We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay!”
Review of Villa Pelicano

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Culebra
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Pelicano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed at the Villa Pelicano with our family for a week and can't say enough good things about the property. Location, accommodations, management all excellent. The property is private with two kitchens, one indoors and the other outdoors. We spent 85% of the time at the outdoor kitchen where we enjoyed the scenery overlooking the water and of course cooked lots of meals. Well worth it, thanks Alex!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank montanez_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 148 reviews

A FlipKey verified reviewer
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 29 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A FlipKey verified reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A FlipKey verified reviewer
fajardo, puerto rico
11
Reviewed 9 June 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank A FlipKey verified reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 7 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A FlipKey verified reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Culebra is one of the best Islands of the Caribbean. We were looking for a Villa to accommodate a family of 9 and two boats with all the facilities available for the boats and each member of the family like, a room for each couple, good air conditioning, Kitchen, a nice terrace w/BBQ, a dock w/ all the facilities, a beautiful view, good location and last but not least an affordable price. This was not an easy task but we found all these at Villa Pelicano and spent one of the best weekend ever at Culebra

Room Tip: •"Higher floors have less A/C unit noise"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We recently had the pleasure of visiting Culebra and the good fortune to stay at Villa Pelicano. Unfortunately, we were only there for two days, but we can’t wait to go back for a longer stay!

Alex, the owner of Villa Pelicano, was extremely kind and helpful. When I first called about a reservation, the unit we wanted to stay in wasn’t available, but he offered us the upstairs unit for a discounted price since there were only two of us. It was still a little more than I originally had hoped to pay, but once I saw the place, I realized we got a huge bargain! Alex also was very accommodating, letting us check in a bit early since we arrived before check-in time, and gave us recommendations for our trip. He checked in with us to make sure everything was going well, which was really nice.

As for the unit we stayed in, it was absolutely beautiful! There are four bedrooms, a sleeper sofa, and two large bathrooms. It could easily sleep at least 10-12 people. The kitchen was spacious, well equipped, and had a great view of the water from the windows. There were plenty of towels and a hairdryer in the bathrooms. There were window units for AC, but honestly, being right on the water, we just opened all the windows and got a great breeze. Down by the docks, there’s also a really nice outdoor kitchen and eating area that’s shared between the two units. We didn’t do any cooking, so we didn’t get the chance to use it, but next time, we’d definitely buy some of our own food and take advantage. It’s a nice way to get to know the neighbors staying at the Villa Pelicano, and since there are only two units, you wouldn’t be sharing with more than one other group. It’s a large space, so more than enough room for everyone. Near the outdoor kitchen, there are also a bunch of kayaks and life jackets that are free to use. We had a great time kayaking around the bay, and the water is really calm there so it was not difficult paddling.

The location of Villa Pelicano is on a very peaceful part of the island…no noise except nature and the roosters! It’s a little bit away from most of the popular beaches, so you probably want to rent a jeep or golf cart, but the island is not big, so its really not more than 15-20 minutes to anywhere in a golf cart. Overall, we’d highly recommend staying at Villa Pelicano, and can’t wait to stay there again ourselves!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Us: 3 young kids, 3 adults.

Alex - amazing, responsive and a wonderful host.

Culebra - amazingly safe and beautiful island. Totally chill and wonderful. Don't change it!

We ended up staying in the downstairs apt which, admittedly, was a bit small but we had a last minute addition to our trip. The downstairs was a little basement-like but it worked. After all we, we were more interested in being outside than in.

The outside area was exceptional. Hammocks, outdoor kitchen, beautiful doc and water. The kids got a kick out of "Scary Hank" who was a very friendly cat that would frequent as well as the chickens. Don't leave food out - birds will get it.

Kayaking was a lot of fun and the paddle out to Solder Point was exceptional. Even caught a few Jacks with my fly rod along the way.

The beaches were amazing; sea turtles, rays, you name it. Make sure you hike out to Playa Brava. The most beautiful beach we've ever been on with great, fun waves and NO people. Zuni equally beautiful.

In short, Alex and the Villa Pelicano was outstanding (again, we wished we booked upstairs) and the island in general is great for kids and if you just want a non-resort and chill time. We will be back and will rebook with Alex for sure.

Rent a jeep from Jerry's across the airport.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank VTFamily1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culebra
0.1 mi away
Club Seabourne
Club Seabourne
#1 of 4 in Culebra
386 reviews
15.9 mi away
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,843 reviews
18.3 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
375 reviews
18.7 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
573 reviews
18.2 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#1 of 1 in Esperanza
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Pelicano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Pelicano

Address: Fulladoza #7, 00775, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Culebra
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Culebra
Price Range: £132 - £718 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Pelicano Oceanfront, Fulladoza Bay, surrounded by unprecedented 100-acre Dakity Reserve & Soldier's Point Beach tranquil waters, a must to snorkel!! BASE RATES FROM $175 - $995/NIGHT, CAPACITY 2-18 GUESTS. PLEASE EMAIL US FOR LODGING DETAILS & RATES FOR YOUR PARTY OF GUESTS.. The Villa consists of numerous attributes which characterize its unique coastal location. Two separate units, a 2/bdrm unit, and a 4/bdrm apartment, or for bigger groups, rent both separte units for utmost comfort. Amenities such as our Dock Facilities (equipped with pool ladder for easy access snorkeling on our crystal clear waters...), Unlimited use of kayaks,a plus considering our boundary Nature Reserve with Sandy bars & Turquoise shallow waters, multiple Oceanfront 'terrazas' with spectacular views and ample space to enjoy our secluded location in the outdoors as well for all our guests. Two level home with three separate choice on accommodations: our upper level apartment with 4 bdrms/2 bthrms., Fully equipped kitchen/dining/living rooms, aprox, 1,600 sq.Ft. Of space; our ground level unit with 2 bdrms/1 bthrm., With an outdoor kitchen on one of our adjoining Oceanfront terraces, or our entire facilities for more extensive groups totaling 6 bedrooms/3 bathrooms, all a/c, ceiling fans, hardwood 'embulla' floors, two fully equipped kitchens and more...4500 + Sq.Ft. Lodging capacity from 2 up-to 18 guests. Rates vary subject to season, choice on accomodations and total # of guests, avail and duration of your lodging. Special discounts for weekly rentals available, min. Stay is 2/nts, certain Holidays require a min. Stay ranging from 3 to 7 nts. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Pelicano Hotel Culebra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing