We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Place to Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Culebra
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Ensenada Waterfront Guesthouse
Ranked #9 of 19 Culebra B&B and Inns
Dorado, Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Nice Place to Stay”
Reviewed 9 June 2010

My family and I stay at the Grande Room. It was clean and spacious. In the kitchen you have a beatiful view to the Waterfront at the dock. The livingroom was big and comfortable. The room have a bathroom and a king bed with clean towels.
We have a wonderfull weekend at Casa Ensenada. We went to the Flamenco beach all day and in the night stay at the terrace in the dock to relax and use the kayak. We went to eat at Dinghy Dock. We recommend Casa Ensenada Waterfront to stay and have a nice weekend.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria147322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    27
    4
    4
    4
See reviews for
15
30
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2010

I am not good at writing reviews but I will just list the things I love about this down.

- Price is affordable
- Has a beautiful dock for chilling.
- Easily walkable from Airport and Dock
- Near to the eating places
- Has good facilities, like kitchen etc.
- FREE Kayak.
- Bed is comfortable
- Free Internet (not the fastest but works. :) )
- Got snorkeling gear ( first come first serve )
- Along the publico route. Can ask the publico to drop you at the front door
- Good Security
- Homely Feeling.

Only thing is that you got to keep the mosquitoes out. But they provide insect repellant. It is tropical after all.

Didn't put pictures because have myself or my gf inside.

Definitely try the food at "Dinghy Dock" out.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickYeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moran, Wyoming
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2010

We rented the smallest room and felt it was a fair deal. It is not the ritziest place ever, but it is far from the worst place I have ever stayed. The staff was friendly and the locals were helpful. We walked all over the island (beautiful beaches!) and enjoyed this central location. The island is hot and has mosquitoes (which is expected) but the AC worked great and keeping the door shut kept the mosquitoes out of the room. The TV worked great for what little time we did spend in the room. And sitting out on the dock before boarding the ferry back was very relaxing and has great views. If I were returning to the island, I would stay at Casa Ensenada again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WYphotographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casablanca, Morocco
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2010

This place was so disappointing. It is just a dump - there is no other way to describe it. The terrific view on their website (from a kitchen window that overlooks the water) is from the grande unit, and it was not available to rent because that's where the owner lives. The two units you have to choose from have absolutely no view; they feel like maid's quarters. The photos are extremely misleading. Staying here just about ruined our trip. Also, the boats that they rent out are in serious disrepair.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 333eloise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casaensenada, owner at Casa Ensenada Waterfront Guesthouse, responded to this review, 30 April 2010
The specific complaints by this guest are misleading and wrong. We support that position with the following:
• Regarding the views and photos on the Casa Ensenada website. The views from the rooms are stated correctly: Grande has “Harbor Views”, Estudio has “Partial Harbor views”, and no view is listed for the Pequeño unit. The photos of amenities and conditions at the guesthouse are factual and accurate
• Regarding availability of the rental units. Because of generally high demand, reservations should be made well in advance to book the unit desired. We were staying in the Grande unit for a few days during a traditionally slow rental period, mid May. We do not “live” there.
• Regarding rental boats. We do not rent out boats. There were no rental boats at the dock. We have no idea what the guest is referring to.

The guest did not mention any complaints to us at the time of the rental. Curiously, they did not post their review until a year later.

The guest’s negative opinions are refuted best by reviews from other guests, as posted at the Casa Ensenada website.

Butch and Jackie Pendergast
Owners of Casa Ensenada Waterfront Guesthouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montauk
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2010

We arrived and we're not 'super fancy' people...but we were so disappointed. The screens were filthy - the bed was BROKEN (they fixed it the next day) my favorite sarong was stolen, the room was far smaller than it looked on line, and we cannot figure out how this place got decent reviews in FODORS guide. We absolutely loved Culebra but would never recommend Casa Ensenada. The 'waterfront' view in the morning was pleasant enough but that's about all this place has going for it.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MontaukTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casaensenada, Owner at Casa Ensenada Waterfront Guesthouse, responded to this review, 22 May 2010
The specific complaints by this guest are misleading and wrong. We support that position with the following:
• Guest rooms, including the windows and screens, are cleaned regularly. The guest is wrong; the screens were clean.
• Unfortunately, the bed frame was broken and it was not apparent to the cleaning staff. The bed was fixed promptly the next morning. We refunded one day’s rental and the guests said that was a satisfactory resolution.
• Photos of amenities and conditions at the guesthouse are factual and accurate.
• As with lodging facilities in general, Casa Ensenada guests are advised, in writing, to keep their rooms locked. Our room cleaning personal did not take anything from the room. We believe the loss did not happen at Casa Ensenada.

The guest’s negative opinions are refuted best by reviews from other guests, as posted at the Casa Ensenada website.

Butch and Jackie Pendergast
Owners of Casa Ensenada Waterfront Guesthouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston, VA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2009

Casa Ensenada was awful. We stayed 4 nights (3 in the grande suite and 1 night in the studio), and paid way too much. The furniture is shabby, the linens and towels are threadbare, the bathroom in the grande suite flooded every time we took a shower, and the mosquitoes are everywhere. My daughter had over 50 bites on her legs, and that was with Deet! We spent every night battling them, even after we complained to the managers. We finally realized they were swarming in the front hall, and stopped going thru the front door to try and keep them out of our room. The place is dirty and clearly has not had a good cleaning in a long time. It is for sale, so we suspect that the owners do not want to put any money into it. There are not a lot of places to stay in Culebra, but avoid this place. We compared notes with fellow travelers who were staying in the other suite and they agreed with us. It is a dump.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DogloverRestonVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
butchpen, owner at Casa Ensenada Waterfront Guesthouse, responded to this review, 6 January 2010
As the owners of Casa Ensenada, we feel that this guest’s comments are unwarranted, for the reasons given below.

In reply to the guest’s comments:
- The guest rooms, including the furniture, are cleaned before each rental. The furniture, though not new, is not shabby.
- Similarly, the linens and towels, though not new, are not threadbare. We replace linens and towels way before they are worn out.
- A leak recently started in the piping inside the shower wall of the Grande guest room. We are awaiting a repairman to fix it. In the meantime there is the note posted in the bathroom about the problem. We apologize for the leak.
- Occasionally, mosquitoes can be a problem in Culebra; it is a tropical island!. However, if the room doors are kept closed, there is no problem of significance. All guests are requested to read the Guest Information, which clearly states “Mosquitoes may come into rooms through doors left open". In addition, when Culebra tourists discover bites on their legs, invariably the bites are due to no-see-ums at the beach, not to mosquitoes. No-see-um bites do not show up until hours after they occur.
- Even though Casa Ensenada is for sale, we regularly inspect and test equipment and facilities and promptly replace or repair anything that does not operate properly.

We encourage prospective guests to go to Casa Ensenada’s website and read the reviews submitted by former guests. Those show that Casa Ensenada has an excellent reputation.

Butch and Jackie Pendergast
Owners of Casa Ensenada Waterfront Guesthouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2009

Casa Ensenada is well located, but it is hard to not to be well located in the small town of Dewy on Culebra.The rooms are kinda okay, with a little kitchen, but not special. Apart from that, it hard to deal with the mosquitoes. The price is a bit high for what you get (you do not get all that much). But it is an okay place to stay if you are looking for a place without any frills.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culebra
1.4 mi away
Club Seabourne
Club Seabourne
#1 of 4 in Culebra
382 reviews
13.9 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
370 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mamacitas Guest House
Mamacitas Guest House
#10 of 19 in Culebra
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Palmetto Guesthouse
Palmetto Guesthouse
#4 of 19 in Culebra
104 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Robinson
Casa Robinson
#6 of 19 in Culebra
137 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hillbay View Villas
Hillbay View Villas
#8 of 19 in Culebra
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Ensenada Waterfront Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Ensenada Waterfront Guesthouse

Property: Casa Ensenada Waterfront Guesthouse
Address: Calle Escudero 142 | Dewey, 00775, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Culebra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Culebra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbor waterfront. In town, walk to shops, restaurants, groceries. 3 Units, sleeping 2-6 each (13 total), have separate entrances, kitchen facilities, private bathroom, A/C, satellite TV. Wifi. Patio, chaise lounge, dining table, gas grill. Free kayaks. Free boat dockage with water and electricity. Beach towels and coolers. On taxi route to world-famous Flamenco Beach. Superb snorkeling and scuba diving. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Ensenada Waterfront Guesthouse Hotel Culebra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing