We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Honua Kai is Amazing!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Bedroom with access to the lanai
Lanai
Dining Area
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bathroom
Bedroom
Bathroom
Kitchen
Bathroom
Kitchen
Stand up shower in the bathroom
Washer and Dryer in unit!
Kitchen with stainless steel appliances
Fun closet!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ka'anapali, Maui, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lexlaw69
Costa Mesa, California
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Honua Kai is Amazing!”
Reviewed 9 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is a 5 star property. We stayed on the construction side of the resort in a heavily discounted room - we have stayed here when it was not discounted so it was a real treat. The noise is not that bad. Pretty much over by 330. Noise not a big deal since we are by the pool all day (a bit too loud for breakfast with the patio door open).

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Mesa, California
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brad G
Lake Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
“Great view of the mountains in the morning”
Reviewed 28 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Just spent 8 nights in Hokulani 414. Really enjoyed it and would highly recommend it. This was my second stay at Honua Kai (previous was Sept 2012) and I was a bit more impressed with the resort in general this time. Duke's (the restaurant), particularly, had stepped up its game quite a bit and in my opinion went from serviceable to very good over the last couple years.

The unit itself was very nice. We had a few minor issues with various things (toilet leaking, makeup mirror light not working) that Barb immediately resolved, and none of this was a big deal in any way. The unit faces south and the view out the lanai is of the foundation of a construction site if you look straight ahead, which is a little underwhelming. Happily, construction noise wasn't an issue. The view to the left is of the mountains, though, and the view to the right is the ocean, so if you orient yourself to one side or the other, you have a decent view. (You also hear the highway rather than the ocean from the lanai.) The view from the bedroom door to the lanai more than makes up for it, though--it's a view straight out to the mountains, and lying in bed with coffee each morning watching the sun rise over the mountains was a great highlight of the trip. This was the real "secret weapon" selling point of the unit.

Amenities were fine. Plenty of glassware, cookware, etc. A broiler pan would have been nice, but you can;t think of everything. Bed and furniture were very comfortable. Bathroom was large and very pretty. The unit was nice and clean. Washer and dryer worked fine, but the dryer was kind of anemic--this is par for the course for these small vertically stacked dryers. The location of the unit was convenient. They provided beach chairs which were perfectly functional, and some other beach stuff that we didn't use.

I would recommend the unit highly. It's reasonably priced and very nice. Barb was easy to deal with and Maui Westside Properties made it a very pleasant stay.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek T
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Amazing Stay at Honua Kai”
Reviewed 13 September 2014 for a stay in July 2012

My friends and I were were completely amazed when we arrived at Honua Kai Hokulani 404. The place features a stunning view of the beach, it was very clean and only minutes away from excellent snorkling. The building has barbeques available downstairs and an amazing walkway along the beach. In the evening, you can look forward to a relaxing dinner on the balcony.

We fell in love with the place and I would definately stay there again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanani Q
Redwood City, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Honua Kai Hokulani 414 was PERFECT”
Reviewed 22 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I love Honua Kai. We stayed at the property last year for our honeymoon and returned this year for another wonderful experience.

Room 414 in the Hokulani tower was PERFECT. The lanai was great. It was very private because the condo is on the southern end of the property and doesn’t face a main walkway. We had amazing ocean views to the right and beautiful mountain views to the left with rainbows almost every day. Coffee on our lanai was the perfect way to wake up in Maui!

The owner has complimentary amenities in the condo for the renters to use (mahalo!). Boogie boards, beach chairs, snorkel gear, and beach mats. We took advantage and used the beach mats and boogie boards. Hamoa Beach in Hana and DT Fleming Beach near the resort have excellent waves for sponging (boogie boarding!). We enjoyed snorkeling almost every day (we brought our own snorkel gear but there were also two nice sets available at the condo). The condo is on Ka’anapali Beach which just happens to have some of the best snorkeling in Maui between the resort and Black Rock. The waters were clear and the reefs and fish were beautiful. You might want to bring water shoes as the beach front can be rocky, but the snorkeling is spectacular.

Other notes about the condo: the bed is very comfortable, there is a DVD player in the living room, beautiful large bathroom suite, the kitchen is stocked with all the dishware and cookware you would need and there is even a cooler bag available which we used during our day trips. It is also a great location. We walked down to the beach every day and enjoyed snorkeling, swimming, kayaking and the beautiful sunset It’s also close to Whalers Village, downtown Lahaina, and there is a grocery store conveniently located around the corner.

I also want to express our gratitude to Barb, I can’t say enough wonderful things about her. She was our contact when we rented this condo through VRBO and she was very helpful and kind. She answered all of our questions before we arrived, met us at the condo when we checked in, and even allowed us to check-in early (our flight arrived at 10:00am; the early check-in was greatly appreciated after the 5 hour flight!). She helped make our trip planning easy by being very responsive when we initially inquired, professional when providing the reservation forms and setting up payment, kind when we arrived, and even called the day of our departure to make sure we enjoyed our trip. We appreciate Barb’s aloha and when we plan our next trip to Maui (which we hope is sooner than later!) we definitely plan on revisiting 414 Hokulani at the Honua Kai! Mahalo nui!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Reviewed 27 March 2012 for a stay in March 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing