We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great little place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lighthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Culebra
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Lighthouse
Ranked #6 of 19 Culebra B&B and Inns
Siesta Key, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A great little place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

I enjoyed two nights at the Lighthouse Inn. Mary and Dave provide a quiet respite from typical in town accommodations. My flight into Culebra was rearranged due to TS Gabrielle. Mary was kind enough to come to pick me up twice as the first time we didn't get off the ground in Cieba. Be prepared for roosters that do not own a clock, starting their song and dance a bit earlier than normal. Great recommendations for things to do and eating.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cerph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    10
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
52
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Union, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We had a great time in culebra. It became the highlight of our trip to PR. Wish I could say the same thing about our stay in the main island, Mary picked us up & gave us a quick tour before she took us to our room. The room was spacious & clean. She also gave us suggestions on where to eat and shared some information about the island as well. We felt very safe. We walked to zaco tacos one night with our kids. Although it was quite the walk we felt safe & the stake tacos were worth it. We rented a gold cart to get around & the kids loved it. We had a visitor come by one day. A very big lizard that I named Pepe. We still talk about Pepe with our kids. Overall we had a great experience. Mary I hope you are cooking the bread fruits growing in your yard!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taina29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed at the Lighthouse 28th-29th of July. We were picked up at the airport by a very friendly Mary who gave us a quick tour of the island before taking us back to the hotel, she advised us on all the local places to eat and drink and the must do's on the island. She also showed us where the Aloe Vera was growing as she noticed by sunburn (oops). Overall the accommodation is comfortable and airy although the air con is a little loud. We had an excellent time in Culebra and a snorkelling tour with the sea turtles and sting rays is a must (inquire on Flamenco Beach).

Mary also took us to our ferry when we were leaving and dropped us off at 5.30am which was really kind of her, great hosts and comfortable accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreeAlejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

After an absolutely horrid night in a VRBO that we had unfortunately booked for 4 nights, my husband and I decided to cut our losses and find a decent place. The Lighthouse was ranked highly on Trip Advisor and Mary answered my frantic call right away. They had a two double bed room available and she kindly told us we could come right over when she heard our situation with the original lodging. We dropped our bags at 11 am and were off for a fun day! The owners have stocked the room with everything you could need - towels, cooler, utensils, cups/plates. Nice beach chairs are also available outside. AND THE AIR CONDITIONER WORKED WELL!!! Shower was large and had ample hot water with plenty of towels. We loved the clothes drying rack in the room. Such a great idea and very, very useful. Location is good - easy walk to Jerry's Jeep Rentals/store/airport. We even walked to and from Flamenco Beach one day. We were hardly in the room at all, but when we were, we felt safe and secure. I would recommend earplugs though for the early morning roosters that live along their fence in the neighbors yard. The room backed up to the fence where they roost and they can create quite a racket pre dawn when they want to. Just a minor suggestion! Great hosts!

Room Tip: The two double bed room was HUGE, with a nice table and chairs and plenty of room to spread out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TXND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjwiedner, Owner at The Lighthouse, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review. We were very happy to be of assistance. David and I admired your great attitude and we are glad that you were able to enjoy the rest of your vacation on Culebra.
Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We loved our time in Culebra. From the start, Mary recommended that we take a flight rather than the ferry, which was quite an adventure -- an 8-seat plane from San Juan to Culebra, but it was only thirty minutes, and the views were amazing! Mary picked us up rather early, which was so kind of her, and gave us a little tour around the island. We rented bicycles for our two days there, which was great for getting in to town, but a pretty difficult ride Flamenco Beach (you may want to opt for a golf cart or jeep if you plan on beach-jumping). Mary had recommended some excellent restaurants for us, and we loved the healthy breakfasts at Vibra Verde, and enjoyed dinner at Zaco's Tacos and Heather's. Unfortunately, we missed out on Barbara Rosa's -- next time! Flamenco Beach is incredible - the water is so clear, the sand so soft... we spent both days there, and the Lighthouse was the perfect place to return to. Clean, comfortable bed, clean shower with good water pressure, and even a mini fridge to keep beer and cool water in. Mary was kind enough to bring us back to the airport when we left. Would absolutely return here. Bring bug spray!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatiefromBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Mary and David were excellent hosts. The location was ideal. My friend and I stayed in the Green Room which was set up with all that we needed including a small fridge, coffee maker (w/ tin of coffee), beach towel.

The only minor detail that might help in the future (not serious enough to drop my rating for this place) is the addition of some sort of light outside the room as it is pitch black when returning at night. But we all have cell phones these days so it wasnt a big deal to use our phones as a flashlight.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shuolunr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjwiedner, Owner at The Lighthouse, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. David and I really appreciate your feed back, and an additional light was ordered yesterday to supplement the existing house lights to light the doorway outside of your room. Thank you for letting us know.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay on Culebra and enjoyed meeting you both. We wish you all the best.
Mary and David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manati, null, Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Great experience. Mary was great. I would gladly recomend this one to my friends. Clean, warm, quiet with an excellent host. The ferry is kinda bumpy, but the experience of bein in Culebra, is awsome. There's one beach for every taste. Flamenco Beach is outstanding for snorkeling. The Lighthouse is conveniently located near the beach and close to the dock.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjwiedner, Owner at The Lighthouse, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was a pleasure to meet you and your family. Your boys were so polite and well behaved. We hope to see you again.
Best,
Mary and David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culebra
1.9 mi away
Club Seabourne
Club Seabourne
#1 of 4 in Culebra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
14.1 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
16.0 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
21.8 mi away
The Fajardo Inn
The Fajardo Inn
#3 of 3 in Fajardo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
51.6 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lighthouse

Property: The Lighthouse
Address: Calle 2 | Barriada Clark, 00775, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Culebra
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Culebra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on the beautiful island of Culebra, The Lighthouse is up the hill from the airport, where tropical breezes await you. Your hosts David and Mary Wiedner will meet you at the ferry or airport and take you on a tour of the island or to pick up your rental vehicle. We offer many amenities including off street parking, a refrigerator and microwave as well as coffee pot in every room and a spacious private bath. We also offer beach towels and a cooler. Beach chairs are available. We are only 1.8 miles from beautiful Flamenco Beach and just a 3-minute walk to the grocery store. Should you elect not to rent a car, we are minutes away from a publico (minibus) route, or a 20-minute walk to town. We are on-site year round and look forward to making your vacation relaxing and memorable. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing