We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Palmetto Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 19 Culebra B&B and Inns
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stayed at Palmetto Guesthouse from April 8th-10th 2014. Susan was a wonderful host and very helpful in explaining all the ins/outs of Culebra and helping in anyway possible. The house itself is conveniently located within walking distance of the airport (she provides fre pickup and drop off for both the airport and ferry). As others have said the house itself is small as are the rooms, but they provide all you need for Culebra. The rooms were spotless as were the two communal kitchens. They provide you with bath towels, beach towels, beach coolers and chairs to take with you while you are there. Each room also comes with a refrigerator which is handy for late night drinks. I would definitely recommend renting either a golf cart or car (we rented a golf cart and it was an absolute blast) which you can park right out front of the house. This allows you to truly see all the parts of the island and not spend half your vacation walking around. Culebra is truly an amazing place and hard to put into words.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HokieAaron88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    19
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
56
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Juliet, Tennessee
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I can't thank Susan and Paul enough for literally saving our vacation. Our accommodations on main island of Puerto Rico did not pan out. I called Susan and she helped us find a single night accommodation on the mainland until we could advance our air transportation to Culebra. She was able to take us in two days early. That was just the begining of our wonderful stay at Palmetto Guesthouse. The Palmetto is darling. From the moment you walk through the gate you feel at home. The rooms are clean, well decorated, and you have access to two kitchens and the cutest relaxing garden space. Palmeto is just a few blocks from the airport, but Susan is there with the big red truck to pick you up. Culebra is so easy to get around with a golf cart. There are several companies that also have jeeps and scooters. Parking was easy outside the Palmetto gate. The location is great. You can easily walk to a store, and several dining choices. We went to El Batey twice. Barbara Rosa's is a unique dining experience, great food and an extremely casual calm atmosphere. Snorkling gear, coolers, beach chairs and towels are provided. Susan keeps ice for purchase. We had a very special request for some local sailing information and Susan hooked us up with several grand resources. I just cannot say enough good things about Palmetto Guesthouse and Susan and Paul Moran.

Room Tip: Bouglevillia Room was great in the back of the house. Definitely get motorized transportation to ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West End, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Paul and Susan, the owners, have a fantastic place. We stayed four nights and loved it. They bring down coffee and hot fresh baked scones each morning. The rooms are small, but the communal kitchens (kept spotless) and sitting areas more than make up for it. They also have a computer with hi-speed internet for guests' use and free ferry dock/airport pick up.

The guesthouse is an easy 10 minute walk into town and there is a small market just three minutes away. The best beaches (Flamenco, Tamarindo, Melones) are 2 miles away and we found it easy to hitchhike to them each day. Dick and Cathie's Bikes will also deliver good quality mountain bikes to you for $20/day. Capt Sebastian will take you over to Culebrita Island (a great day trip!) for $50 round trip. He also provides free beach umbrellas, snorkel gear, and water guns for kids.

Paul and Susan also are a wealth of information for things to do and places to eat. I highly recommend a stay with them!

Room Tip: All the rooms can be a bit noisy due to the roosters all over the island. The rooms all have fans a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottminer53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern Michigan
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

I read thru the recent reviews and not sure I have much to add but concur. Susan and Paul are accompanying, welcome, and fun. I too stayed in Frangipani and also found it pretty tight. They do have. Admitting room, and two small kitchens so it's not hard to cook your own food. They are wonderful hosts. Also enjoyed a day of sailing with Paul, catered by Michi. Very enjoyable. Walking distance to town.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kellyMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

We loved our stay at Palmetto and we would not hesitate to come back.

Susan, the hostess picked us up, and dropped us off at the ferry. The room was very clean and comfortable (with good AC). We were able to cook our own meals in the kitchen shared by all guests. We had access to free snorkeling equipment, and were 2 minutes walking from the golf cart rental place. This meant that we were able to go snorkeling on our own without having to purchase a group tour. Really worth it!

Again - this is a great choice!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MishaMints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Spotless with Character. The building is keep up well. Nice shower and AC too. The kitchen is very clean and everyone can use it. Paul and his wife treat you like a guest. They will also give you a ride to the airport.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Victor357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I was in Palmetto with my husband on holidays. The guesthouse is very nice and cosy. Susan and Paul are great owners and managers who were very helpful during our 2 days stay. We also sailed with Paul in his yacht and had a terrific sailing day on board and in Playa Tortugas in Culebrita Island.
The only really bad thing was our room (Frangipani), too small, we could hardly move inside. No room to place our luggage. All our clothes, etc, were kept in the bag. Also the A/C of the room outside was just near our room and when it was working was making such a noise that we couldn't sleep.
We were there 2 nights and we really suffer being inside the room. This room must be given to youngsters, it is like a hostel, more than a guestroom.

Room Tip: Try not to choose Frangipani room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ViliHaifa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culebra
1.6 mi away
Club Seabourne
Club Seabourne
#1 of 4 in Culebra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
14.0 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
16.0 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mamacitas Guest House
Mamacitas Guest House
#10 of 19 in Culebra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Robinson
Casa Robinson
#6 of 19 in Culebra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmetto Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmetto Guesthouse

Property: Palmetto Guesthouse
Address: 128 Manuel Vasquez St. | Barrida Clark, 00775, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Culebra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Culebra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palmetto Guesthouse is a small, six-room garden guesthouse located conveniently just 5 minutes from the airport. We are within 1 mile from the ferry, town, restaurants & stores and 1.5 miles to wonderful beaches, snorkeling & dive sites. Each of our rooms have a private bathroom, mini-refrigerator, fan and air-conditioning and beach towels. We have a kitchen and kitchenette for preparing small meals. Complimentary Puerto Rican Coffee and various teas are provided and each morning you will find fresh baked muffins, scones, cookies, etc. to enjoy as well. Come sit in the shade of our garden of palms, bananas and plumeria and read a book from our library or check your email on our free WiFi. Susan Moran, the onsite owner looks forward to making your stay in Culebra relaxing and refreshing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Palmetto Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmetto Guesthouse Hotel Culebra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing