We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our expectations!”
Review of Casa Resaca

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Culebra
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Resaca
Ranked #2 of 20 Culebra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We just returned from 5 nights at Casa Resaca and couldn't be more pleased with our experience. Casa Resaca offers 4 secure guestrooms, each with a private bathroom. On the mainfloor is a shared kitchen which offers everything you need to prepare a meal, including a blender and a BBQ grill just outside. You will also find a small soaking pool, outdoor seating, a hammock, chairs and coolers to take to the beach and plenty of snorkeling equipment.
The rooms are clean and offer a window a/c unit which drowned out the roosters using "fan" mode at night. We even had a small refrigerator in our room, although we stored most of our food in the main fridge in the kitchen.
Based on earlier reviews we thought we would be disappointed in our main floor room. Quite the opposite! Most mornings I could find Cliff quietly sitting at the table with hot coffee and half and half. Cliff and Maureen are friendly, accomodating and a wealth of information!
We met all of the guests and found them to be friendly and social. We would often share tips/experiences as we ate breakfast or prepared lunches before our outing. We loved the comradery and it did make it feel like we were visiting family.
Casa Resaca is conveniently located in a very beautiful setting, close to restaurants, the airport and the ferry terminal.
I highly recommend Casa Resaca - we will be back next year!

Room Tip: We were very happy with our first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maggie0125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2013

Our trip to Culebra was made so enjoyable due to our stay at Casa Resaca. The room was very large and clean with firm beds! The lighting could be improved, but other than a noisey rooster it was very comfortble. The screen porch was great with a kitchen , tables and a great hammock and couches. The X factor were our host Cliff and Maureen. They were so warm and helpful with recomendations and were there to drive us back and forth to our departure.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 204tomh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Had a fantastic time in Culebra staying 3 nights at Casa Resaca. What a great place to stay, it felt like home. Hammock, beach chairs, small pool, coolers, football (we even left a volleyball there as our token of gratitude!) Maureen and Cliff took great care of us helping us get a golf cart rental, picking us up from the ferry, sharing some fresh fresh fresh mango with us, and even finding us some real-deal aloe straight from the plant when we were a bit burnt from the sun. Comfy rooms, great kitchen as well as a central location to all the good stuff (Flamenco Beach, Heather's Pizza...) make this a place I would certainly recommend for a Culebra Beach getaway.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyler E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

I have never staid in a place away from home that felt like home, but better! Not only is Casa Resaca a beautiful and comfortable place to stay, but the hosts Cliff and Maureen are more than welcoming. They make you feel like you are living in your own home while visiting the Casa Resaca. I have never met such pleasant and delightful people! The place is perfectly located, where the beach and the downtown is all in walking distance. May I add that the Casa Resaca is not only beautiful, but very clean. Whatever is needed the hosts have no problem to help accommodate. If you want to experience Culebra at its best I highly recommend staying at the Casa Resaca!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymond G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

What can I say about Casa Resaca! Is beautiful and a place to relax. Iam a tv junkie but believe me while staying at Casa Resaca I did not miss my tv. Nice kitchen that we could use, a small pool also if you like to play dominoes or are interested in learning how to play there is Maureen and Cliff the hosts whom are ready to teach you and play. Very nice airconditioned rooms. Very close to the airport, beach and town. Also if you like to go snorkeling there are snorkeling equipment available to use. I can assure you that if you decide to go you will never forget the beautiful island of Culebra and beautiful Casa Resaca!

Room Tip: There only 3 rooms for rent, so you must call early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oquendowilson17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

A small pool to splash in, a kitchen to prepare a snack in, and a wonderful screened porch to relax on, one can socialize with your gracious hosts Maureen and Cliff who seem to know everything about the island including hidden trails, best places to snorkel and the low-down on the local eateries. Be prepared to rent a jeep, a junker if possible if you really want to explore, as many of the least travelled roads that will yield the magnificent vistas are likely to have low hanging branches. The beaches of Culebra are the best in the world. At the end of the day Casa Resaca is the place to relax in a comfortable, cool room, luxuriate in a shower and plan an evening in or out. Dominoes , cocktails and conversation await you at the casa or try one of the local restaurants.A fabulous getaway...if you love the beach these are unspoiled and the Puerto Rican people are warm ,friendly ,helpful and welcoming.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Casa Resaca is the place to stay if you're visiting Culebra. A comfortable guest home with all of the modern conveniences you will need while traveling. The rooms are spacious, air conditioned and very clean. Relax by the splash pool, take a nap in the hammock or partake in a game of dominoes with your gracious hosts, Cliff and Maureen. We had a wonderful experience exploring the island and the exquisite beaches. Maureen and Cliff are very knowledgeable about the island and all it has to offer. I certainly look forward to visiting the beautiful island of Culebra again and I will definitely stay at the hidden gem, Casa Resaca.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasmine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culebra
2.2 mi away
Club Seabourne
Club Seabourne
#1 of 4 in Culebra
386 reviews
19.2 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
456 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Robinson
Casa Robinson
#7 of 20 in Culebra
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Mamacitas Guest House
Mamacitas Guest House
#10 of 20 in Culebra
108 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hillbay View Villas
Hillbay View Villas
#6 of 20 in Culebra
29 reviews
27.9 mi away
Naniqui Guest House & Rentals
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Resaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Resaca

Address: Calle Resaca, 00775, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Culebra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Culebra
Price Range: £66 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OPEN SEASONALLY JAN.-APRIL and CLOSED MAY-NOV.-Newly constructed Casa Resaca is located on the edge of town as you make your way up to the lush Mt Resaca area. Just minutes from the airport, restaurants and Flamenco Beach, you have the best of both worlds in this uniquely convenient and yet secluded location. As an owner operated Guest House we are available to help you discover all that is happening in Culebra, or leave you to explore on your own. *Sorry, adult(17+yrs.) Children only. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing