We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostess with the mostess”
Review of Casita Tropical

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Culebra
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casita Tropical
Ranked #3 of 19 Culebra B&B and Inns
South Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Hostess with the mostess”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

If you choose your vacation lodging to some extent based on the likelihood of interacting with fascinating, nice people, then the Casita Tropical is for you! Molly is an outstanding hostess: friendly, accommodating, and full of useful information (like where to rent a golf cart at half the going rate). And the other guests are frequently a lively mix of ages and backgrounds.

We just returned from nine wonderful days in the Casita, enjoying the very comfortable queen sized bed and the completely equipped kitchen where we cooked most meals. It was nice to have the living room to spread out in, though we didn't even turn on the new looking TV. The only down-side was the noisy roosters, but ear plugs and the fan for white noise made them a non-issue after the first night. When we were disappointed that the restaurant where we wanted to take our friends was closed, Molly offered to host a BBQ on the patio and include them! While we and Molly's other guests contributed a few side dishes, Molly spread out an entire feast that included perfectly grilled Cornish game hens. How can she do something like that while still charging the lowest rental fees on the island?

Room Tip: The Casita, with its two bedrooms, is perfect for a family or larger group; the two smaller efficien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    36
    7
    7
    0
See reviews for
29
126
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Catawba, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

It is such a pleasure to review Casita Tropical! The moment I saw the large, comfortable room and the hammock hanging in the screened porch....I knew I was home! We spent 2 days enjoying Flamenco Beach and eating local food from the kiosks. Maybe the most beautiful beaches in the world. The next day Molly took us to Tamarindo Beach to snorkel with the Hawksbill Turtles, Stingrays, star fish and all the beautiful fish that make a reef alive. The next night there was a party...we brought the Pina Colatas. All the guest and friends of Mollys joined in to celebrate our vacation together....what a wonderful experience...OK, this vacation rental took on special meaning in our lives. Beyond the great accommodations, there is Molly. There are really no words to express our thanks for being the "Best Host Ever". Molly introduced us to the Juice Man across the street (a daily visit ) and took us on several snorkel trips with her dog Sophie. She knows the Island and the people that make this island special. She brings it all to her guests with a smile and enthusiasm. There is no better ambassador for Isla De Culebra....Thank you Molly, we love you and we will be back really soon! We wanted more than a room on an island, and we got it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Casita Tropical is the perfect traveler's travel rest stop! It's a quaint quiet guest house located in a neighborhood about 3/4 a mile from the ferry dock and the main spots in town. Since it's not located in the center of town it's much more private....even with the shared kitchen and screened in porch. The owner Molly knows everything there is to know about the small island. She will gladly pick you up from the ferry or airport and she even got up at 5 AM to drive us back down with all our luggage in time to make the 6 AM ferry.

Casita Tropical has bikes and snorkel gear you can check in and out. We never had an issue using the beach cruisers to get back and forth to town. I wouldn't recommend them for further than town excursions...but Dick of Dick's bike rentals will gladly come and drop off some SPECIALIZED MOUNTAIN BIKES if you want to ride all over the island.

The room was super clean. Had a fridge, A/C, hot water, beach towels, bath towels, clothes racks and hangers, The screened in porch we shared with the unit next door had a small electric range, dishes and cookware to cook if you decided to go to the store. There was also a couple of hammocks which we enjoyed nightly. There is even a pool to take a dip in after your day of hiking or kayaking.

The world famous Flamenco Beach is a hefty hike from Casita Tropical but we managed to walk it in about an hour.

We can't say enough good things about Molly and her guest house! We will definitely be returning to the island and Casita Tropical will be our only place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacy30312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Casita Tropical is warm, comfortable and welcoming. the location is great and you have everything you need including towels, chairs and even snorkeling gear. Molly is an extremely accommodating host and you will want for nothing while you are with her. She truly makes you feel like family.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaRee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Molly is awesome. We mostly stayed here because the reviews were so complimentary of her and they are well deserved. Molly's guest houses are behind the airport in a residential neighborhood. Molly does a great job maintaining the grounds and providing a lot of items a person might need or forget on a beach vacation. The room is well appointed with air-conditioning, a couple of fans, fridge, toaster oven, bathroom, and some side tables. There's an enclosed shared space outside the entrance to the room with a table, chairs and a hammock. The neighborhood and grounds aren't fancy; neither is anything on the island of Culebra. If you're expecting the W then this is not the best place for you. For us, however, it was perfect. Molly is friendly, knowledgeable, and lent us her snorkel gear and gave us helpful tips where to go. She has the cutest dog named Sophie and there are plenty of cats who have adopted her around the house. Culebra is rustic, laid back, populated with plenty of ex-pats, and has the most beautiful and clean beaches I have ever seen. This island hasn't been corrupted with development or commerce which is a great thing when it comes to enjoying the simple island life.

Room Tip: Don't forget bug spray or calamine lotion. Molly most definitely has these things too but you sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

The owner Molly is amazing... she picks you up at ferry dock and drops you off as well. She makes her snorkeling gear available if you need it! If you want to stay at a fancy hotel this place is not for you. Strongly recommend you rent a golf cart or jeep.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flusseflumina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Stayed for a week over Thanksgiving and had an absolutely wonderful time. The small efficiencies are perfect for couples. Our neighbors were from around the world (US, China, Germany, Czech). Everyone was so nice and we quickly made island friends to meet up for drinks after long days of beach-going.

Molly knew all the best spots on the island and what times to visit them. We saw Sea Turtles, Eagle Rays, Moray Eels, Barracudas, and fish galore. Whenever we had questions Molly knew the answer and was nice enough to lend her beach gear to us or give us a ride on occasion. On Thanksgiving she threw a righteous party with all walks of life co-mingling over great food.

We can't wait to go back !!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Schuyler T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culebra
1.8 mi away
Club Seabourne
Club Seabourne
#1 of 4 in Culebra
380 reviews
14.3 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
367 reviews
19.2 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palmetto Guesthouse
Palmetto Guesthouse
#4 of 19 in Culebra
104 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Robinson
Casa Robinson
#6 of 19 in Culebra
136 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mamacitas Guest House
Mamacitas Guest House
#11 of 19 in Culebra
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casita Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casita Tropical

Property: Casita Tropical
Address: 72 Villa Muneco | Bo Resaca, 00775, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Culebra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Culebra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Garden Guesthouse.All first floor units -Two small guest rooms accomodating 2 guests each with, TV, AC, private bath and kitchenette, screened in patio.-One large guest room accomomodating 6 guests with 3 ceiling and 3 floor fans, kitchenette and TV, open air screened in windows. House accomodation with private bathroom, kitchen, livingroom with TV, 2 bedrooms with AC and full beds, up to 5 guests. (Can combine with large efficiency for larger groups) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casita Tropical Hotel Culebra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing