We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than I expected!”
Review of Sea Breeze Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sea Breeze Hotel
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

After reading other reviews I was worried. Our villa was booked through home away. It had a full kitchenette, comfy bed, pool front balcony with amazing views. Being an experienced traveler I get the expectations from a "resort". we learned this place in under new management. They have sold units to private buyers and still have some as part of the hotel. Private villas have more amenities than the hotel. We stayed here during off season so it was like we had this place to ourselves! The employees were very nice and helpful. However the restaurant never opened during the week we were there. The cafeteria was open and the food was great and very reasonable compared to other places on the island.

Overall this place has great potential!!!! Needs some work but the grounds, pool and feel of the island make it worth it!

The dogs are not savages, yes there are cats but they don't bother you. The roosters, hens and peacocks are awesome!

If you don't rent a car taxi ride to town or beaches is $5 each way.

Dec to new year is very busy, summer is also a very busy time just FYI!

Will definitely return ☀️

Stayed: January 2014
4  Thank vmt318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

After reading so many bad reviews. The only thing I expected to happen was a weekend of terror.
But my experience was pretty good.
We had booked two rooms.
One was delivered on time, clean, everything in order, and complete.
The second room was delivered with 3 hours of being late, the air conditioning was not working. The problem was solved in less than 30 minutes. We were given more time to check out.
 

The surroundings clean and tidy place.

The restaurant is not attractive, we avoid completely.

PRO:
spacious rooms with fridge microwave and sink.
rooms with balcony with sea view
Area pools and gazebos. clean and spacious

WITH:
no service TV / Cable
Restaurant opens late, expensive and not attractive luece
need to improve customer service at the front desk.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vegalegarreta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

If I pay for a hotel/resort i expect to receive great service,clean rooms with basic stuff like a iron. When i arrive the restaurant was close because it open at 6pm the only thing that was open was a coffee shop (cafeteria) with greasie food. The people that work there doesnt know what service means. The only thing good is the view. Very disapointed!

Stayed: January 2014
2  Thank Lorena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed there for 3 nights. The room views are simply spectacular!! The Caribbean Sea is right off your balcony! I stayed in a Junior Suite and the room was extremely comfortable and spacious, it included AC and Satellite TV. It had a separate bedroom with a queen bed set, and the family room had a futon sofa, a dining table, and a kitchenette with a small fridge, a convection microwave and mini stove, all very handy for preparing meals. The bathroom is huge! It has two sinks and closet space. The room also had a balcony with and outdoor lounge area, including a love seat, and dining table, great for having a romantic candlelit dinner. The hotel restaurant was very nice, has a great lobster dinner!

The pool area is great! It has a big infinity pool, a jacuzzi and a swim up bar. There’s also a lounge area next to the check in counter. Is overlooks Ensenada Bay, and has a bar and live entertainment on the weekends.

This place is beautiful and peaceful. We had a great mini vacay!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank benitezalexandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Stay away from this place! Crumbling concrete; Mould everywhere; Dirty; Broken appliances; Corroded plumbing; Hairs of previous occupants in bathroom; Wet, sticky floors; Soiled, stained sofa's; White powder on table(?); Chipped, damaged furniture - need I go on? The sympathetic staff knows their company is going over the cliff and are powerless. Pity; the view is to die for. With competent management and some capital it could perhaps be elevated from Soviet-era drabness but as it is, it is totally unacceptable. Oh yes, they charged us $294 per night. Of course we declined the honor and left - still fighting the aftermath and fall-out.......

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eduard646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

we did not stay at this hotel however we did go to eat at their restaurant. once we arrived at the restaurant the server greeted us by saying "you can seat if you want but i am all alone". we sat down since we were told it was so nice and good. After waiting an hour and 40 minutes for our food, each plate came out separately and the system was not working when we wanted to pay.
Not good!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

If you like "rustic" accommodations, "camaraderie" with your neighbors, the thrill of driving obstacle courses littered with cars, boulders and potholes, and a basic "dog eat dog (chicken)" experience, then this is the place for you. Oh, and don't forget about the very welcoming Carlos! He doesn't get to the front desk much but you can find him chugging beers at the ferry landing with the young women who disembark.
This place was truly an experience, and one I would recommend that NO ONE repeat! The ferry was delayed several hours and we arrived late on a Wednesday. Carlos did show up at the desk that night (we were prepaid, so he had to!) but the only room available had no working TV. We were tired so took it. He didn't mention that it had not been cleaned! There were "clean" sheets, but no blankets! Note: Blankets apparently are provided at the discretion of unit owners, and can be purchased for $29.99 in the (dirty) gift shop. But, think ahead, the shop is open only occasionally.
An injured cat slept on the balcony furniture. We realized the next day why he slept there...Hundreds of roaming chickens, roosters with evil spurs, peacocks and hens, and dogs everywhere.
We requested a clean room, and were assigned one LATE in the evening the next day. Carlos did tell us we would get a $100 credit, but never made good on that promise.We were offered NO help in moving our belongings up the steep hill to the netherworld up there.
This is where the original resort concept of this complex fell apart. These hillside units are obviously occupied by permanent residents, whose belongings litter the lawns, who provide ambient background noise, and whose dogs provide carnivore "entertainment."
This room still had no working lamps, and sheets too small for the beds. The TV worked, but,
I guess someone forgot that maybe some of us don't speak Spanish because the Direct TV offerings did not include English shows.
I have included pictures of the attractive landscaping, including too many cars (no designated parking), numerous uncovered trash cans that attracted cats (see photo), Structural components of the buildings sticking out of the ground, and of course, the results of the HUNT.
Early one morning watched 2 very large dogs roaming the grounds, chasing something around the cars. After hearing loud squawking, I found the dogs behind a neighboring building, ripping the chicken apart.
This was our second visit to Culebra, a very favorite spot for us. Next time, I think even camping would be preferable to the Sea Breeze Hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LADB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culebra
1 mi away
Club Seabourne
Club Seabourne
#1 of 4 in Culebra
389 reviews
23.8 mi away
The Fajardo Inn
The Fajardo Inn
#3 of 4 in Fajardo
1,003 reviews
19.1 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 5 in Isla de Vieques
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
640 reviews
22.9 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
577 reviews
20.7 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Breeze Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Breeze Hotel

Address: Costa Bonita Beach Resort Carr. 250 Km. 1.8, 00775, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Culebra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Culebra
Price Range: £141 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Breeze Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a beautiful condo-hotel built in 2004 and opened as an Lodging in October 2011 with ocean view suites from virtually every room. We are most commonly known for the incredible ocean views and By far, the best Air conditioning. The suites managed by the hotel have the highest standards in cleanliness, maintenance and furnishing. We are a green oriented hotel and due to the lack of resources in the island we offer bi-daily housekeeping, but we offer daily houskeeping for those who request at check in. All our room are prepared for up to 4 people with a queen bed and a sofa bed. Suites are also equiped with satelite tv, dining table for 2, microwave, refridgerator and private balcony with ocean views. Come visit us and please do not confuse staying with us for our neighbor property Costa bonita villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sea Breeze Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing