We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Culebra gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casita Tropical

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Culebra
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casita Tropical
Ranked #3 of 19 Culebra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Culebra gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

I am so glad I found Molly's place. It is true she will pick you up from the ferry, even though we arrived late on a Sunday. It is a very nice property in a neighborhood, about a mile from town. It is easy to walk to town. Molly is a great help, dropping off at the best snorkeling and beaches. She offers so much down to earth care for her guests. It is like being at a friend's house. We loved meeting the other guests to and sharing meals at Molly's. I think she offers something really unique to her guests, great hospitality and service and tips. Thanks for everything!!!

Room Tip: I liked our room that was sunny and bright. I loved being near the main house with the hammocks for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    35
    7
    6
    0
See reviews for
28
123
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

This is one of the best places that I've ever stayed. Molly picked us up at the ferry, introduced us to a great bar, brought us to the beach in the morning, and more. Great location, within walking distance to the "downtown" area - food stores, gift shops, bars, and the ferry. Long walk to the beaches. Great juice bar across the street. And, after we left for the ferry, she ran back to get my snorkel that I left behind. WOW!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
223 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

This small guesthouse is a blast from the past. Molly has made her home a great little getaway place for a family or solo/couples trying to get the local Puerto Rico experience. This is no Holiday Inn nor is it a fancy B & B. Just a home away from home with all the basic necessities and a little more. The bed was extremely comfortable but the pillows could use an upgrade to match the mattress. Your hostess Molly will help you in any way possible, even with earplugs so you can catch some shut eye.(Noisy cats,dogs and roosters stay up all night partying, like most Puerto Rican locals.....especially on the weekends)
Molly was generous enough to meet us at the ferry at 11:15pm after we were forced to wait til the last ferry from Fajardo at 9:30pm. Mid week would be a better time to go. We went Friday night and left Monday at 1pm. Live and learn. I highly recommend casita tropical.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doctorgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

We spent 4 nights at casita tropicale. The place didn't look like a hotel or B&B place but as a house among others, just bigger wich adds to the island feeling. We had the large efficiency room with a basic kitchen space and it was perfect for the 3 of us as we spent the day outside. The first night, you may be disturbed by the hyperactives roasters, then you get used and you fell as if you've always lived there. This place is lightened by the personnality of it's owner. Molly is an enthusiastic person, with this ability to make the guests gather and have a human interaction. Lots of beach stuff is available such as boards, flotters, cooler, chairs and umbrellas. We used to have a drink on the porche and chat with whoever is there. On our last night, there was no electricity on the island and Molly decided to cook for all her guests. We were 10 persons around the table, with candels and stars. Everyone brought what he could offer, chips, dipping, cheese, beers etc. Molly cooked chicken on the charcoal and rice; delicious! Everyone enjoyed and shared about travel experiences, what a nice evening! This is the kind of experience you can't forget or experience in a fancy impersonal place.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Minamtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

We arrived on Culebra at 5 pm on December 25th and immediately found everyone we talked to, to be friendly and helpful. The security man at the airport made a call for us to Molly and within minues she arrived to pick us up. We checked into our rooms, 2 located at the back of the property with an adjoining screened in porch and facing a dead end road. We found them to be private, rustic, comfortable and contained everything we'd need including coffee makers and a fridge. The kitchen area in the screened in porch included all the supplies to be able to make our own meals.. As there were no restaurants open on the 25th Molly made us a meal that exceeded our expectations, grilled grouper and chicken, a lovely salad and two local vegetable dishes. She even made us a homemade cheesecake similar to a pumpkin, everything was absolutely delicious and we were very happy and satisfied after a long day of travel.
The next day Molly gave us a ride into town to pick up a few things at the grocery store and provided us with a lot of information about the island. We found Molly to be very helpful and informative which added greatly to our stay on the island and has a great deal of snorkel and swimming supplies available to her guests. Through Molly's instructions we were able to swim with the turtles in their natural habitat at Tamarindo Beach without a guide or expensive tour operator. Again, as in other posts, this is in a neighbourhood and you are not insulated from the normal noises that surround it. As in other Carribean islands where I have stayed at similar types of lodging, your early morning alarm clocks are the roosters that are everywhere.
We found Casita Tropical to be good value for the money, close to Flamenco and Tamarindo Beaches. We absolutely loved the island of Culebra, it is safe and remains very untouched and natural. Molly goes above and beyone to make your stay a memorable one. Thank you Molly!

Room Tip: the rooms at the back are the most private and off the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hockeymum11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
142 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

I read the reviews at tripadvisor and booked a room at Casita tropical. The place was really nice. Want to thank Molly for the great experience at the island. She met me at the airport, helped to organize the kayak excursion and tried to make me feel comfortable. There are beach things available at the guesthouse, she also helped to get to the beach in the morning and showed around. It is value for money and very welcoming atmosphere))

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rimma_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head Island, SC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

We stayed at Casita Tropicale over the Christmas Holidays, a busy time in Culebra. Molly picked us up at the airport in her golf cart. The guest house has several options for rooms - we stayed in the two-bedroom unit. It's all very "island style" but adequately clean and stocked.

Don't expect everything to be perfect, but expect to be pleasantly surprised at how hard Molly works to make you happy. She was up at 10pm sorting out a TV problem for us. She even made my friend a homemade birthday cake as a surprise.

The neighborhood is a bit away from the town area, but not too far from Flamenco Beach. Everything is walkable (if you like to walk), but cabs pass by often and will take you to town for $3. You are staying in a local neighborhood so expect to hear the sound of kids, cars, music, dogs and roosters. Across the street one of the neighbors has a little juice stand. The place doesn't look like much, but the juice is fantastic.

All in all we had a wonderful stay in Culebra at the funky Casita Tropicale, though it could never be as wonderful without Molly - she is the jewel in the Culebra sand.

Room Tip: Every room is different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SailRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culebra
1.8 mi away
Club Seabourne
Club Seabourne
#1 of 4 in Culebra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
14.3 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
16.3 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palmetto Guesthouse
Palmetto Guesthouse
#5 of 19 in Culebra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mamacitas Guest House
Mamacitas Guest House
#14 of 19 in Culebra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casita Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casita Tropical

Property: Casita Tropical
Address: 72 Villa Muneco | Bo Resaca, 00775, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Culebra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Culebra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Garden Guesthouse.All first floor units -Two small guest rooms accomodating 2 guests each with, TV, AC, private bath and kitchenette, screened in patio.-One large guest room accomomodating 6 guests with 3 ceiling and 3 floor fans, kitchenette and TV, open air screened in windows. House accomodation with private bathroom, kitchen, livingroom with TV, 2 bedrooms with AC and full beds, up to 5 guests. (Can combine with large efficiency for larger groups) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casita Tropical Hotel Culebra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing