We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Guy is nice but needs to step it up a little”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Kokomo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Kokomo
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Culebra
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Guy is nice but needs to step it up a little”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Small older rooms . The owner is cool , but disorganized . Small island so they don't have to try and it shows , if you can boook any thing else will work , but don't expect much

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mrmotomike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    15
    25
    22
    35
See reviews for
14
41
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

The hotel is located above a bar by the ferry terminal. Easy to find, but very noisy. In the morning people were load & at night the bar was load. The bed felt like a rock. When we arrived at 4pm, it took us an hour to find the manager & another 3 hours to get the room cleaned.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank MotoGoobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Culebra hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Do not stay here unless nowhere else to stay, I doubt you won't find another place any time of the year. There are plenty of great places for even less money with good accomodations and excellent customer service. All the qualities that this place lacks. Beds are uncomfortable, like sleeping on cement, construction going on all day starting at 7am every day. Noone to provide room keys unless you find the Housekeeping lady and ask for assistance (very good lady that is not paid enough to handle all the problems in this so called hotel). It is just an insult to hotels, and even posadas in the island and to the customers. It should be fined by agencies. Internet parties promoting their service should reconsider eliminating it from their system e.g (booking.com). We had reservations, fully paid, for 6 days inthis place but decided to leave after the third day and pay for a real hotel in the beautiful island of Culebra. I decided to meet with owner to give feedback and he did not care about it. His answer was "OK", off course the room was fully paid, he only cared about the money, no customer satisfaction.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Eralrebeca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookings, OR
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

I can give it two stars simply because it's across the street from the ferry dock which makes getting a ticket for the early ferry a bit easier. We stayed here our last night simply because our primary hotel was already full. Manager seemed a bit perturbed that we interrupted his dinner with our arrival; the room could not be kept cool by the tiny air conditioner; bar below rocked well into the night . . . There is potential here: the room obviously had some recent remodeling done, but management would do better to get better mattresses and pay attention to the little things like: how about a 5-cent bar of soap for the bathroom? We spent all our time on the island out and about, so room quality is not a priority for us, but we couldn't get a decent night's rest here....

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BruinPlayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

If you are arriving to Culebra by ferry, you will love Kokomo's location. It is just across the street from the ferry's deck. The rooms are nothing fancy, but just reasonable for their price.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank MMB01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2011

The best thing about this hotel is its location across from the ferry terminal on Culebra. You can always get a taxi and can walk to restaurants. The worst thing is the noise from the bar downstairs and the noisy, lame air-conditioning makes it impossible to sleep on weekends. This hotel is in need of a MAJOR make-over. Windows don't close, furniture is stained and gross, miss-matching toilet seats if you can even believe that. It's the CHEAPEST place on the island for a reason. Everyone on the island felt sorry for us when we told them we were staying here. Don't do it.

We arrived at mid-day only to find that NO hotel staff there to check us in until 4pm! We lost a half day. There is NO room service. This hotel totally DOESNT CARE. Beware - you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank philhelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

Hard old beds with a plastic cover that make them really uncomfortable. Sketchy power so the AC sometimes goes out. Water barely warm. Bar downstairs is ridiculously, uncomfortably, MASSIVELY LOUD with KARAOKE on weekends until 3:30 a.m. We couldn't even sleep with special earplugs in. Bar owners are totally inconsiderate. And there's no one there at the Kokomo to help you if you stay there. No desk, no owner, no accountability, no help. Never, ever stay here, ever. Ever.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank kmross1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culebra
1.2 mi away
Club Seabourne
Club Seabourne
#1 of 4 in Culebra
373 reviews
13.8 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
359 reviews
22.1 mi away
The Fajardo Inn
The Fajardo Inn
#3 of 3 in Fajardo
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,766 reviews
18.6 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
554 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mamacitas Guest House
Mamacitas Guest House
#14 of 19 in Culebra
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kokomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kokomo

Property: Hotel Kokomo
Address: At the Ferry Terminal | Dewey, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Culebra
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Culebra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Kokomo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel in Culebra! Right across from the ferry you are in the center of town. You can walk to a couple of beaches and take a minivan to Flamenco Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Kokomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kokomo Hotel Culebra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing