazing views of Tamarindo beach and adjacent islands. In the distance you see the mountains of the Puerto Rico rain forest. To the west, the low profile of Vieques. Water pressure was low as Culebra relies on cisterns. Wonderful private reef for snorkeling.

Room Tip: Try to get a second floor room for the best views.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jodad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
There are newer reviews for Tamarindo Estates Beach Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2012

Beds could be a bit softer not so bumpy! I did manage to sleep regardless. The views are breathtaking from this pearl part of the island! Service was homely sweet and kind! Cottages need upgrade on the 1970's furniture" lol but overall everything worked and was clean! It's totally worth the beaches bordering it and the hikes! Not a big party town only on Fridays/ and during week quiet exotic and really relaxing! Perks the kitchen((( we cooked))) yippie market place 5 min ride! Rent from Jerry's jeeps! Much more to save$ on his jeep rentals! Small quaint and really packs a punch on worlds best beaches!! Especially playas flamenco/brava beach!! Rocks!!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hugotrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

My husband, sister, and brother in law and I spent three nights/four days in Culebra in late June 2012. We loved how it seemed like we had our own little piece of paradise to ourselves. Tamarindo was not fancy, no swim up bar, no maid service. What it did have was the most beautiful waters just below the hillside. If you want to enjoy yourself by spending the day in the waters and then just chillin out, well, Tamarindo is perfect. Not fancy, but peaceful. We cooked our own meals, played dominoes at night, and enjoyed pretty sunsets. We will come back again.

Room Tip: We had two adjoining rooms which worked out perfectly.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank susangriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

The accommodations are lovely- simple, clean, and reasonable. It was the little things that made us so grateful to spend our honeymoon at Tamarindo Estates- the beach view made daily sunset watching and dinner amazing, and the gated area and 24 hour manager on call gave us a sense of security. The location was ideal for us. The private access beach, pool and beach house were fantastic for quiet time. We had little need to go into town once we had our provisions, so being able to walk down for sunset or snorkeling was ideal. Also, the place is a short walk from another amazing beach, Tamarindo Beach, where one can snorkel and also kayak. We did it all without a car, considering the outrageous prices on the island for vehicles. We definitely had to take cabs here and there, but we preferred to be close to the beautiful water and have more privacy than deal with town. After staying in a cheaper, less welcoming place our first night (dirty/loud/scary!), we quickly changed to Tamarindo Estates and felt at home right away. They do everything they can to make you feel comfy, and while we wanted to turn off the world, they had internet, a computer room, and even a library for their guests. Looking out over the hill at the beautiful flamboyant trees and other blooming plants, listening to the roosters in the morning, and eating breakfast on the patio while watching the iguanas stroll are just some of the quiet, peaceful memories we brought home from Tamarindo Estates.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sjpandjarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We stayed at Tamarindo Estates for 4 nights. It was so peaceful and relaxing to watch the sunsets from our deck or by the beach. We just simply loved this place. The cottage is simple and a bit outdated, but it matches Culebra where you get a feeling of going back in time. My husband was amazed about all the sea creatures he saw when he went with Dennis(caretaker) snorkeling. He had a ball. The kitchen needs to have more essential utensils. For example, I wanted to bake some fries and we asked for a cookie sheet. Gail, one of the caretakers let us borrow hers. Also the bed needs to be changed to a queen size. All in all, we had an awesome time in Culebra, it was hard to say bye. We look forward to our next visit and we'll most definitely stay at Tamarindo Estates.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gatese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We flew into Isla Culebra from San Juan and fell in love with the island at first sight. The Island is absolutely beautiful! The ocean is warm and clear and perfect for snorkeling, we saw amazing creatures and spent a lot of time exploring the coral reefs. Tamarindo Estates is a perfect spot for snorkeling since there are beautiful reefs just outside the beach there.
The apartment was fine,basic but nice, it had everything we needed. It's nice to have a private balcony to sit outside and enjoy starbright evenings and having the AC was lifesaving! The pool is very nice and beautifuly located by the sea. We did miss having a bar or restaurant within walking distance, Tamarindo is far from the islands center. But renting a car is easy and that way you can also explore the rest of the island. The staff at Tamarindo is super friendly and helpful as everyone else on the island.
We definately reccomend Tamarindo Estates and especially recommend Isla Culebra as your next destination!
Thank you for your kindness Gail & co.
Love from Reykjavík Iceland; Helga & Orri

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelgaGF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

My husband and I went on a recent vacation to Tamarindo Estates and found the room to be adequate for our 1 week stay with a breathtaking view of the protected reefs. We did not spend a lot of time at the cottage but were there during a very quiet time and had the place mostly to ourselves. We found the staff very helpful and friendly. We went on a scuba trip and found ourselves right out in front of the property. The snorkeling is some of the best on the island. Nothing is inconvenient as the island is small and you can get anywhere in 10 minutes.
This is a beautiful piece of property and undeveloped. Even if you do not stay at Tamarindo you should visit it when you come to Culebra. Would recommend and would come back although we tend to try new things when we travel.

Room Tip: All units have a wonderful view.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culebra
2.3 mi away
Club Seabourne
Club Seabourne
#1 of 4 in Culebra
386 reviews
15.6 mi away
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,840 reviews
18.3 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
573 reviews
13.7 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
374 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mamacitas Guest House
Mamacitas Guest House
#10 of 20 in Culebra
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarindo Estates Beach Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarindo Estates Beach Apartments

Address: end of Tamarindo Beach Road, 00775, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Culebra
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Culebra
Price Range: £85 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamarindo Estates provides twelve 1-BR guest rental apartments on a remarkably virgin 60-acre estate, in the quiet and exclusive Tamarindo beach location, across from Culebra's Marine Reserve. It is nicely secluded, yet a short 5 to 7 minute drive to town, where restaurants, grocery, and other stores are located. The 12 guest apartments afford great views of the ocean while you relax and sit on the apartment's private, covered deck. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tamarindo Estates Beach Cottages Hotel Culebra
Tamarindo Estates Beach Hotel
Tamarindo Estates Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing