We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palmetto Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 19 Culebra B&B and Inns
northern Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay!”
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

I read thru the recent reviews and not sure I have much to add but concur. Susan and Paul are accompanying, welcome, and fun. I too stayed in Frangipani and also found it pretty tight. They do have. Admitting room, and two small kitchens so it's not hard to cook your own food. They are wonderful hosts. Also enjoyed a day of sailing with Paul, catered by Michi. Very enjoyable. Walking distance to town.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kellyMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    19
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
57
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

We loved our stay at Palmetto and we would not hesitate to come back.

Susan, the hostess picked us up, and dropped us off at the ferry. The room was very clean and comfortable (with good AC). We were able to cook our own meals in the kitchen shared by all guests. We had access to free snorkeling equipment, and were 2 minutes walking from the golf cart rental place. This meant that we were able to go snorkeling on our own without having to purchase a group tour. Really worth it!

Again - this is a great choice!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MishaMints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Spotless with Character. The building is keep up well. Nice shower and AC too. The kitchen is very clean and everyone can use it. Paul and his wife treat you like a guest. They will also give you a ride to the airport.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Victor357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I was in Palmetto with my husband on holidays. The guesthouse is very nice and cosy. Susan and Paul are great owners and managers who were very helpful during our 2 days stay. We also sailed with Paul in his yacht and had a terrific sailing day on board and in Playa Tortugas in Culebrita Island.
The only really bad thing was our room (Frangipani), too small, we could hardly move inside. No room to place our luggage. All our clothes, etc, were kept in the bag. Also the A/C of the room outside was just near our room and when it was working was making such a noise that we couldn't sleep.
We were there 2 nights and we really suffer being inside the room. This room must be given to youngsters, it is like a hostel, more than a guestroom.

Room Tip: Try not to choose Frangipani room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ViliHaifa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

A friend and I stayed at the Palmetto Guesthouse in August and we loved all of it. A short walk to the airport, jeep rentals, and downtown. It felt very cozy and Susan left out amazing scones every morning. We booked a boat trip with Paul and spent all day sailing and swimming and laughing. It sounds like a Mountain Dew commercial, I know! Paul and Susan were beyond helpful and so friendly. The dogs were great too! Palmetto Guesthouse had a very homey, warm vibe and the island was a true escape from the real world. Stay here and you will smile lots.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shuch001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Good in this hotel:
- Cosy, easy-going atmosphere
- Very clean room (BUT this is a guesthouse and there is no cleaning during the stay! However the room was extremely clean when we got it)
- Susan (we did not really meet Paul) - she's the best! And very, very helpful
- Clean kitchens, fridges for your own food and fresh coffee in the morning
- Wifi and A/C worked very well

Not so good:
- Our room was tiny and there were no bedside tables, no drawers etc. basically no space for storage
- For the reason above (and because there is no cleaning), I don't think this is a very good place for a long stay. There is simply way too little space for all your beach stuff and clothes, luggage etc. and it will get sandy and dirty after all, even if you would try your best and hang your towels outside the room.
- Bed was also quite small for two persons
- The location is fine but could be a bit closer for most dining places, anyway it's walking distance and most people seem to drive everywhere.
- There is a small patio/garden but it's definitely not the kind of where you would sit and enjoy. We had our morning coffee there some mornings, that's it. It's small, shady and sheltered from the wind so there's lots of mosquitos (the island is full of mosquitos and roosters)

Overall, very nice place and I would recommend this place for my friends too but maybe best for couple of night stay than a longer one.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marra27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Susan is excellent. The place is clean and cared-for. Rooms are a little small, but fine. Solid wifi and A/C, ceiling fan. Central location. Convenient colmado a couple blocks away.

Only difficulty was the nighttime noise level. It is the middle of an active neighborhood, and of course the roosters. Otherwise quite happy.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haha_no
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culebra
1.6 mi away
Club Seabourne
Club Seabourne
#1 of 4 in Culebra
383 reviews
14.0 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
370 reviews
16.0 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
566 reviews
18.5 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#1 of 1 in Esperanza
235 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Robinson
Casa Robinson
#6 of 19 in Culebra
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmetto Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmetto Guesthouse

Property: Palmetto Guesthouse
Address: 128 Manuel Vasquez St. | Barrida Clark, 00775, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Culebra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Culebra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palmetto Guesthouse is a small, six-room garden guesthouse located conveniently just 5 minutes from the airport. We are within 1 mile from the ferry, town, restaurants & stores and 1.5 miles to wonderful beaches, snorkeling & dive sites. Each of our rooms have a private bathroom, mini-refrigerator, fan and air-conditioning and beach towels. We have a kitchen and kitchenette for preparing small meals. Complimentary Puerto Rican Coffee and various teas are provided and each morning you will find fresh baked muffins, scones, cookies, etc. to enjoy as well. Come sit in the shade of our garden of palms, bananas and plumeria and read a book from our library or check your email on our free WiFi. Susan Moran, the onsite owner looks forward to making your stay in Culebra relaxing and refreshing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Palmetto Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmetto Guesthouse Hotel Culebra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing