We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located Guest House”
Review of Posada la Hamaca

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Culebra
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Posada la Hamaca
Ranked #8 of 20 Culebra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

super friendly and well kept place. Ricardo eho works there is really nice and also Pelusa Dad who is there on weekends. It has AC (kind of old so it doesnt work 100% good), hot water, wi-fi id really slow but works, towels, sheet and toilet paper are really good quality. The kitchen is complete has everything yoy might need. I woukd stay again of i have too.
Something to consider is that is located in the middle of the city, so next to it you have mamacita that is a bar restaurant and also hostel, that has lound music until 12:00AM on weekends. So if you have light sleep you should not stay in unit #8
It also has a very nice patio with water view to the channel.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ntte c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

This place is 100% horrible! Unbelievably rude. Believe it or not we were refused service. Let me explain. In our many travels have we ever encountered such a lack of professionalism and cleanliness. Although it may sound unbelievable the actual owner of this house like motel was extremely rude with us. When we arrived we asked him if we can see the room as we had heard negative reviews on it upon going upstairs to look at the room we found that it was very dirty. We politely asked if he could change the sheets and at that moment he said you cannot stay here and refused to give us a room. We asked him to please allow us to stay as we had nowhere to stay that night and still he refused in spite of us being with several women.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Imperial98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Our stay in Culebra was short but very nice. We stayed at this posada one night and the best thing of all was the host. He entertained my wife, myself, and some tourist waking by with some outstanding guitar playing. He is a "Maestro" in every note he plays. He even showed us a clip on U Tube which was also professional quality. The A/C in the room did not work for a few minutes, and he was able to fix it right away. He had already offered to move us to another room before he managed to fix it. I would stay there again and recommend it to others.
Thanks for the concert.

Room Tip: Host made up for room deficiencies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edgard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We were 4 people in one room with two beds and 2 people in another room across from each other. Rooms 4 and 5, In 3 days that we stayed they were not cleaned, they didn't restock the toilet paper or soaps. They also did not put clean towels and there was sand on my children's bed. It was unpleasant but don't take this to heart. Culebra is still a beautiful island and Posada is in the middle of everything. I would still go back but to a different hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nelson G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

I will start by saying the location is a good short distance walk from the ferry, which in turn is what makes the place very unpleasant it is on the busy road, the room we were given is number 11 which faces 2 windows to the main road and 2 side windows to the bridge you can hear traffic at all hours of the day and it sounds like you're sleeping on the sidewalk after a couple of days of absolutely no sleep I did some investigating and realized the room has no glass panes, its actually plastic on one (not even plexiglass felt more like shower curtain) and the others have none just some weird metal shutters that won't move because they're stuck from the old paint but do nothing for noise because nothing is sealed and you can hear every conversation out on the road, at our arrival we smelled a foul odor coming from the sink and by the evening it stunk like a dead rat was in the drain I had to stuff bags in the drain to keep the smell out and keep us from throwing up, we had to brush our teeth over the toilet because the bathroom sink stunk so bad, the shower had a big hole at the bottom on the wall with something moldy and gross coming out of it the kids were scared to take showers here and the towels that were in the room were old, stained and falling apart at the ends more like rags, there is a flimsy lamp in the room that is very dusty and broken and the tv is up on a shelf so high it will hurt your neck after a while, house keeping comes only every third day. I think for the money they charge they could at least get better windows and fix the holes on the walls which are not small about 10 inches wide and if the budget doesn't stretch at least place the newer linens in the rooms and keep the rags for beach towels and as far as trying to get out of it good luck with that they charge your card the full amount at the time of reservation which for us was 3 or 4 weeks prior to our stay.

Room Tip: stay away from the side and front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Erica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We stayed there 2 years ago, right before a hurricane! Room was very simple, but you had a fridge, TV, A/C and the owner was very nice and location was perfect. The room was clean.

We were in low season so we got a good deal but there were plenty of mosquitos on the island! Get ready for this!!! It's an amazing place for a couple, we loved each moment of our stay on the island! A much more quiet and adventurous experience than the main island of Puerto Rico. It is really worth renty a jeep and explore the island. We were alone on 2 beaches, imagine! We felt so relaxed and disconnected from the rest of the world.

Room Tip: Go for the second floor. Less insects
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mplove84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

I stayed as part of a group of 6 friends for 2 nights in Room 10 (3 double beds and a kitchen). The room was a little cramped for 6 people, but had everything we needed. The beds were comfortable (one was a futon, but still comfortable). There was a table, stove, counter space, small fridge. Bathroom was small but workable. Clean. We had a door leading to the back patio--our own private sitting area with a gate to the main patio, which is right on the canal; great place to sit in the evening after a day on the beach while we all showered and got ready for dinner. The location is great--right in Dewey, where everything is walking distance, but still quiet for sleeping. Air conditioning worked great in the room.

Apparently they usually only change linens/towels every 3 days, but we asked them to clean our room after our first night there, and they did for us.

Price is right, comfortable sleeping, no complaints!!

Room Tip: Room 10 sleeps 6, has its own door to the patio, and has a kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShiningHalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culebra
1.1 mi away
Club Seabourne
Club Seabourne
#1 of 4 in Culebra
386 reviews
18.3 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
456 reviews
18.6 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,841 reviews
13.8 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
374 reviews
18.2 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#1 of 1 in Esperanza
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada la Hamaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada la Hamaca

Address: Calle Castelar #68 | P.O. Box 388, 00775, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Culebra
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Culebra
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located in the heart of Dewey (Culebra's only town), the main ferry dock is only 3 minutes away (walking distance), the airport and Flamenco Beach are about 15 minutes in a public ride ($2.00 per person), restaurants, grocery stores and the bakery are all within 5 minutes (walking distance). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Posada La Hamaca Hotel Culebra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing