We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's not as bad as I had read”
Review of Sea Breeze Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sea Breeze Hotel
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Let me first give you my impression of the concept. As I observed they are Villas which are privately owned and rented through Sea Breeze, which is why the reviews are so inconsistent. Upon arrival the Front desk attendant by no means allowed us to check-in early, even though the policy says you can register and use the facilities while your room is ready. The room was clean and everything was decent (2pillows, 1 sheet). We went on a weekday and knew the hotel restaurant wasn’t open so we brought some food and drinks in a cooler. Our room had a cooler, microwave and electric stove, so cooking is allowed, it all depends on the owner of your villa, not the hotel itself. There is a cafeteria on premises and serves from 7:00am - 6:00pm, decent food at an average price. The pool is nice with a swim up bar. About the bugs, we are in Puerto Rico, which is tropic/Caribbean, There will be bugs and mosquitos, bring some off or bug repellent. A must is to eat early if you’re eating out most restaurant kitchens close by 7:00-8:00pm.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (404)
There are newer reviews for Sea Breeze Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

The only bad thing was too many anoying cats. The room service was terrible. The sofa bed was bad and we got only 1 extra pillow and no extra towels. Getting to the lobby and pool was ok but returning to the room was a long and steep uphill walk. The small diner had great food. Overall the hotel is beautiful but needs better administration.2014

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louis0472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This place is looking to get all the money it can until it closes down. The first impression when we arrived where buildings full of mold. Further on, after we arrived to the room, some more mold could be seen on the walls and picture frames around had the glass broken, or no glass or there where stained. Seriously I could live with that, and a broken sliding door with no access to the balcony and a non functional water heater, what I couldn't take was that the bed frame was broken! Our bed was tilted to the right the whole stay, didn't matter to notify it... they didn't do anything about it. Besides... service is awful. This place ain't worth the hotel price.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xavierfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I just came back today from this hotel and I am furious because I was totally deceived by the hotel description in all the web sites that describes the hotel features. There is no longer any restaurant open: No formal restaurant and pool side bar. There is a very rustic cafeteria that you cannot make a charge to your room because is sub-rented. And the cafeteria-store conditions are terrible. There is no housekeeping during you staying. If you need a towel, you have to go to front desk because there is no phone in front desk! I asked for small towels the first day, and I am still waiting for them. The room was dirty, the bed clothes were old and smelled terrible. The hotel entrance street looks like the moon with the holes and there is no light at night. The only positive thing is the view. Please, do not select this hotel to stay NEVER!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nilda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stay during the weekend May 2 - 4, 2014.

Ferry transportation

The transportation to the island is the WORST ever. Don't expect to get to the island on a certain time since tickets are not sold in advance and locals have sell and priority boarding. There were tourists waiting as early as 5 am and got the chance to board on the very last ferry 5 pm.
Awful boarding process, people complaining, screaming.... Explore flying to the island first and avoid the ferry.

Transportation
Carlos Jeep rental. We did the golf car option. Although it took longer to move from one place to another, it was a good experience. Roads are in poor conditions, lights on the road are non existent, so you will find yourself driving in a very dark road full of holes in a golf car. Safety tip: choose a jeep instead.

Food
Have dinner early. Few restaurants are open for dinner. Tried to dine in two different restaurants in the same night, they were full. When ask @ Mamacitas Rest for a table we were rudely treated. They say they had a very long line and were closed for the night. Ended up at Willys Pizza where the order of one large pizza took over 45 minutes to be ready. The reason? They dropped our order ticket to the floor.

Hotel
Sea Breeze @ Culebra. Nice property. Room showed signs of being clean on last minute. As we arrived we notice the kitchen sink was full of dirty water. Maintenance service was requested and they fix the problem on time. No restaurant on site.

Flamenco beach

The beach was beautiful. Umbrellas and chairs rentals available. Plenty of areas to eat.

Although the beach is beautiful and it is a must see, it is not worth it to go through all the ferry transportation and food issues to see the island.

Locals do their best but it seems they don't receive much help from the tourist department on the main island.
Bring your own food and travel on a plane will be your best deal.

Anyways the best part of our trip? My travel friends...we did the best out of it and had such a great time together.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iafrpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The room was disgusting. It had not been cleaned - floor had hair balls from previous guests tucked into each corner. Closet door was leaning on the frame and if you weren't careful it would fall onto you as you walked by to go to the bathroom. There were no hand towels, wash clothes, no coffee maker, no cups or ice bucket...for being a 3 star hotel it was more like a hostel. The bed was frightening - there were no matress pads, the sheets did not fit so every time you moved, they came off and you found yourself lying directly on the dirty matress. The couch in the room was stained with who knows what...so gross you didn't want to sit down. The pillows were so bad (flat, gross, dirty) that we ended up rolling up our spare clothes and used them as pillows. There were no blankets in the room, the air conditioner was a wall mounted unit over the bed with bright blue lights that shown into your eyes as you tried to sleep. There were no light bulbs in the lamps. Just a terrible room and the service was awful. I asked numerous times for the room to be cleaned and issues addressed -- they pretended at that point to not understand English. It was pathetic and awful. The restaurant was closed and had been for a very long time when we arrived (April 2014), the "snack bar" was dirty, gross and questionable. The "swim up bar" was never staffed while we were there. The on site rental office for kayaks, paddle boards and other gear was just as bad -- they said they offer tours and lessons. They don't. When we asked about getting the paddle boards to a beach that we could use them at, we were told they did not do transportation of the gear (we were told to rent a golf cart to get around the island) and were less than helpful. We ended up using a different group that did accommodate the transport of the boards and were FRIENDLY! I would never go back to Sea Breeze. Also, you can do Culebra in a day...no need to spend multiple days there especially if you are trapped at Sea Breeze.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greenthumgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

1) unfriendly employer
2) room plenty of Mosquitos
3 dirty linen on the bed we found a ticket
4) wifi doesn't work
5) bar and restaurant are close except the pool bar and the shop
6) the sofa bed is without linen we have to pray something to have
7) they not clean our room but they enter
8) our showers leaks water on the floor we ask for one towels the ask that the rules hotel permit only one towel for person
9) we ask at 9:40 for pool towels they want the key room for guarantee and they ask they not avaible and we have to wait 30-40 minute.
10 we ask to reserve a restaurant in culebra they don't call and after my insistence they give us a phone to call
11) we send a claim mail to general manager but nobody answer.
12) the private beach is plenty of mood
Is better sleep in the car or camping at playa flamenco

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Alessio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culebra
1.0 mi away
Club Seabourne
Club Seabourne
#1 of 4 in Culebra
386 reviews
16.7 mi away
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,840 reviews
19.1 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Mamacitas Guest House
Mamacitas Guest House
#10 of 20 in Culebra
108 reviews
1.6 mi away
Casa Robinson
Casa Robinson
#6 of 20 in Culebra
137 reviews
23.5 mi away
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Breeze Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Breeze Hotel

Address: Costa Bonita Beach Resort Carr. 250 Km. 1.8, 00775, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Culebra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Culebra
Price Range: £128 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Breeze Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a beautiful condo-hotel built in 2004 and opened as an Lodging in October 2011 with ocean view suites from virtually every room. We are most commonly known for the incredible ocean views and By far, the best Air conditioning. The suites managed by the hotel have the highest standards in cleanliness, maintenance and furnishing. We are a green oriented hotel and due to the lack of resources in the island we offer bi-daily housekeeping, but we offer daily houskeeping for those who request at check in. All our room are prepared for up to 4 people with a queen bed and a sofa bed. Suites are also equiped with satelite tv, dining table for 2, microwave, refridgerator and private balcony with ocean views. Come visit us and please do not confuse staying with us for our neighbor property Costa bonita villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sea Breeze Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing