We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and quaint”
Review of Casa Resaca

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Culebra
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Resaca
Ranked #2 of 19 Culebra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing and quaint”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed at Casa Resaca for 3 nights and would have extended our stay if we could have. The hosts Cliff and Maureen are wonderful hosts and the guest house is clean, inviting and relaxing. The shared living space and kitchen are great for meeting new friends as well. We had a bottom floor room which was large and comfortable - each room has its own air conditioning unit as well. Casa Resaca is tucked away in the middle of Culebra's highest mountain but is still close to pretty much everything. We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely come back and recommend it to friends. If you're going to Culebra, stay here!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheCyclistsWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    14
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
109
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We spent several days at Casa Resaca and couldn't have been more satisfied. Cliff met us at the airport and advised us on transportation. The property is outside of town and close to Flamingo Beach. The rooms are large, modern, and the beds are very comfortable. The showers are large with plenty of hot water, and the entire property is very well cared for. We had a mini fridge in the room with access to the larger fridge and the kitchen. Cliff and Maureen are terrific hosts. There is much more to see on the island than we had time to for. We will return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tom_and_Tina_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

located on a relatively quiet, except for the ever present roosters, Casa Resaca, is a small B/B that offers a really friendly feeling to the guests. Informal, yet the owners are always there to give suggestions on beaches, places to eat and just about anything you need. We had a second floor room which was quite large, spotless, and wonderful A/C. The community fridge was always available to store food or drink, and there was even a small library of books. Nifty getaway location

Room Tip: try for a second floor room, only 2 so book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank nader522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Casa Resaca is a very nice option, especially for first-time visitor who want to learn about the island. Cliff is a wonderful host and a goldmine of information. It's quieter than town but close enough for easy access. Rent a cart or bicycle for getting to town and Flamenco, or a jeep if you plan to do a lot of exploring.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barberton, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Superb visit to Culebra! Cliff met us at the airport and recommended that we upgrade to a jeep from the golf cart. Excellent suggestion. Maureen & Cliff definitely made our trip excellent with all of their personal insight for what was a wonderful trip.

Our Casita was comfortable and large. We enjoyed having a mini-fridge and full access to the kitchen and full refrigerator. Shower was large and bed very comfortable.

Culebra is a gem. Only for people who can entertain themselves and love the beautiful beaches. The snorkeling was terrific. Within one hour, we saw 6 turtles, many fish and 2 octopuses.

Our only negative: we had to go home to a foot of snow and minus 5.
We will be back for a MUCH longer stay and do some diving! Thank you, Maureen & Cliff

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rogers, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Our hosts were knowledgable and friendly. They seem to enjoy the island as much as their guests. A good kitchen setup if you are so inclined.

Culebra is not for the high maintenance. For services go to vieques or the big island. For peace, quiet and some unspoiled beauty come to Culebra but don't tell your friends.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at the Casa Resaca. We stayed in the Casita, a large bedroom/sitting area with a private bathroom off the back of the main guesthouse with an entrance/exit into the kitchen and common living areas. Our room was private, clean, and comfortable with A/C and a mini-fridge. We also enjoyed hanging out in the shared living spaces in the main guesthouse, especially starting our days in the kitchen with the provided coffee while chatting with owners Cliff and Maureen. The owners kindly provided beach chairs and snorkel gear as well as tips on things to do and places to eat (Zaco's Tacos!). All in all, the Casa Resaca was a great base for exploring beautiful Culebra and a nice place to relax. Best of all, my husband is already talking about going back someday, no arm twisting required.

Room Tip: For the most privacy, choose the Casita or one of the rooms on the second level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culebra
2.1 mi away
Club Seabourne
Club Seabourne
#1 of 4 in Culebra
386 reviews
14.6 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
371 reviews
16.5 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
453 reviews
19.4 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
566 reviews
19.0 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#1 of 1 in Esperanza
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Resaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Resaca

Property: Casa Resaca
Address: Calle Resaca, 00775, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Culebra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Culebra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OPEN SEASONALLY JAN.-APRIL and CLOSED MAY-NOV.-Newly constructed Casa Resaca is located on the edge of town as you make your way up to the lush Mt Resaca area. Just minutes from the airport, restaurants and Flamenco Beach, you have the best of both worlds in this uniquely convenient and yet secluded location. As an owner operated Guest House we are available to help you discover all that is happening in Culebra, or leave you to explore on your own. *Sorry, adult(17+yrs.) Children only. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing