We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful awful awful! Don't stay here”
Review of Sea Breeze Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sea Breeze Hotel
Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awful awful awful! Don't stay here”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The room was disgusting. It had not been cleaned - floor had hair balls from previous guests tucked into each corner. Closet door was leaning on the frame and if you weren't careful it would fall onto you as you walked by to go to the bathroom. There were no hand towels, wash clothes, no coffee maker, no cups or ice bucket...for being a 3 star hotel it was more like a hostel. The bed was frightening - there were no matress pads, the sheets did not fit so every time you moved, they came off and you found yourself lying directly on the dirty matress. The couch in the room was stained with who knows what...so gross you didn't want to sit down. The pillows were so bad (flat, gross, dirty) that we ended up rolling up our spare clothes and used them as pillows. There were no blankets in the room, the air conditioner was a wall mounted unit over the bed with bright blue lights that shown into your eyes as you tried to sleep. There were no light bulbs in the lamps. Just a terrible room and the service was awful. I asked numerous times for the room to be cleaned and issues addressed -- they pretended at that point to not understand English. It was pathetic and awful. The restaurant was closed and had been for a very long time when we arrived (April 2014), the "snack bar" was dirty, gross and questionable. The "swim up bar" was never staffed while we were there. The on site rental office for kayaks, paddle boards and other gear was just as bad -- they said they offer tours and lessons. They don't. When we asked about getting the paddle boards to a beach that we could use them at, we were told they did not do transportation of the gear (we were told to rent a golf cart to get around the island) and were less than helpful. We ended up using a different group that did accommodate the transport of the boards and were FRIENDLY! I would never go back to Sea Breeze. Also, you can do Culebra in a day...no need to spend multiple days there especially if you are trapped at Sea Breeze.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greenthumgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    61
    72
    77
    125
See reviews for
150
113
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Verona
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

1) unfriendly employer
2) room plenty of Mosquitos
3 dirty linen on the bed we found a ticket
4) wifi doesn't work
5) bar and restaurant are close except the pool bar and the shop
6) the sofa bed is without linen we have to pray something to have
7) they not clean our room but they enter
8) our showers leaks water on the floor we ask for one towels the ask that the rules hotel permit only one towel for person
9) we ask at 9:40 for pool towels they want the key room for guarantee and they ask they not avaible and we have to wait 30-40 minute.
10 we ask to reserve a restaurant in culebra they don't call and after my insistence they give us a phone to call
11) we send a claim mail to general manager but nobody answer.
12) the private beach is plenty of mood
Is better sleep in the car or camping at playa flamenco

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Alessio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Culebra hotels

Vega Baja, Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Worst place to stay in culebra where do I even begin!!!!???!!! Rooms are terribly fithly with stains on the sheets and pillow cases totally disgusting. The phone numbers they have listed you can't reach anyone we called 5 different numbers to no avail the worst service I've ever seen in my life. I rooms power went out for no reason on a clear beautiful day just went out and my wife's pregnant and we have children so it was terrible hot. The rooms in general are disgusting also they had roaches crawling out of the fridge when we opened it. The lick on our room was so hard to open we busted the key trying to get in our room we finally had to climb over the balcony to get in so we could get to our stuff. If you like disgusting dirty rooms and terrible lazy service then this is where you want to stay.

Room Tip: Don't stay here at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Okay, where do I begin.

This place is a nightmare to find.
1) Nobody answers the phone. If you call the no. listed on the website/confirmation email, it goes straight to voicemail. They gave us an emergency no. when we reached the hotel, even that went to voicemail. And of course, nobody calls back.
2) There are ABSOLUTELY no directions to this hotel; even Navigation/Maps doesn't show it. We roamed around entire Culebra to find this hotel. Eventually, some vacationers guided us to it. They knew because they stayed there too.

Once you reach the hotel, you'll realize that it is a good set up but it isn't like full functioning. There is 1 person at front desk and you don't see a lot of help staff.

The property is huge and fairly deserted; people are either in their rooms or out on the beaches.

There is no concept of room service or support staff so you're all on your own. And remember, there's no one you can reach at any of the numbers.

The rooms themselves are very well thought off and have everything you'd need. But since there isn't a room service, if something doesn't work well, good luck figuring it out!

There is no restaurant.

I understand that it is a tiny island and finding staff might be difficult so I don't blame them entirely.

It is also on the opposite end of the island (from Flamenco).

But, if you're traveling with senior citizens/children or might need room service/front desk assistance, this isn't the place for you. I don't know any better hotels there though.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank libranof1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2014

The place was a total caos. The room was not clean and it seems that the last time someone cleaned it was probably 6 months before. Bed sheets were ripped, curtains will not open. Slidding door was held with a screw, because the locks did not work. at the kiddies' pool (inside the pool) there was one if tge side lights laying at the bottom of it. It seems like the place could be an awesome place... But right now it is not worth the money.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Czoema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PR
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Place is nice, but there is a lot of opportunities to improve! Poor service, housekeeping and organization. Broken chairs/tables and kitchen equipment are seen in the public areas. People are friendly and they are doing the best to make feel customers comfortable.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Payussi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I don't have anything nice to say about his place, unfortunately - other than, there were lovely staff at the front desk and in the restaurant. Perhaps this was an actual resort several decades ago. Now run down and dysfunctional. No one at the bar - which has an awesome view. Mosquitos without screens, we made mosquito hunting a sport (for about 2 hours) before we could go to sleep. Had to use deet spray anyway, which I normally avoid at all costs. Shame on us though, for not looking at the map and seeing that the resort is actually located on the appropriately named... Mosquito Bay. The slippery waxy floor never dried, the towels were small, bed was basic but acceptable. We paid an absolute fortune. We were happy it was available however, since the other place we had booked had made an error in our booking. In conclusion, we would never stay here again. It does have potential to be much better, with significant investment.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sohappyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culebra
1.0 mi away
Club Seabourne
Club Seabourne
#1 of 4 in Culebra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
14.7 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
16.7 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mamacitas Guest House
Mamacitas Guest House
#10 of 19 in Culebra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
1.6 mi away
Casa Robinson
Casa Robinson
#6 of 19 in Culebra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Breeze Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Breeze Hotel

Property: Sea Breeze Hotel
Address: Costa Bonita Beach Resort Carr. 250 Km. 1.8, 00775, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Culebra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Culebra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Breeze Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a beautiful condo-hotel built in 2004 and opened as an Lodging in October 2011 with ocean view suites from virtually every room. We are most commonly known for the incredible ocean views and By far, the best Air conditioning. The suites managed by the hotel have the highest standards in cleanliness, maintenance and furnishing. We are a green oriented hotel and due to the lack of resources in the island we offer bi-daily housekeeping, but we offer daily houskeeping for those who request at check in. All our room are prepared for up to 4 people with a queen bed and a sofa bed. Suites are also equiped with satelite tv, dining table for 2, microwave, refridgerator and private balcony with ocean views. Come visit us and please do not confuse staying with us for our neighbor property Costa bonita villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sea Breeze Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing