We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It can't be called an hotel!!”
Review of Sea Breeze Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sea Breeze Hotel
Reviewed 13 July 2014

By the begining, we received a welcome e-mail in which describes all the amenities of the "Hotel", among them a restaurant("Lobster House" with a water tank with fresh lobster). At our arrival, the lobby looks dirty, seems like an abandoned construction and so the check-in counter which looks like a maintenance porch with an air conditioning unit, boxes,dirt,etc. the front desk person seems to be a handyman and not a front desk operator. When we asked for the Lobster House restaurant, it was told by the person at the counter that is not in operation. The tank used for the "fresh" lobster was empty with garbage in the lobby area. My wife and I separated two rooms (due to our family number) and one that was in the first floor, did not has a door lock at the balcony. The bed clothes were dirty (footprint), there were no towel rack in the bathroom, the closed was dirty and the door does not function, the blower does not exists(only the blower base on the wall). The second room at the second level, shows the same bad cleaning, the refrigerator had rotten food inside it (but it was cold inside), the room smells to mold. When walking between the building, sewer odors were present and cockroaches were observed in the stairs during the night. Open electrical boxes for the air conditioning units exposed to the public outside the buildings. We were informed that a breakfast was served in the morning but with what we see, we prefer to go to the town area. Next day morning, we walk downstairs the main lobby to the pool area and found a cat eating cat dry food served at the floor ( I think it was the pest control). i described my stay with cynicism because I consider it as a fraud when you see the internet site and the confirmation e-mail describing the "amenities" of the supposed "Hotel". Our stay was in a weekday, with no controlled access, but by Thursday, it began to be operative for weekends only as told by the security persons at the main entrance. It seems to be an abandoned project with potential to be restored due to its view but at the moment, you stay at your own risk. We found better places in Culebra to stay, but we will not "bite the hook" again. Recommendation to owners: Prepare the buildings one-by-one to a hotel category. I am sure that people will be available to pay a little bit more for a "hotel service"; by the other way, please don't call it a hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Humberto C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

Beautiful view! Nice very seclusive location. We loved the pool and the rooms are well equipped with microwave, small refrigerator, and tv. They have a small shop that sells food until 5pm.
The villas are on the very far end of the island. So, you need to rent a car or be willing to pay $5-7 each trip to town. It doesn't have a restaurant. The showr curtain was filthy, and it needs overall maintenance.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Before arriving to the hotel I was a little scared due to the bad reviews I've read but honestly I loved the place and had a great time here. I stayed in early May with my boyfriend as a romantic getaway, the hotel is a little far from the ferry but we rented a golf car and that was not a problem for us. The location is really nice and the view we had from our room was beautiful. The room was big and had a mini kitchen, the only problem was the shower that all the water came out and wet all the floor. But overall it was good and clean. The pool was big and with a good vibe. It looks like the hotel is going thru some renovations and I would love to go back because I'm pretty sure is going to be one of the best places to stay in Culebra. Can't wait to go back and explore more of the island.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Isisnachelly_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

First you have to understand that this is not a resort, nor a hotel. There are no hotels in Culebra, there are guest and beach houses, etc. You get it. When you arrive Culebra you have to adapt to the location. Remember, you are in paradise and folks live the live relaxed. Rooms are spacious, so was the bathroom. There is a mini fridge on the room. Views are spectacular!

Certainly, this is not a top choice place to stay but it is decent. Good people, and facilities are ok. My only critique is that the folks in the bar are slow. By 9am you should've been ready to rock and roll. I asked for a virgin piña colada and couple of chocolate frapes and they didn't had the ingredients available. The manager had to go look for them. The beer I asked for was cold, and that calmed me down. When we arrived on Friday, pool was closed at 930 for maintenance, yes for regular maintenance, not an accident, scheduled maintenance. They need to work on that. The cafeteria is 10 out of 10. Simon is a great cook and entertainer. They do serve lunch, local food though, great! Be patient, food is cooked when you order, same during breakfast. So make your order, and enjoy the walk around the property. Take pictures and jump in the pool.

In addition, we stayed on a weekend in which Cotto fought Martinez. The hotel promised us that they were going to show the fight; we were fooled. They appear like they were working on it and around 9:30-10pm after buying and consuming beer and drinks they said that they couldn't hook up the fight. We left and went to Happy Landing, right of the Airport and watch the fight.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edwin_Almodovar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

no romm service because we pay for a cheap offer if you want room cervice you need to pay extra the front desck guy he dosent care nothing you talk to him he keep working on the computer no hot water the first day the second day nothing of whater in a motel in puerto rico you get better service i wild neve be back or recomende this place cheq because they ere better plaices i fell like lose the money and ruind ma family vacation but everityng hapen just one time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Javier B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Let me first give you my impression of the concept. As I observed they are Villas which are privately owned and rented through Sea Breeze, which is why the reviews are so inconsistent. Upon arrival the Front desk attendant by no means allowed us to check-in early, even though the policy says you can register and use the facilities while your room is ready. The room was clean and everything was decent (2pillows, 1 sheet). We went on a weekday and knew the hotel restaurant wasn’t open so we brought some food and drinks in a cooler. Our room had a cooler, microwave and electric stove, so cooking is allowed, it all depends on the owner of your villa, not the hotel itself. There is a cafeteria on premises and serves from 7:00am - 6:00pm, decent food at an average price. The pool is nice with a swim up bar. About the bugs, we are in Puerto Rico, which is tropic/Caribbean, There will be bugs and mosquitos, bring some off or bug repellent. A must is to eat early if you’re eating out most restaurant kitchens close by 7:00-8:00pm.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

The only bad thing was too many anoying cats. The room service was terrible. The sofa bed was bad and we got only 1 extra pillow and no extra towels. Getting to the lobby and pool was ok but returning to the room was a long and steep uphill walk. The small diner had great food. Overall the hotel is beautiful but needs better administration.2014

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louis0472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culebra
1 mi away
Club Seabourne
Club Seabourne
#1 of 4 in Culebra
386 reviews
19.5 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
573 reviews
19 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#1 of 1 in Esperanza
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hillbay View Villas
Hillbay View Villas
#6 of 20 in Culebra
29 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mamacitas Guest House
Mamacitas Guest House
#10 of 20 in Culebra
108 reviews
1.6 mi away
Casa Robinson
Casa Robinson
#7 of 20 in Culebra
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Breeze Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Breeze Hotel

Address: Costa Bonita Beach Resort Carr. 250 Km. 1.8, 00775, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Culebra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Culebra
Price Range: £150 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Breeze Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a beautiful condo-hotel built in 2004 and opened as an Lodging in October 2011 with ocean view suites from virtually every room. We are most commonly known for the incredible ocean views and By far, the best Air conditioning. The suites managed by the hotel have the highest standards in cleanliness, maintenance and furnishing. We are a green oriented hotel and due to the lack of resources in the island we offer bi-daily housekeeping, but we offer daily houskeeping for those who request at check in. All our room are prepared for up to 4 people with a queen bed and a sofa bed. Suites are also equiped with satelite tv, dining table for 2, microwave, refridgerator and private balcony with ocean views. Come visit us and please do not confuse staying with us for our neighbor property Costa bonita villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Sea Breeze Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing