We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Culebra
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Flamenco Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Just returned from a quick three-night visit. We had an outstanding, problem-free visit. The one-bedroom first-floor apartment was clean with no issues whatsoever. Yes, this Villa is minimalist with no TVs and wifi, but that is exactly what we (and others contemplating a stay here) should want and expect. The breeze in early February was delightful so we only used the A/C at night for a few hours.

The kitchen is fully equipped and functional. With the Colmado Milka grocery story and the kitchen there are few inconveniences on sleepy Culebra.

Max and Esmeralda are delightful and very prideful of their guests and their investment. They were present in the mornings and afternoons and willing to help with any questions about the island.

I write this review hesitantly because you want islands and accommodations like these to be a secret forever.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    9
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
25
43
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holland, PA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This was our second trip to Culebra and our first stay at Villa Flamenco Beach. For us this was the perfect place. It's right on the beach about 30 yards from the water. It could not have been better. If you are looking for an all-inclusive or a luxury hotel, VFB is not for you. But if you want a place that is tranquil and clean, an efficiency with a small kitchen for doing your own cooking, an available grill on the grounds, a balcony with a marvelous view of one of the ten best beaches in the world, friendly hosts and guests and a comfortable bed, you can not do better that VFB. We loved walking the length of the beach each morning (about 1.5 miles RT) and swimming at the eastern end of the beach where the waves were calmer and the coral formations great for snorkeling. But if playing in the waves are your thing, Flamenco Beach has plenty of that too.
Max and Esmerelda made our stay most comfortable. They welcomed us warmly, helped us schlep our luggage to our room, showed us the ropes including the best way to drag the lounge chairs out to the beach.
Since this is an efficiency you have to straighten up after yourself but you do get cleaning twice a week.
VFB is at the end of a 1/4 mile unpaved road so we recommend renting a jeep for your stay. Some folks (younger than us) got by with rented golf carts but the jeeps are a lot more comfortable. Be warned, the police do not have to enforce speed limits on Culebra because the potholes do it for them. For instance the road to Tamarindo Beach, where we saw both sea turtles and rays, looks like the surface of the moon.
We will return for more stays on Culebra and when we do, there is no where else we will stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor front have a fabulous view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

You can't ask for a better experience than staying a few feet from one of the most beautiful beaches in the world and having Juan and Violeta as your hosts. My wife and I cannot say enough good things about them. They greeted us warmly and made us feel like family. Violeta was so kind that she gave us ingredients from their fridge and pantry for us to cook breakfast! I have recommended this pace to all my friends and relatives. No need to look around where to stay in Culebra next time we visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

So what else could be said about our wonderful hosts, Juan and Violeta Aponte that has not already been captured in the essence of the previous reviews. Put simply….”If you want a slice of heaven spend some time at Villa Flamenco Beach with the Aponte’s…it is by far the closest thing to being in heaven! “

Now I’ve been to Puerto Rico many times throughout the years but never to this Pearl of an island known as Culebra. Our amazing journey started out with a trip to Fajardo to park the car ($5/day) and take the fast ferry ride (50 mins) over to Culebra. We were there on a Wednesday morning at around 7am, the ticket booth opened at 7:30am and we got our roundtrip tickets to return on Friday ($4.50 R/T per person, $1 Seniors age 60, $0 over age 70). The ferry was on schedule (9am) and the ride was nice, smooth, and scenic.

The island is picturesque and the life-style here is simple, serene, and sexy all in one. From beautiful sunrises, to warm sunny days, to amazing sunsets, to moonlit bays…there is no better place to relax, be with great company, and revitalize those inner emotions often stunted by the day to day, doggy-dog world we put ourselves into. My wife and I woke up one morning at 7am to catch some early sun and just relax….we were the only people on the beach for what seemed like an eternity...loved it!!

Looking forward to your continued success as managers of this “home” that you have cultured for us all to enjoy! Love you guys! Yes, we are definitely planning on more frequent visits.

Luis & Nidia

Room Tip: Room #3 was the one we stayed in and it was perfect with an oceanfront view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Vacationing with Juan (the most interesting man on the island) and Violeta is staying with family; the kind of family that is very helpful but not up in your business.

The location is priceless. The pictures don't even do it justice.

You might want to rent a car for convenience. We thought we'd cab between Playa Flamenco and town (seems close enough to walk, but it's not). If you go to the ferry dock, you can get a ride to Playa Flamenco easily. Pick ups from Playa Flameco into town were not as simple as we'd hoped. We finally found a reliable driver, but honestly it was as easy to just start walking. Some nice local is always heading into town. There's parking at Villa Flamenco. Cab drivers some times seem to confuse Villa Flamenco with the place next-door. It's probably just easier for them to turn around in the lot next door since Juan keeps a chain across the driveway of Villa Flamenco.

The grounds are neatly and lovingly kept. Plenty of space, fresh water for rinsing suits and snorkeling gear, hammocks, and beach chairs. We left our clothes drying on the line and our gear dripping outside our room overnight. Just a laid back vibe -- probably because it is one of the few places on the island where you do not get great cell reception. Don't worry, Juan knows exactly where to stand to get the best reception for each service provider. He also has wifi, which is funny because when it comes to the island he and Violetta are better sources than the internet. We had a couple of small problems of our own making and random questions that Juan and Violetta solved for us.

Our room wasn't fancy but it was spacious, clean, and the bedroom faced the beach. The A/C cranked and there are also fans in the room. The kitchen had everything we needed, including some basics like salt and pepper. We grocery shopped in town and cooked in our room most of the time; there was also a grill but we didn't avail ourselves. Juan and Violeta know what service, restaurant, or (liquor) store are open or closed on which days. If you forget or run out of something, they might have a spare or a loaner.

You don't always find such beautiful people in beautiful places.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HeatherZen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Me and my husband George spend nine wonderful days at Villa Flamenco!
We needed a vacation like that for a long time and we found just the right place.
Juan and Violetta were are hosts. Most amazing people ever!!! We had dinner together almost every night exchanging Puerto Rican Greek and Bulgarian recipes :)
Have to admit that leaving from there felt like leaving our new family.
The location couldn't be more magical. The perfect spot at a perfect beach! White sand, crystal clear water and the changing colors of the Caribbean sea. A piece of the actual Paradise!!!
The room was spacious, very clean with a nice kitchen and a patio that faces the beach. We could fall into sleep listening to the perfect harmony of the waves...
It's been almost 3 weeks since we're back in our daily routine but we're still relaxed and mellow :D
If you're simple, down to earth, don't care for luxurious all inclusive resorts and looking for something REAL and MAGIC at the same time, Villa Flamenco is the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pavlina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I visited Villa Flamenco Beach with my wife and son in May this year. We decided on this place because it was located on the best beach on the island and seemed to have true hidden gem appeal. The reviews that we read also seem to be legitimate and sincere. Prior to visiting the island, I spoke with the couple that runs the hotel and they were very helpful, very warm, and very inviting. Our experience from the time that we arrived until the time that we left was nothing short of amazing. While this is not an ideal hotel for a party crowd, it absolutely is the best spot for couples individuals and families that are looking to get away in a relaxing environment mere footsteps away from one of the most gorgeous beaches I've ever seen. The couple that ran the hotel was particularly helpful and they treated my family like their own from the moment that we arrived including having games laid out because they knew that we were bringing a child. Would I stay here again? In a heartbeat.

Frankly, after visiting the island, I don't think I can recommend any of the other hotels that I saw with the exception of the hotel next to this one. We heard a couple of anecdotal horror stories about hotels that were in town, so unless you are an extreme budget traveler or don't want to get a car for some reason, I would recommend that you stay away from those based on conversations that I had. Also be aware that while people say that you can walk or ride a bike to Flamenco Beach, I so would not recommend it. Not unless you actually enjoy walking that type of distance and hot humid weather. The road is not a particularly pretty one, there are mosquitoes and various farm animals littering the side of the road, and that "pond" that is just south of Flamenco Beach is particularly unappealing.

In my opinion, after having visited the island, the two hotels that are on Flamenco Beach are the only places on the island to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fyvekatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culebra
3.1 mi away
Club Seabourne
Club Seabourne
#1 of 4 in Culebra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
14.6 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
16.4 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Casa Robinson
Casa Robinson
#6 of 19 in Culebra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
1.5 mi away
Palmetto Guesthouse
Palmetto Guesthouse
#5 of 19 in Culebra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mamacitas Guest House
Mamacitas Guest House
#10 of 19 in Culebra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Flamenco Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Flamenco Beach

Property: Villa Flamenco Beach
Address: Flamenco Beach | PO Box 806, 00775, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Culebra
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Culebra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to VILLA FLAMENCO BEACH, an idyllic place on the island of Culebra, Puerto Rico, custom made for your next vacation.Whether you enjoy hiking, bicycling, fishing, bird watching, snorkeling or just relaxing on the most beautiful sugary white sand beach in the islands, Villa Flamenco Beach is the perfect destination. It doesn't get much better than this, anywhere.Villa Flamenco Beach is a small, comfortable, casual and friendly light housekeeping beachfront villa, offering a total of six fully furnished and air-conditioned apartments with Wi-Fi, all with direct access to the radiant turquoise waters and white sand. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Flamenco Beach Hotel Culebra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing