We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Entertaining dining experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gio by Gio Gastro Bar - CLOSED

Gio by Gio Gastro Bar
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: Caribbean, American, International, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Entertaining dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We came into Culebra on a late ferry and were hopeful the Bahia Marina would still have a restaurant open. I think the driver called ahead to ask Gio to stay open as only he and his assistant Cisco were the only people there. Still, late in the night, Gio prepared us a dinner to remember, with a grilled grouper, amazing homemade rice and stuffed plantain. He cooked and told stories of his adventures while we watched grill/pool side. Incredible experience!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cbrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    18
    8
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

There's a new chef at Club Seaborne's restaurant and the restaurant is now called Guava.
Four of us ate there and, for whatever reason, it wasn't crowded. The food was very good, the service excellent, the atmosphere and décor very nice. And the price of the food was close to par with other restaurants on the island. Definitely worth giving it a try.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ron5544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culebra, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Didn't order.. didn't eat... didn't receive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

I have never stayed at the hotel, but I have eaten at the restaurant. The manager charged me for a fruit bowl that I did not order... did not consume...and never saw.

He insisted that I pay for what the server said I did not recieve. He was abusive and I never returned.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greenebette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Culebra!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We are frequent visitors of Culebra, and this is our favorite restaurant in the island! We have tried all the other restaurants, and always come back to this great place. With the recent acquisition of chef Maira Isabel, is even more wonderful. The food is simply delicious, from the appetizers, the main entree and dessert! The staff always welcome us with genuine smiles and joy, and their service is amazing. Manager Carlos is always friendly and very attentive, he always make sure their people is taking good care of us. Chef Maira Isabel is also friendly and take time to stop in every table and make sure everyone is enjoying her food. The ambiance is beautiful, comfortable and romantic. They have a convenient dock in front of the hotel for those coming on a boat. This is definitely our favorite place to eat in Culebra!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank prtraveler2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fab Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

What a gem! Adored the food (hummus was fantastic) and enjoyed eating at the outdoor bar. A bit out of the way but worth getting in the car to drive there.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TXND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gio by Gio Gastro Bar also viewed

Culebra, Puerto Rico
Culebra, Puerto Rico
 
Culebra, Puerto Rico
 
Culebra, Puerto Rico
Culebra, Puerto Rico
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing