We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A quite, comfortable, quaint stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Culebra
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Fulladoza Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A quite, comfortable, quaint stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

It tugs at my heartstrings that rather than a formal welcome we were welcomed to this guest house with a post-it-note telling us which room was ours. I know that's not ideal for all travelers, but I really enjoy the trust and laid back approach to this place. We didn't actually encounter the property manager until our third and final day when it was time to check out - mostly because we are early risers and we found little reason to spend any time in the room beyond the quick shower and sleep. Anyhow, we rented the cheapest room which was absolutely perfect except the horrible inconvenience of having to walk 10 feet out of our door to be at the waters edge ;) There was a fully equipped kitchen/sitting area, lovely little bedroom, and perfectly functional bathroom. The location was perfect. The property is right on the water and just steps from town and a short walk to the ferry. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elbowgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
36
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013 via mobile

We loved our stay at Villa Fulladoza! Yeah, the accommodations are not fancy but we truly felt like it was our home for the 9 days we stayed there. Myrna, the manager, creates a family environment and she even organized a pot luck for all of us who were staying there. The best part of this place is the kitchens. Eating out on the island can be difficult and expensive. Here we were able to grocery shop and cook our own meals which save us a lot of money since we were there for such a long stay! I would definitely recommend this place and would stay there again in a heartbeat!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChristaDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villafulladozaculebr, Manager at Villa Fulladoza Guest House, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Thank you and everyone that has taken the time to give us good reviews. It is truly appreciated since this makes up a big part of our bookings.
Thanks again
Myrna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

Villa Fulladoza is a great place to call 'home base' while staying in Culebra! The rooms are modest, but sufficient. For an extended stay the accomodations are great. It is very affordable and having a kitchen saves a lot of money. The location is perfect, close to the night life and conveniences of the 'town' but far enough away that noise is not a factor. Within walking/stumbling distance to bars and restaurants and the town dock. The communal patio is a nice place to relax and meet others that are traveling. The rooms have great views and the private decks are a excellent outdoor extension of living space. I will definitely return!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank downbythebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

Even though the place is close to convenience stores and walking distance to the fairy peer it is some distance away from "party places". On our stay we just barely heard a karaoke or some kind of music coming from other hotels in a distance.
Very basic accommodation, but it has kitchen with everything needed to cook and a gas BBQ on patio. Not having AC was a shock but at nights it cooled down enough to sleep comfortable and we didn't spend time indoors during day.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Imgarde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

We were two couples, stayed for 5 nights. It was a wonderful little place. You can easily walk into town from there. Great value, nothing fancy, but quiet and peaceful.
Small kitchen and fan in each room (no a/c if that is an issue for you).
Nice outdoor BBQ and shared patio on the ocean. Nice place to hang at night.
Highly recommend!

Culebra Island:
Jerry's jeep rental - great price, jeep will get you where you need to guy
Restaurants can be a little on the pricy side, but you're on a tiny island.
Beaches are beautiful: Flamenco beach busy, but go to as many different beaches as you can if you get a jeep. Some beautiful quiet isolated spots on the island: and bring your snorkel and fins - awesome reefs right off the beach (Jerry will tell you where to go).

Room Tip: Cannot swim from the dock at guest house, busy bay with boats and smelly water. Go to the beaches!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dgrayzweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

I almost don't want to review Villa Fulladosa because I wish it could be kept a secret! Super clean and lovely environment. We were so taken by the place that we didn't go out the first night, but chose instead to make dinner in our kitchen and eat it on the patio near the dock. The kitchenettes are fully stocked with basic things like silverware and cooking implements, which is nice if you want to be able to eat breakfast on your patio or have a night in. The apartment itself was much larger than we were expecting, with a bedroom space, kitchen and an additional sitting area that we didn't even use. We both found the bed to be comfortable, and though I am fairly heat-intolerant I could hardly see a need for A/C with the cool island breezes at night. Finally, the bathroom was very clean and there was plenty of hot water and no problems on that front.

It is also ideally located just off the main drag of town. We were able to walk there from the Ferry and make quick trips to restaurants or the grocery stores with no problems. We even walked back from Flamenco Beach one afternoon.

As a sidenote, we are gay and felt perfectly welcome by both the manager and the other guests.

The only drawback to the place was that because it was the weekend, the people in the building next door (owners? vacation renters?) were partying till 2am Friday and Saturday nights. It was particularly terrible because for some odd reason they just kept listening to the most recent Adele album on repeat, making us feel as though we were in some weird, tropical version of hell. When I contacted the manager to see if there was anything that could be done, she did not respond. I imagine that this could be avoided by saying you want a quiet room when you make the reservation (we were in apt 5, which is right next door to the neighbors).

That aside, we look forward to staying at Villa Fulladosa the next time we visit Culebra.

Room Tip: Try the East side of the building to avoid the noisy neighbors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaplessTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villafulladozaculebr, Manager at Villa Fulladoza Guest House, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Thank you sooo much for taking the time to give us such a nice review.
Everyone is so busy and usually only find the time when its a complaint.
Advertising is so expensive and this works much better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

What a wonderful vacation. My wife and I fell in love with this place. We are already planning our next trip there. The owner was so helpful and nice. Villa Fulladosa was everything we wanted and more it was clean, quite, wonderful view, very reasonably priced, close to everything, and a great atmosphere. Sorry for rambling on....we loved it there.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swest3576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culebra
0.9 mi away
Club Seabourne
Club Seabourne
#1 of 4 in Culebra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
13.9 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
15.9 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.7 mi away
Palmetto Guesthouse
Palmetto Guesthouse
#5 of 19 in Culebra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mamacitas Guest House
Mamacitas Guest House
#14 of 19 in Culebra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Fulladoza Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Fulladoza Guest House

Property: Villa Fulladoza Guest House
Address: 350 Fulladoza Rd., 00775, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Culebra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Culebra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Fulladoza is a wonderful, tranquil and comfortable apartment complex that is located directly on the waterfront of Ensenada Honda Bay in Culebra, Puerto Rico. The Villa is a lovely eight minute walk or four minute bicycle ride into the small town of Dewey where guests may shop, dine or meet the friendly and interesting local people and visitors.The Villa offers its guests an informal Latin influenced Caribbean environment. From the Villa waterfront there is a spectacular view of the bay, dotted with sailboats. Beyond the bay is a scenic backdrop of the mountainous north side of the island.​​​The view, coupled with the sun and the soothing sound of small waves lapping against the sea wall, naturally induces one to relax and unwind from a hectic lifestyle.​Each of the Villa's efficiency apartments is adequately equipped with private cooking and eating facilities. Also included are private bathing facilities with hot water and sleeping accommodations, generally for two people. Clean sheets and towels are provided.​On the Waterfront of the Villa Fulladoza one may comfortably lay in the sun, sit and read, chat or cookout on the grill and gather with other guests, friends or family. There is a dock and mooring for those who have boats. The owner, or manager is readily available to assist patrons with traveling and sight seeing information; as well as arrangements for rental of various modes of transportation. Arrangements may also be made for those interested in snorkeling or scuba diving.​ ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Fulladosa Hotel Culebra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing