We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Staff and Beautiful Area of the World”
Review of Hotel Kokomo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Kokomo
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Culebra
Northampton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Staff and Beautiful Area of the World”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

The staff at this hotel are excellent. They were more than generous with us, we felt very comfortable and welcomed.

I believe the owners recently bought the place and they are making renovations to the building. It's looking good! Sorry, no pictures..

The location is great and the island is absolutely amazing. If you're looking for budget accommodations this is a very good option, plus they can help arrange snorkeling, boat trips, etc for an affordable price. We went snorkeling!

Thanks for everything Mike!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClaireNovotny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    17
    26
    22
    35
See reviews for
16
42
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

It's not nice, but its a cheap bed...the music is loud until late at night... but that's fine with me, I sleep better with music playing and there are no TV's in the room to listen to otherwise. Its a cheap place to stay, warm showers, right off the ferry, good location. Minimal accommodations. Office staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

I stayed there with a friend out of necesscity because we missed the last ferry of the day. The room was tiny but it was clean and cheap. The manager was friendly although I got the impression that he realized didn't have to exert much effort because his establishment is generally the last option for most folks. The fact that the hotel is directly across from the ferry is definitely a big plus because it can be a nightmare to get tickets if you don't get in line early enough. Overall, it was a decent experience for the amout of money we paid (which was about $50) but like most of the other reviewers wrote, make sure you have your own soap.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Small older rooms . The owner is cool , but disorganized . Small island so they don't have to try and it shows , if you can boook any thing else will work , but don't expect much

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mrmotomike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Culebra hotels

Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

The hotel is located above a bar by the ferry terminal. Easy to find, but very noisy. In the morning people were load & at night the bar was load. The bed felt like a rock. When we arrived at 4pm, it took us an hour to find the manager & another 3 hours to get the room cleaned.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank MotoGoobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Do not stay here unless nowhere else to stay, I doubt you won't find another place any time of the year. There are plenty of great places for even less money with good accomodations and excellent customer service. All the qualities that this place lacks. Beds are uncomfortable, like sleeping on cement, construction going on all day starting at 7am every day. Noone to provide room keys unless you find the Housekeeping lady and ask for assistance (very good lady that is not paid enough to handle all the problems in this so called hotel). It is just an insult to hotels, and even posadas in the island and to the customers. It should be fined by agencies. Internet parties promoting their service should reconsider eliminating it from their system e.g (booking.com). We had reservations, fully paid, for 6 days inthis place but decided to leave after the third day and pay for a real hotel in the beautiful island of Culebra. I decided to meet with owner to give feedback and he did not care about it. His answer was "OK", off course the room was fully paid, he only cared about the money, no customer satisfaction.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Eralrebeca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookings, OR
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

I can give it two stars simply because it's across the street from the ferry dock which makes getting a ticket for the early ferry a bit easier. We stayed here our last night simply because our primary hotel was already full. Manager seemed a bit perturbed that we interrupted his dinner with our arrival; the room could not be kept cool by the tiny air conditioner; bar below rocked well into the night . . . There is potential here: the room obviously had some recent remodeling done, but management would do better to get better mattresses and pay attention to the little things like: how about a 5-cent bar of soap for the bathroom? We spent all our time on the island out and about, so room quality is not a priority for us, but we couldn't get a decent night's rest here....

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BruinPlayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culebra
1.2 mi away
Club Seabourne
Club Seabourne
#1 of 4 in Culebra
386 reviews
15.7 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,832 reviews
13.8 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
567 reviews
18.3 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
454 reviews
22.1 mi away
The Fajardo Inn
The Fajardo Inn
#3 of 4 in Fajardo
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kokomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kokomo

Property: Hotel Kokomo
Address: At the Ferry Terminal | Dewey, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Culebra
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Culebra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Kokomo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel in Culebra! Right across from the ferry you are in the center of town. You can walk to a couple of beaches and take a minivan to Flamenco Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Kokomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kokomo Hotel Culebra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing