We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memories and Beauty”
Review of Casita Tropical

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casita Tropical
Ranked #3 of 19 Culebra B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Casita Tropical, the beautiful stay in Culebra. Molly is a wonderful host and a great lady, we got to stay with her for two day's and wish we had more. She was so very nice and very helpful, suggested where to snorkel and let us use her equipment as it was our first time. Her place was very clean and I have no doubt in my mind that we will be returning to see her. Miss her already. Her place is located in a central location, close to Airport and not far from the beach. She can make suggestions on places to go and places to eat, but most of all she makes your stay so grand that you will want to go back. Remember Molly!!! Thanks for a fantastic vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
There are newer reviews for Casita Tropical
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

Excellent location, extremely convenient to Flamenco Beach and the center (Port) of Cullebra Casita Tropical offers the most authentic island experience you could ever dream of, you will come away feeling revitalized, re-energized and basically refreshed.
Molly was outstanding as a host and even took my family on a private snorkel trip (Sea Turtles, Sting Rays, etc..) at no extra cost. The accommodations are fairly simple as is the entire island. We rented a golf cart, (4 seats) which was perfect for fumbling around the island. We are already planning next years trip and the choice is unanimous "Casita Tropical"! We wouldn't stay anyplace else.

Room Tip: The ferry is around an hour trip and was not as reliable as the air transport. We did one way on eac...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 313Court
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We had the BEST stay in Culebra at Casita Tropical - just wish it could have been longer than the two days we allotted. Molly is a wonderful hostess and provided the best service that made our trip so much easier. She purchased our ferry tickets and mailed them to our home in advance, which was a huge perk, considering the long lines for the ferry (some people in line we chatted with were unable to get to Culebra because they didn't get their tickets early enough, which is likely why you'll read a lot of ferry horror stories... but it was very easy for us with Molly's help). She also picked us up in her golf cart right at the dock and gave us a little tour of town, then took us to Playa Flamenco, which is hands-down the most beautiful beach I have ever experienced. The next day, she offered to take us for an early-morning snorkel to a great spot to see sea turtles. I lost count of how many we saw - perhaps up to 10! The value of this alone was worth the stay. We also loved the room... felt super laid back. You share a screened in patio with kitchenette with some neighbors. Ours were great and we enjoyed chatting with them. Room was super clean and had everything we needed - including a mini-fridge which came in handy as we got some groceries. We had dinner at the Dinghy Dock which had the best seafood and drinks at great prices. We totally fell in love with Culebra, and Molly was a huge part of that. If you're hoping to get to Culebra, do yourself a favor and make it easy - stay at this darling guesthouse! PS - Also loved her cute dog Sophie!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MeganAnneC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I read so many reviews on where to stay in Culebra! Don't waste your time! Casita Tropical is the place! I'm beyond happy I picked Casita Tropical! It had everything we needed and Molly made sure we had an amazing time. I would, without a doubt, stay here again!

My husband and I stayed 5 nights. Before our vacation even started, Molly helped us in a timely manner with every question we had. Once arriving in Culebra, she was the perfect host. Our first morning there, Molly took us snorkeling and we were able to see some sea turtles, best experience ever! She told us about other great spots to explore on the island, as well as some delicious restaurants. Our last night, Molly made dinner for all the guest and we had a great time sitting back enjoying the dinner and company. Even better, she was sweet enough to even cater to me, a vegetarian. She made the most delicious vegetable lasagna!

We stayed in the small efficiency which was perfect for us. Our room had a king size bed, small fridge, toaster oven, tv, and A/C. We shared a screened in patio with the guest next door, who were awesome. The patio had a microwave, dishes, sink, hammock, tables, and chairs. We really had everything we needed staying at Casita Tropical, and if we needed anything, Molly would lend it to us! The atmosphere of Casita Tropical was fun, relaxing, and laid back...which also describes the whole island.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I just got back from a 3 night stay at Casita Tropical with my sister and absolutely enjoyed the experience. Molly was so great and we both really appreciated all of her hospitality. She picked us up from the airport, took us snorkeling on our first morning (we got to swim with the turtles!!), and made dinner for all the guests on our second night. The atmosphere at Casita Tropical was so much fun--especially if you are up for meeting alot of new people!!

<<I would definitely recommend renting a golf cart rather than a jeep. My sister and I had so much fun teaching ourselves how to drive it!! Our highlight of the entire trip was definitely the drive to Zoni beach in the golf cart---the views were stunning and we stopped any time we felt like it along the way to take pictures. Also, the banana daiquiris at both Zacos Tacos (gorgeous back patio) and Dinghy Dock (so relaxing right by the water) are a must try!! Oh, also Barbara Rosa's was the cutest place ever.>>

Thanks so much for being such great hosts Molly and Sophie!!

Room Tip: A single efficiency is perfectly fine for 2 people. My sister and I had no problem sharing a room--a...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emily2687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We spent three nights here and it just wasn't enough time. Molly is a great host and super helpful. We stayed in an efficiency, which is fine for two people and shares a screened in porch. There is a small fridge in each room and a microwave, dishes, etc. There is a small pool with toys and floats, outdoor shower for rinsing off sand, grills to cook on, ice chests and bicycles. The place is in a small neighborhood near the airport, right between town and flamenco beach. Riding the bikes into town was a breeze and we even walked it once with no problem (20mins). Molly gave us rides to and from the ferry and a couple other times when she happened to be going the same way. She even stopped by the grocery store after picking us up from the ferry so we could get a few things for our stay. She is very friendly and can tell you anything you need to know about the island. She has snorkel gear and can take you to some great snorkel spots, too! I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Efficiency for two people. The larger room will sleep at least four.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I stayed with my husband for 3 nights. Culebra is a small island and an excellent place to relax. Reservation process was simple, Molly was very helpful with ferry tickets, pick up at the ferry and through our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culebra
1.8 mi away
Club Seabourne
Club Seabourne
#1 of 4 in Culebra
386 reviews
18.9 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
455 reviews
16.3 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
573 reviews
51.8 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.3 mi away
Palmetto Guesthouse
Palmetto Guesthouse
#4 of 19 in Culebra
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casita Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casita Tropical

Address: 72 Villa Muneco | Bo Resaca, 00775, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Culebra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Culebra
Price Range: £89 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Garden Guesthouse.All first floor units -Two small guest rooms accomodating 2 guests each with, TV, AC, private bath and kitchenette, screened in patio.-One large guest room accomomodating 6 guests with 3 ceiling and 3 floor fans, kitchenette and TV, open air screened in windows. House accomodation with private bathroom, kitchen, livingroom with TV, 2 bedrooms with AC and full beds, up to 5 guests. (Can combine with large efficiency for larger groups) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casita Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casita Tropical Hotel Culebra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing