We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tremendous”
Review of Casita Tropical

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Culebra
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casita Tropical
Ranked #3 of 20 Culebra B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We loved the stay. The house super comfortable with everything needed to relax and have fun. The owner Molly is super charming and if you need something is at your service. My daughters loved the pool. We recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waleska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2013

Molly is great! she has a positive always full of happy attitude in which makes everything a positive experience. what i like the most of the villas was the paint in the walls and the private hammock in the villa small house. Everything in the house was clean, there were enough towels, and anything you will need to have a nice day at the flamenco beach in which is the most beautiful beach i ever seen. it was a dream come true! the only thing i did not like and do not have to do with the casita tropical was that Culebra after at 4 p.m. everything is closed. otherwise, the experience in Casita tropical was amazing, cozi and relaxing. If the world was full of people such as Molly the world would be different place.last finally, All room has A/C in which not worried!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Idaliz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Molly is a great host. She went above and beyond to make our short stay great. My girlfriend and I appreciated the personal service and great ideas for activities that Molly suggested and even brought us on. We would stay at the Casita again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank footeking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

It was incredible!! We stay in the large efficency and it was so clean, spacious and cozy. Molly is the greatest host in Culebra, she pick us at the ferry and drove to the beach. We definitely will stay here for the next time. I really recomend Mi Casita Tropical!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amarylis10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I have to admit we visited Casita Tropical because of all the good reviews but we were fortunate to experience it for ourselves. The house is so cozy,clean and there's plenty of fruit trees. It isn't anything fancy but it has everything you need to relax and enjoy your stay. I mean it's amazing how organized she has the guesthouse for people, she provided us with everything we needed. We enjoyed going inside the pool, she even has an outside shower. It gives the feeling of a true beach house! The house isn't too far from the ferry,beaches and town. Overall, the experience was all thanks to Molly. She's a wonderful person, so full of life! She will give you all the motivation you need to go snorkeling even if you think you're unable to and it's your first time. She was the true reason we enjoyed our stay. We hope to visit sometime again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steph A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I am Puerto Rican born and raised. I visited Culebra a while back and had a terrible experience with lodging, so this time I did my research. I also hate the ferry, so i flew. Pricey but worth it. After reading these reviews I decided to give Casita Tropical a try and we we were not disappointed. The reviews are accurate and Molly was a great host. She was there when needed without hovering. We rented a jeep ( would've rented a golf cart but there were 5 of us) and it was nice to be able to get around. It would've been a pain to get around by foot, although Molly would provide transportation to the beach, we wanted to explore the island. So rent something to get around ( bikes even!)

If you are looking for a hotel-like room- service type atmosphere, then don't stay here. But if you are looking for friendly, honest, affordable and clean lodging, that is close to town and the beach, then do it. We rented the house and the large efficiency for 5 of us but would've been ok with just the house (the house looks smaller in the pictures than it really is). It was a great space though, and we were able to have privacy without other guests nearby. The ac in the bedrooms was nice too. There are windows and fans throughout the house as well. You will need ear plugs if you are sensitive to noises from roosters and other night bugs.

It was also nice to have a kitchen for quick meals and we only ate out once a day. Molly is a wealth of information and will tell you where the great snorkel, swim spots, and restaurants are saving you time and tour money.! She even has snorkel gear available for you! I love this little island and plan to return and stay here in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We really had high hopes for this island and even after the ferry was sold out (on a random Monday- so no matter what the locals tell you, show up in Fajardo at 5:30 am. There were at least 3 local families in line behind me who couldn't believe it!) we were not disappointed! Molly was more than great, with adjusting to the missed ferry and picking us up at the airport. She didn't even laugh at us that much for having brought way too much stuff (as usual). Great recommendations on where and when to snorkel, taking us to the beach if she was home, and just providing us laughs and friendly conversation. The room was a homey size, nice comfy mattress, plenty of places to hang wet/salty clothes and a center kitchen with our own mini fridge. Also, after sleeping way too late on our first morning, we had banana bread sitting out waiting for us- delicious. Book here, especially if you are looking to enjoy the island while not spending all your money on a place to sleep. Get a golf cart, not just because it's nice to visit as many beaches as possible, but it's a small island, you're probably not going to be in a hurry, and it was way cheaper than a jeep. Thanks Molly!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma_Scott_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culebra
1.8 mi away
Club Seabourne
Club Seabourne
#1 of 4 in Culebra
386 reviews
18.9 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
456 reviews
16.3 mi away
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
573 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Robinson
Casa Robinson
#6 of 20 in Culebra
137 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mamacitas Guest House
Mamacitas Guest House
#10 of 20 in Culebra
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casita Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casita Tropical

Address: 72 Villa Muneco | Bo Resaca, 00775, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Culebra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Culebra
Price Range: £90 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Garden Guesthouse.All first floor units -Two small guest rooms accomodating 2 guests each with, TV, AC, private bath and kitchenette, screened in patio.-One large guest room accomomodating 6 guests with 3 ceiling and 3 floor fans, kitchenette and TV, open air screened in windows. House accomodation with private bathroom, kitchen, livingroom with TV, 2 bedrooms with AC and full beds, up to 5 guests. (Can combine with large efficiency for larger groups) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casita Tropical Hotel Culebra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing