We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep your expectations low”
Review of Hotel Kokomo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Kokomo
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Culebra
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Keep your expectations low”
Reviewed 18 August 2012

My husband and I are very low key and so we had fun at this hotel. The bar is right below the hotel and was hopping when we were there. It's clearly not very nice and pretty much just a bed to sleep in but if you're up for partying with the locals and don't need a 5 star resort this is a fun place. It's a good location for everything including the ferry.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    17
    26
    22
    35
See reviews for
16
42
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Was told to "read the terms & conditions" when I complained about the bar kareoke blaring directly below my room. This and the door slamming, which can be felt through the plastic mattress cover, goes on until at least 2am. Beautiful island, but this place ruined and otherwise lovely experience. Whatever you dont stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jpock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Culebra hotels

Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I read reviews before my trip but l had no choice but to stay there because l couldn't find another hotel, me and my husband got to culebra and the hotel is right across the ferry which is great but if you can get closer to flamenco beach is better because there's no nice beaches around the ferry, anyway l did the check in, and this really sketchy american was on charge of the hotel, to me she looked like a crack head, l got the key and got into the room, it was big l stayed at the "turtle room #8" l have to say it was clean, there's AC but it was very weird that both of the windows did not have a crystal only this moskito net and shutters, so the AC air escaped from the windows and the room was never cold, the hotel has very strict rules, if you loose the towel you pay 80.00, if you move the bed you pay 80.00, if you loose the keys you pay 200.00, if you loose the blankets 100.00 so ridiculous like if they worth that... the decor was horrible, l think the hotel was super price for what it was, did not inlcude any meal, but the worst of it the only reason l ask people not to stay there is because: YOU WON'T SLEEP!!! our first night l had a nightmare about being bombed in Iraq, the reason why was because people keep slamming the doors all night, the doors apparently won't close unless you slam them, and they are metal doors so imagine the noise, and every weekday they will have music at the bar downstairs until midnight, but on the weekends until 4:30 there's karaoke and it gets louder and louder, there was also a dog barking all day, there's no soundproof of any type, and there's also no TV, the island is so boring after sunset there's nothing to do, the food is horrible also, so my advise if you stay there bring your ipad, and earplugs.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank asnaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2012

I stayed here Friday thru Sunday. I should first say I slept great on Sunday, no noise that I know of, but also I was exhausted from the very little sleep I got over weekend. There have karaoke downstairs on Fri and Sat and it was almost hard to believe how loud it was in my room. It went really late at night. I bought earplugs the next day and STILL could hear the singing. To top it off once you get to sleep, the bar two doors down brings out some mega speakers and blasts music off an on throughout the day, so no nap can be had. It was pretty awful.
The mattress was covered in plastic with the sheet over this, pretty weird and undesirable.
It is the only cheap option I found on the island, maybe their more expensive rooms are better?

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dls99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

The staff at this hotel are excellent. They were more than generous with us, we felt very comfortable and welcomed.

I believe the owners recently bought the place and they are making renovations to the building. It's looking good! Sorry, no pictures..

The location is great and the island is absolutely amazing. If you're looking for budget accommodations this is a very good option, plus they can help arrange snorkeling, boat trips, etc for an affordable price. We went snorkeling!

Thanks for everything Mike!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClaireNovotny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

It's not nice, but its a cheap bed...the music is loud until late at night... but that's fine with me, I sleep better with music playing and there are no TV's in the room to listen to otherwise. Its a cheap place to stay, warm showers, right off the ferry, good location. Minimal accommodations. Office staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

I stayed there with a friend out of necesscity because we missed the last ferry of the day. The room was tiny but it was clean and cheap. The manager was friendly although I got the impression that he realized didn't have to exert much effort because his establishment is generally the last option for most folks. The fact that the hotel is directly across from the ferry is definitely a big plus because it can be a nightmare to get tickets if you don't get in line early enough. Overall, it was a decent experience for the amout of money we paid (which was about $50) but like most of the other reviewers wrote, make sure you have your own soap.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culebra
1.2 mi away
Club Seabourne
Club Seabourne
#1 of 4 in Culebra
386 reviews
15.7 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,830 reviews
13.8 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
567 reviews
22.1 mi away
The Fajardo Inn
The Fajardo Inn
#3 of 4 in Fajardo
992 reviews
18.3 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kokomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kokomo

Property: Hotel Kokomo
Address: At the Ferry Terminal | Dewey, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Culebra
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Culebra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Kokomo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel in Culebra! Right across from the ferry you are in the center of town. You can walk to a couple of beaches and take a minivan to Flamenco Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Kokomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kokomo Hotel Culebra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing