We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEST CUSTOMER SERVICE EMPLOYEE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Puerto Nuevo Baja Hotel & Villas
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Puerto Nuevo
Corona, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“BEST CUSTOMER SERVICE EMPLOYEE”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I arrived at this Hotel around 8pm after I had made my reservations with Eduardo a week prior. The young man at Reception named Miguel Valenzuela looked for my name but couldnt find me. Apparently incompetent Eduardo had cancelled our reservation for no specific reason, no call, no notification at all. I was in total shock. After much apologizing, Miguel took care of us and checked us in. We had reserved a villa and let me tell you, its NOTHING like a villa. It was dirty, hot & had a TV from the 80's where u could barely see the picture. On top of that, there was a wedding event right outside of our room (which Eduardo failed to mention was going to be there), so we couldnt even sleep b/c the music was so loud. I was soo upset that I complained to Miguel the next morning. I've been a Customer Service Manager for over 15 years and I've never met such a more respectful, apologetic and helpful employee in my years of business. He switched us into a room that was remodeled, clean and gave us a complimentary buffet for the inconvenience we went through. He personally brought us water to our room & extra pillows. He gave us TOP NOTCH service and ONLY because of him, I would return. Miguel went above and beyond to make sure we were taken care of..he was courteous, friendly and was very fast. He should really be in management with how he handled himself and how professional he was whereas Eduardo should be fired!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Socalgirll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    55
    38
    64
    65
See reviews for
108
99
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My new husband and I came to check out the hotel because we were looking to book a place for our wedding party and about 40 guests. Here are some of the things that I will point out about the service:
1. We didn't get notified about the name change before we checked in. It's now the Puerto Nuevo Hotel and Resort.
2. No credit card number requested for incidentals caused a big problem later.
3. Room amenities suck. Not even washcloths provided. Room is dirty. Fans are covered with dirt.
4. Drains in our room didn't work. Phone only worked sometimes.
5. Pool bar margaritas are made with Squirt. Why? We're in Mexico, right?
6. Room never got serviced. Maid put the Do Not Disturb on our door twice to avoid it.
7. All staff are misinformed about the buffet policy. Apparently once you enter the pool the buffet staff say you can't go back even though front desk says that your wrist band is good for the entire day. Slim pickings after breakfast, they don't restock it for lunch and flies are all over old California rolls and salads.
8. We returned to the front desk to have them hold a card for incidentals. They charged $200 then at check out said that they refunded it but we still owed for meals at the buffet. Why? - the charges were well under the amount they had charged for incidentals. The credit card company said that the charge was never removed. Hotel said we have a week before the credit will show and we still owe the restaurant charges. Huh?
9. Most of the pool crowd included families and small children. Why is the DJ playing hard rap music that's saying b*tches, n*&^%s and c&*%ts?
10. Offer better snack food at the pool. We're in baja, why are we doing hot dogs and corn dogs?
11. Keep regular store hours for the mini-store in the hotel.
We really wanted this to work out for us. The common grounds look great and the location near the lobster village is phenomenal. If everything we mentioned would be improved we would be back. - Molly & Mike

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikeandmolly f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puerto Nuevo hotels

Southern California, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This may have been the worst destination resort that we have ever stayed in. To begin, it is off a poorly lit road with no signs. The name of the hotel on the web site does not match the name of the hotel of the outside signs. (Good luck finding the "Grand Baja") The actual hotel is old, lacks decor, as well as basic amenities. Our room didn't have an iron, ironing board, screens on the windows, or even a hair dryer. The shower didn't have a head - it was a stick that had no pressure and little hot water. Bring your own toilet paper, unless a half-roll does the trick for your stay.

As for the restaurant, we waited 25 minutes for someone to BRING US MENUS, and after asking TWICE, we gave up and left. The front desk staff is extremely rude, and they acted like we, the resort guests, were an inconvenience. One particular staff member actually talked about us in Spanish to another staff member thinking we didn't understand the language.

There is very poor lighting throughout the resort, and despite the security guards, it simply doesn't feel safe. The garbage dumpster was overfilled with garbage, and there was tremendous amounts of flies and other bugs circling around it, which was adjacent to the parking. We walked through a cloud of flies to get to our car! (And remember, the room windows don't have screens, so expect bugs in your room.)

Is there an option for negative stars? This place isn't even deserving of a half-star. I'd rather sleep on the side of the road.

Room Tip: Don't bother with the resort, that's the best tip I can give.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicholas_SoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

This hotel is a lovely property that is trying so very hard; the location is beautiful, and the staff does their very best. The common areas have been renovated to be gorgeous, the pool is well maintained, and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff members were universally helpful and cheerful. What was wrong with the property? It was empty. It breaks my heart that no one is visiting Baja these days; we shopped in Puerto Nuevo after our delicious lobster meal, and all of the vendors were telling us how hard it is to make a living these days because Americans think of Mexico as unsafe. Let me tell you otherwise...once you cross the border at San Ysidro, you can get on the road that leads you to the toll road that takes you to Rosarito, Puerto Nuevo, and Ensenada easily and painlessly. From there, you can get to this amazing, gorgeous part of the world, with a bit of adventure travel thrown in for fun. Is this the Four Seasons? No, it isn't. But it is a much better value. And, at 9:30pm, when I went to the front desk and told them we really would like some snacks...they sent someone out to the local convenience store to get us chips, beer and water. And then it was delivered to our room for a not-ridiculous cash payment. AWESOME.

We will definitely be back to this resort, hopefully with friends in tow.

To refute a few things previously posted... yes, when you make a reservation through Priceline, etc., it just reserves the room, it doesn't charge your card, so don't be surprised when they ask for payment when you check in. Pay in cash if you are nervous about using your credit card in Mexico; it's okay, they are happy to take either dollars or pesos. And, yes, they will ask for a $20 deposit, which is completely reasonable. They will take your $20, give you a receipt, staple it to your file, and give the money back to you when you check out. Completely above board.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hibiscusflower9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Reserving and staying at the Grand Baja has been a nightmare!!!!!! We were part of a large group that attended a wedding close by. Most of us reserved via internet with a credit card. Including myself, over 10 people got their credit card information stolen and used for other purposes. When we informed the hotel management they blew us off, they didnt care at all. They told us that the website is managed by a third party. The rooms are old, the bathrooms are filled with mold. A deposit of 20 dls is required for an old fashioned metal key to the room. Check in and out process is endless, extremely rude personnel. Trust me, im not picky, but this hotel and its personnel just dont care about customer service. Stay away!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank loloelchif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

My husband and I have been coming here for 5years. We absolutely love it. Yes, it's a little run down compared to the Hilton. But i didn't expect a hotel like that. The service has been excellent. The rooms have been Great. The ocean view is Amazing. The spa treatments having been so relaxing. I would highly recommend the Wine tour. We had the most amazing time. The food at the.restaurant was nothing special. But we are there for the lobster next door. I recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mamiLuQuin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tijuana, Mexico
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Cute place, indoor and outdoor pools with hot jacuzzis. Tennis court and playground area. Right on the water, no beach area, but plenty of room for tanning!
This place is a block away from Puerto Nuevo and all their lobster restaurants.
We also went to Valle de Guadalupe in the morning for wine tasting and it only took 30 min using the backroad/Libre.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank okmadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Nuevo
10.1 mi away
Rosarito Inn
Rosarito Inn
#4 of 16 in Rosarito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
9.8 mi away
Rosarito Beach Hotel
Rosarito Beach Hotel
#2 of 16 in Rosarito
3.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
0.0 mi away
City Express Rosarito
City Express Rosarito
#10 of 16 in Rosarito
3.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.0 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Bajamar
Hotel Hacienda Bajamar
#9 of 37 in Ensenada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
5.7 mi away
Las Olas Resort & Spa
Las Olas Resort & Spa
#7 of 16 in Rosarito
3.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
10.9 mi away
Pueblito Inn
Pueblito Inn
#12 of 16 in Rosarito
3.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puerto Nuevo Baja Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puerto Nuevo Baja Hotel & Villas

Property: Puerto Nuevo Baja Hotel & Villas
Address: Km. 44.5 Carretera Libre | Tijuana-Ensenada, Puerto Nuevo 22712, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Puerto Nuevo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Puerto Nuevo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Puerto Nuevo Baja Hotel & Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Puerto Nuevo Baja Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Baja Hotel Puerto Nuevo
Grand Baja Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing