We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant & Clean”
Review of Posada la Hamaca

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Culebra
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Posada la Hamaca
Ranked #8 of 20 Culebra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2009

The hotel is located in town and is well maintained, clean and pleasant. The outdoor terrace by a canal is a nice respite from the street. I will say that if you want to be close to what goes for nightlife on a very quiet and laid back island, this is a good place. Mamacita's, the tourist "hot" spot is next store. This does mean that on Friday & Saturday night till midnight, you will hear music etc from your room. It also means that some of the best restaurant are within easy walking distance. A/C would mitigate the sound issues. Oh...roosters...lol...forget the concept that they wake at sunrise...its usually around 4:30 am. That is an issue probably for ANY hotel in populated areas of the island.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wmpape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2009

We were 4 young professionals on vacation for leisure and we found Posada La Hamaca to be great. The location was perfect, within close proximity to town, the ferry, pan deli and right next door to Mamacita's which had great night time entertainment. The best part of Posada La Hamaca was the patio along tha canal. With ample space to hang out, drink a beer and meet new friends, we spent a great deal of our time on the patio. The guesthouse fits in perfectly with slow paced Culebra and does not offer speedy room service or any like perks, however if that is what you are looking for, Culebra likely is not for you. The guesthouse attendant, who was sometimes difficult to locate, was a great help and made sure we had everything we needed. If you are looking for a place in Culebra, I would reccommend Posada La Hamaca. Just beware, some things are beyond the guest house control and come with the Island, such as a small cockaroach we saw scurry through our room or the one the size of my hand on the patio! This is not reflective of the guesthouse at all but is rather what you must expect while vacationing to Culebra. I would stay here again without any hesitation, I actually plan on it when I make it back to Culebra someday!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank komalw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2009

We were looking for a clean, affordable place to stay in Culebra that was close to all Dewey had to offer and this fit the bill perfectly. It is close to the ferry dock. We walked, with our luggage, in less than 5 minutes. Everything Dewey has to offer is within easy walking distance, including a bakery which is a good place to start your day with coffee and breakfast. There is also an artisan living close by. Check his place out as he has some great work. Walk to the ferry dock, get a taxi and $3.00 and 10 minutes later you're at Flamenco Beach. The bar next door (Mamacita's) is a busy, outdoor place. Every Saturday, a trio plays drums from 9:00 to 11:00 p.m. (very good). Other than that, we never heard any 'partying' from there. The roosters, however, will make sure you don't sleep in too late. We spent 4 nights here and would certainly do it again for an even longer period of time.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bowerfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2009

Found this place online, saw some good reviews so went ahead and booked it. Hotel is located in the main town of the Culebra island and fairly easy to get to. it's a small island anyway and pretty hard to get lost there. This guest house offers nothing more than a small, clean place to stay for budget travelers so don't expect too much from them. We flew in early afternoon but when we arrived the guest house there was nobody there at the reception desk. So we had to drive around the island (with our luggages) to kill some time and found out later that the guy wasn't at his desk because he thought we're coming in by ferry so he took some time off before the next scheduled ferry arrives. Nice friendly guy tho. We got a room upstairs, small but clean enough, with TV and a refrigerator to put your groceries (and you'll want to get some drinks and snacks since there's no room service..obviously) and private bathroom/shower as well as A/C. There's a common area in the back that has some tables, chairs, and even BBQ grills, and we utilized the common deck area at night to do some readings while enjoying the breeze, it was quit nice. There's free wireless internet available. They also have snorkel gears available for rental.

There's a busy bar/restaurant next door called mamacita's, and at night the noise can be annoying, even with all your windows closed. This is in my opinion a major downside of this guest house especially if you're there to relax but not partying. Also this guesthouse is not close to any beach so you'll need to find a way to get around, either car rental or bikes or something. But at the same time that means you can walk to a number or restaurants.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Triad_Rookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2009

We went to Culebra with a group of teenagers and we stayed in their biggest room. It was very comfortable and had great space. The balcony had access to their deck which was perfect for teenagers and adults hanging out. Their live music next door, great for partying. The location was stupendous, it was in the center of everything.... gift shops, bakery, supermarket and restaurants. Roosters give you a warm good morning which is great for starting the day at 6:00 am this way you can have a great sunny day at the beach. Too bad the weekend had to end!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BikerRVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2009

This was our second trip to Culebra - an amazing choice for an affordable Caribbean vacation. We spent 4 nights at Posada La Hamaca in one of the back rooms overlooking the canal. For a budget choice the accommodations were perfectly fine, albeit slightly lacking in charm. The room was clean, the TV (with satellite) worked and the fridge and beach towels were welcome. There is also a nice shared patio out back with chairs and tables, while the town location is very convenient for restaurants and the grocery store. The staff were all very friendly, competent and responsive.

The main downside was the unbelievable noise level that was more appropriate to a hotel in Times Square than a far-flung island. First, we could hear every drum beat from the weekend parties at Mamacita's (thankfully these get shut down at 11pm). In the mornings we were woken up at 5:30 am by a family of roosters, followed shortly by a convoy of heavy trucks driving over the bridge. I am a very heavy sleeper and believe me - this was EXTREMELY noisy and continued all morning. Things might be better if you stay in a street facing room rather than facing the canal, but I'm not sure of that. Unfortunately there is nothing much that the owners can do about this (except maybe install proper windows instead of shutters), but if you are looking for a restful night's sleep on your vacation you should think twice about staying here. Certainly we would not stay here again for this reason.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank etb2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2009

The Posada la Hamaco is a fantastic and quaint option in Culebra. The location is ideal as the hotel is situated right in between the dingy dock and Mamacitas (great bar options), is less than a five minute walk from Susies (great restaurant) and the main ferry dock, and is basically within a walk to anything within Dewey. Adam at the front desk is very helpful and willing to help in any way he can. The rooms were small, but clean and sufficient for the price. I would highly recommend this spot and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elks42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culebra
1.1 mi away
Club Seabourne
Club Seabourne
#1 of 4 in Culebra
386 reviews
18.3 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
456 reviews
18.6 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,842 reviews
13.8 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
374 reviews
18.2 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#1 of 1 in Esperanza
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada la Hamaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada la Hamaca

Address: Calle Castelar #68 | P.O. Box 388, 00775, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Culebra
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Culebra
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located in the heart of Dewey (Culebra's only town), the main ferry dock is only 3 minutes away (walking distance), the airport and Flamenco Beach are about 15 minutes in a public ride ($2.00 per person), restaurants, grocery stores and the bakery are all within 5 minutes (walking distance). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Posada La Hamaca Hotel Culebra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing