We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“off the beaten path”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Palmetto Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 19 Culebra B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“off the beaten path”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Was there for New Year's Eve, and Paul and Susan took care of us since every restaurant was closed! They are super nice people, great hosts with cool dogs. I think the rooms are adequate, but I'm not a fan of guesthouses. I would returm to the Palmetto Guesthouse, because of the great service.Scott

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFassassin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    19
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
56
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2013

My husband and I stayed at Palmetto guest house for 2 nights for my birthday.
From the time we booked our stay to the time we left, Susan, was right there if we needed anything. Not to mention in our room there was a nice binder with all kinds of info, including the code for the free wifi.
Our room was the smallest of the rooms available with only a full size bed. We realized this upon checking in. However, we like to sleep close and turn on the air anyways, plus the bed was still comfy so we did not mind this. But if you need a bigger bed you may want to ask before hand for one of the larger rooms if it is available.
The morning of check out we were allowed to store our belongings until we left for the ferry ( huge bonus ). We decided to take one last try to swim/snorkel with turtles at a local beach nearby. Susan gave us perfect directions almost literally down to the last step and within 5 minutes we found our first sea turtle!
Overall my husband and I felt like family here. It was safe, fun and felt like home.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaSh8684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013 via mobile

Always clean, comfortable, and friendly.

Our first visit was two years ago and we had a great experience... So we came back! Glad we did. Even having been to Culebra before, we really appreciate how Susan and Paul gave us so much insight and so many suggestions on what to see and do.

We stayed for 3 nights this time around because last time 2 wasn't quite enough.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJWally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, OHio, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

My fiance and I had a very nice stay in the Palmetto Guesthouse. We stayed in the Bougainvillea room and it was a nice size and gave us all of the room we needed. Susan and Paul were extremely helpful and friendly during our stay; they helped us sort through the best restaurants, the best beaches, and any other questions we had. Susan makes delicious scones every morning for breakfast. They also leant us snorkling equipment that was very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg Bl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We agree, Susan, Paul and Steph are friendly, helpful and interesting folks with a lovely property. The highlight of our trip was spending a day on their sailboat with Paul, Steph, and a couple of great guys also staying with them. They served breakfast, snacks and a fabulous lunch on the boat and knew all the amazing places to go. Susan picked us up at the airport, took us to the beach twice and finally to our last trip to the airport. We highly recommend them.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DougSellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

It's all about location on Culebra -- do you want to be on the beach, which pretty much means Flamenco, or near a beach but way out of town, such as the resort, I think it's called Seabreeze - or in town. Palmetto is a bit in-between -- very close to the airport: literally a two-minute walk -- right across the street from Carlos Jeep, which we found convenient -- also right across from a community center which on Friday night had basketball games and other festivities quite late in the evening, which some might find noisy but which we enjoyed a lot. But it is a bit of a walk to town -- not terrible, just that our first night we were really tired and it seemed endless -- thank heaven for Juanita's food truck on the way, where we were able to stop and have a delicious evening supper next to the roadside, not scenic but we were grateful. If we'd planned it right, we would have gotten out early enough to make it to Barbara Rosa's just around the corner from the Palmetto, which sounded cheap and good but we never got there early enough. Other than that it's a fair hike into the town -- it just takes time, not arduous at all. (And put on bug spray!) On the other hand, no parking worries at the Palmetto -- unless they have off-road parking I didn't see, can't imagine where you'd park if staying at one of the places more in the center of town -- although perhaps one wouldn't need a car there if you take the publico or a taxi to the beach. I decided that with our very limited time -- two and a half days, three nights, on Culebra -- it was worth it to get around on our own schedule and timetable. Although the rental is certainly pricey at $75 a day and for that matter so are the flights, the reasonable charge at the Palmetto helped us stay within budget. Check-out is very firm at 10 am, they would have kept our bags but we just put everything in the rental car for the balance of the day until our flight -- and, were able to return Carlos' jeep at the airport, a slight convenience. Susan said not to worry about the car being broken into and we had no problems leaving valuables either in our room or in the car.

Everything else about the Palmetto is just exactly as billed: fabulous coffee and yummy scones available in the kitchen early each morning -- appreciated not having to sit down and wait to be served a meal. Water juice soda and beer available in the kitchen frig for nominal cost; plenty of leftover shampoo, etc. available for the taking if you need; outdoor shower to get rid of the worst of the sand; very good hot water and water pressure even for me, who takes LONG showers -- much appreciated; information, menus, maps available and good advice from Susan about anything you want to know. Very clean -- cleaner than the Caribe Hilton. Towels and sheets remain for the duration of your stay, which makes sense to me but some people might be surprised I guess. Could hang up wet stuff on plastic hangers in the bathroom -- drip directly on tile floor -- might be better to have clothesline or hooks in open shower stall. Can hang stuff on line in back patio, too, but not really enough space for everyone's stuff when the house is full.

Easy to communicate with Susan via phone and email, and on-time pick-up at the airport. Gave us a free upgrade for a larger room and bed (firm and comfortable) because my husband is very tall and other guests wanted the cheaper room we had already reserved -- that seemed like a smart as well as very nice move. Room is still far from large, although fine for us: two small tables, and low chest of drawers occupied just about all the space beside the bed. Strong air-conditioner, nice that we could control. Large English-language library of books and magazines, which is relevant given the weight restrictions on the Culebra flights. WiFi signal was fine in kitchen and common room -- somewhat weak and sporadic in the bedroom, my phone couldn't pick it up, but no big deal. Beach towels, chairs, snorkeling equipment, provided, although not offered for the day when we were leaving -- so keep that in mind when planning your travel. In retrospect rather than try to maximize the length of the last day on Culebra -- Flamenco, the only beach with a shower, was very crowded on Saturday; had been almost deserted on Thursday -- should have probably left earlier, although then would have missed a very pleasant lunch watching the three-foot-long fish get fed off the deck at Dinghy Dock. Anyway Palmetto was just right for us. Would be great if Susan and family could 1) install a small washing machine somewhere accessible for guests -- especially since guests can bring only a few clothes because of airline weight restrictions; and 2) buy the property next door and put in a freshwater pool -- then it'd be perfect! But then probably would be really expensive.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Wonderful people. Paul and Susan are interesting and easybto talk to. They are lso very helpful. Clean accommodations. I loved that there were magazines, access to kitchen, and we could rent snorkel gear. Central lcation. We rented bicycles and biked to the town, flamenco beach , tamarindo beach and soldado beach. Riding to town is easy. Flamenco is a moderate ride and soldado is hard, but worth it. (Soldado point is secluded, no amenities pebble beach. So beautiful and the snorkeling was kind of amazing because so few people.) our mattress was kind of weak, but we would visit here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherinKy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culebra
1.6 mi away
Club Seabourne
Club Seabourne
#1 of 4 in Culebra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
14.0 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
16.0 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mamacitas Guest House
Mamacitas Guest House
#10 of 19 in Culebra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Robinson
Casa Robinson
#6 of 19 in Culebra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmetto Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmetto Guesthouse

Property: Palmetto Guesthouse
Address: 128 Manuel Vasquez St. | Barrida Clark, 00775, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Culebra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Culebra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palmetto Guesthouse is a small, six-room garden guesthouse located conveniently just 5 minutes from the airport. We are within 1 mile from the ferry, town, restaurants & stores and 1.5 miles to wonderful beaches, snorkeling & dive sites. Each of our rooms have a private bathroom, mini-refrigerator, fan and air-conditioning and beach towels. We have a kitchen and kitchenette for preparing small meals. Complimentary Puerto Rican Coffee and various teas are provided and each morning you will find fresh baked muffins, scones, cookies, etc. to enjoy as well. Come sit in the shade of our garden of palms, bananas and plumeria and read a book from our library or check your email on our free WiFi. Susan Moran, the onsite owner looks forward to making your stay in Culebra relaxing and refreshing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Palmetto Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmetto Guesthouse Hotel Culebra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing