We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amaizing peaceful place with very hospitable people”
Review of Villa Boheme

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Culebra
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Boheme
Ranked #6 of 19 Culebra B&B and Inns
Trujillo Alto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amaizing peaceful place with very hospitable people”
Reviewed 17 June 2009

People are very friendly, rooms are clean, wonderful view and freshly painted. Rooms do not have TV, but the kitchen and dinning room have a TV with all the channels your need. I did some fishing right from the dock ,20 feet from my font door. Next door you have the Dinghy Dock, steaks are delisious good salad bar. above the Dinghy Dock you have a gift store and a Kajak, snorkel bike rental. You have a mini market about 2 or 3 minutes walking distance. The town is withing walking distance. I rented an antique Zafari VW 70's convertible, people were taking pictures of the car. It was not a luxury car but i was able to get anywhere in the island, on the road or off the road. Look for Dick and Cathie Rental. They rent bikes, VW cars watch clothes and sell plants amoung others. If you are looking for beautiful beaches you ave to go to Flamenco, Zoni, Soldado, Tamarindo, Melones and brava beach for surfers. Everything was an adventure to remember

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsanti1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    55
    12
    6
    4
See reviews for
31
62
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2009

After paying $140. for an air conditioned efficiency unit with private bath, you can only imagine our surprise at the owner's lack of providing any kind of generated power when power went out on the island. We awoke in a sweatbox with NO WATER for the fully electrical kitchenette, NO SHOWER, no water to even brush our teeth! Requested a partial refund that a.m. only to be told the hotel was not responsible for the power outage! Maybe the owner should explore the possibility of buying a generator to ensure the most basic services to his clientele.

Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank lionsharepr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PR
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2009

Several times on day trips to Culebra I stopped by the Boheme to check out the place, and I always wanted to stay there. Over spring break this year I stayed 1 night with my sister and a friend. What attracted me was the picturesque patio and property and nice location on the edge of town. Shops and restaurants are in walking distance, and the taxis provide transportation to the beach. (You do not need to rent a car unless you are spending several days and want to explore more of the island or if you are in a family group and want to cut the back and forth cost of taxis. ($3 each way per person). The water taxi that took us to Culebrita and even met us at The Boheme's dock. The negatives I encountered at the Boheme were that the beds were not tremendously comfortable, there was no one on duty in the night, and the locks on the doors did not seem very secure although the place seemed safe. I do look forward to the next opportunity to stay at the Boheme, and I would recommend it for anyone who would like a charming, quiet, and convenient location.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrTravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2009

This place is beautiful and right by the ocean with a great view! One of the first things I noticed was the attention to detail - there is a fully equipped communal kitchen, a hammock to lounge in, numerous places to hang out on the patio, and you are very close to all the action in town. Although we ended up getting a room that did NOT have a view of the ocean (Room 2) because everything else was booked, it was not a problem since we spent most of our time outside anyways. The room was basic, but included everything we needed - incl. a small fridge and a small, open closet. The room was very clean and we got fresh towels every day. The bathroom was small (with shower), but sufficient. The A/C was pretty loud, but we got used to it (the noise helped us to tune out the sound of chickens across the street at four in the morning ;-) We were glad to have found this place and highly recommend it! Also, the Dinghy Dock restaurant is right next door and has some GREAT food at reasonable prices! We ended up eating at least one meal there every day (we stayed for five days).

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graelien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2009

I would definitely stay here again. We had a great time, the room was neat and clean, and Ginny was super helpful-- she even let us come back the two days later when we weren't even staying with her so that we could keep our bags with while we hiked nearby..

  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B0xster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2009

My husband and I stayed in Room 4 at Villa Boheme for 2 nights in late December. The bedspread smelled like pee, there were no screens on the window -- with the window open, anyone could easily come into our room; it didn't feel safe to keep the window open at night, which was disappointing because the breezes were so nice -- and the heavy curtain/blind was unsightly.

When we arrived, our bathroom was flooded but it was taken care of promptly and was not a problem during our stay. Everything was really run down feeling in the room.

HOWEVER, the rest of the place was beautiful. The patio is great with a breathtaking view. The communal kitchen is very nice and clean. Right next door is a seafood restaurant, gift shop and snorkel/bike rental shop and a grocery store is on the corner. It's a short walk to Mamacitas (great place, but we had to wait almost an hour for our food!) and the ferry. We endured the room but will go for something a little nicer next time.

  • Liked — location, patio, kitchen, front desk service
  • Disliked — smelly bedspread
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank coqui08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston, ma
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2008

Surprised by how clean the room was! Just expecting something more "rustic" i guess, but it was as clean as any other hotel, may even more! We had room #11 w/balcony and kitchenette. Next time we probably wouldn't get a room w/ kitchenette (ate out mostly), but the balcony was great! Nice to have some privacy outside. The main deck is amazing. Location good, walked to/from ferry, restaurants, well, i guess that's all that's there!

Highly recommended!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Stupid sea birds...what can you do??
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimberlee g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culebra
1.0 mi away
Club Seabourne
Club Seabourne
#1 of 4 in Culebra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
13.9 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
15.8 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
18.7 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palmetto Guesthouse
Palmetto Guesthouse
#5 of 19 in Culebra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Boheme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Boheme

Property: Villa Boheme
Address: 368 Calle Fulladosa, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Culebra
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Culebra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Boheme is a charming guest house located in Culebra, a small secluded island located 17 miles east of Puerto Rico and 13 miles west of St. Thomas. Enjoy some of the most pristine beaches in the Caribbean as well as many fine native restaurants within walking distance. Relax in our hammocks on the patio and enjoy the view of Ensenada Honda Bay and explore the beauty of the island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Boheme Hotel Culebra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing