We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved even more the 2nd time around!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Culebra
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Flamenco Beach
Tarpon Springs, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved even more the 2nd time around!”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We discovered Villa Flamenco Beach in spring of 2012 while on our first day trip to the island. In 2013 we returned to the island and stayed at VFB for 11 nights when the summer managers Juan and Violeta were there. The rooms are nicely appointed, uncluttered, quiet and very clean...the perfect beach cottages just steps from the #3 best beach in the world. Juan and Violeta were the perfect hosts providing us with tips and valuable information about Culebra. Within days we considered them friends and enjoyed sharing cocktails with them in the evenings. Eleven days disappeared far too quickly and we sadly said goodbye to our new friends vowing to return the next year. We've just returned from our 2nd stay, this time for 15 nights. What a special thing thing to be greeted with hugs by true friends! Again, the days slipped away way too fast. This year we noticed significant improvements to the rooms and grounds. Juan and Violeta are always striving to make Villa Flamenco the best it can be. So nice that when you make suggestions about ways to improve the property, they are completely taken to heart...love the tropical linens, new bathroom mirror and dishes! This year we shared more quality time with Juan and Violeta and consider this special couple family.

If you are looking for the Ritz and 5 star amenities this island is not for you. If you are a beach lover and are appreciative of the simple comforts of home with a view of the most beautiful water you'll ever lay your eyes on, this is the place for you!

Counting down the days until we return to Villa Flamenco next year!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Roxanne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    10
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
28
43
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spanaway, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We chose Villa Flamenco Beach once again for our last trip to Culebra for Spring Break. This time we were greeted by Max and Esmeralda. We got our favorite apartment (#1) as usual clean and ready. Max and Esmeralda always so attentive to their guest needs. And as I have checked around the island, there is no place better than VFB in location, comfort and value. We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lauranet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Max and Esmeralda were wonderful hosts and their place was paradise; it doesn't hurt that the most amazing beach is mere steps from their property. If you you looking for a great place to escape the real world, this is the place to do it (they do have wifi though) Our host were very attentive to our needs and made us feel like family and we will be returning. That you for an amazing experience!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Troy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madill, Oklahoma, United States
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

The sand is great for soaking up the sun an the beach is large. There is some coral for snorkeling off the the right side. On the far left there are old tanks. We did see a stingray close to the beach!! There are public bathrooms and food vendors, which made the beach even better!!!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Just returned from a quick three-night visit. We had an outstanding, problem-free visit. The one-bedroom first-floor apartment was clean with no issues whatsoever. Yes, this Villa is minimalist with no TVs and wifi, but that is exactly what we (and others contemplating a stay here) should want and expect. The breeze in early February was delightful so we only used the A/C at night for a few hours.

The kitchen is fully equipped and functional. With the Colmado Milka grocery story and the kitchen there are few inconveniences on sleepy Culebra.

Max and Esmeralda are delightful and very prideful of their guests and their investment. They were present in the mornings and afternoons and willing to help with any questions about the island.

I write this review hesitantly because you want islands and accommodations like these to be a secret forever.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, PA
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This was our second trip to Culebra and our first stay at Villa Flamenco Beach. For us this was the perfect place. It's right on the beach about 30 yards from the water. It could not have been better. If you are looking for an all-inclusive or a luxury hotel, VFB is not for you. But if you want a place that is tranquil and clean, an efficiency with a small kitchen for doing your own cooking, an available grill on the grounds, a balcony with a marvelous view of one of the ten best beaches in the world, friendly hosts and guests and a comfortable bed, you can not do better that VFB. We loved walking the length of the beach each morning (about 1.5 miles RT) and swimming at the eastern end of the beach where the waves were calmer and the coral formations great for snorkeling. But if playing in the waves are your thing, Flamenco Beach has plenty of that too.
Max and Esmerelda made our stay most comfortable. They welcomed us warmly, helped us schlep our luggage to our room, showed us the ropes including the best way to drag the lounge chairs out to the beach.
Since this is an efficiency you have to straighten up after yourself but you do get cleaning twice a week.
VFB is at the end of a 1/4 mile unpaved road so we recommend renting a jeep for your stay. Some folks (younger than us) got by with rented golf carts but the jeeps are a lot more comfortable. Be warned, the police do not have to enforce speed limits on Culebra because the potholes do it for them. For instance the road to Tamarindo Beach, where we saw both sea turtles and rays, looks like the surface of the moon.
We will return for more stays on Culebra and when we do, there is no where else we will stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor front have a fabulous view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

You can't ask for a better experience than staying a few feet from one of the most beautiful beaches in the world and having Juan and Violeta as your hosts. My wife and I cannot say enough good things about them. They greeted us warmly and made us feel like family. Violeta was so kind that she gave us ingredients from their fridge and pantry for us to cook breakfast! I have recommended this pace to all my friends and relatives. No need to look around where to stay in Culebra next time we visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culebra
3.1 mi away
Club Seabourne
Club Seabourne
#1 of 4 in Culebra
383 reviews
16.4 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,816 reviews
14.6 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
566 reviews
19.2 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
451 reviews
1.7 mi away
Casa Robinson
Casa Robinson
#6 of 19 in Culebra
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Flamenco Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Flamenco Beach

Property: Villa Flamenco Beach
Address: Flamenco Beach | PO Box 806, 00775, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Culebra
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Culebra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to VILLA FLAMENCO BEACH, an idyllic place on the island of Culebra, Puerto Rico, custom made for your next vacation.Whether you enjoy hiking, bicycling, fishing, bird watching, snorkeling or just relaxing on the most beautiful sugary white sand beach in the islands, Villa Flamenco Beach is the perfect destination. It doesn't get much better than this, anywhere.Villa Flamenco Beach is a small, comfortable, casual and friendly light housekeeping beachfront villa, offering a total of six fully furnished and air-conditioned apartments with Wi-Fi, all with direct access to the radiant turquoise waters and white sand. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Flamenco Beach Hotel Culebra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing