We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Whitcomb Summit Retreat
Ranked #1 of 1 Florida B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 March 2009

Stayed here a few nights last fall, its definitely one of the best places on the Mohawk Trail. The location/view is awesome, the owners are super nice, the rooms are all redone, and the price is reasonable. Also, they have DirecTV or something like that, and I saw the Red Sox Game 5 comeback here, which was insane. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MontyMack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2007

I am the president of a 4x4 club (Jeeps, Land Rovers, Toyotas) and we just returned from our annual club outing at the Whitcomb Summit, located in the heart of some of the best of New England four-wheeling. We've stayed at WS for three years now and have always had a great time, but this year was really special as the owner, Carol Drummond, has arranged for her niece, Kim Drummond, to take over the catering operations. Not only does Kim have the communcation skills of a five-diamond hotel concierge (she was a delight in helping us organize the weekend), she cooked up an amazing Mexican feast for us on Saturday night including beef and black bean burritos, home-made salads, delicious spicy corn soup and home-made cilantro salsa verde. What a treat to arrive back to the hotel after a long day on the trail and find our drinks chilled by Kim, home-made chips and salsa on the deck and one of the most beautiful views in New England.

Our rooms were spotlessly clean, including our rustic cabin, in front of which we were even able to have a club campfire!

Thanks again to Carol and Kim for a fantastic weekend!

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank VTXSPres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2005

We stayed here in August last year when we were spending our holiday in the gorgeous Berkshires area (MA). It is located in the hart of the Mohawk trail (touristic trail from east to west), and is surrounded by beautiful nature and hills/mountains. Though high-season, the prices were very low (lower than low-budget hotelchains located much less preferable), though breakfast was not included. Great place when you are traveling by car, which is necesary because the nearest shop and restaurant are at minimum 7 miles away.

The caretakers/owners were very helpful, the motel seemed quite destroyed on the outside (could use a fresh paintjob), but the room itself was clean and well maintained, as was the bathroom.
We really enjoyed our stay there in the middle of nature's splendour (great views and sitting outside the room on the porch eating the food you bought at the supermarket at the start of the Mohawktrail at full moon is unforgetable).

Good place to stay, great value for money.

5  Thank Hollander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Alle Zimmer zeigen in die gleiche Richtung und auch das Erdgeschoss ist hoch genug, dass man über di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Marie R, General Manager at Whitcomb Summit Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Madinka_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zimmer mit Kingbett, Nr 15. Sehr geräumig und gute Matratze!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Isa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Oben ist die Aussicht top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eszeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florida
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Berkshires
Holiday Inn Berkshires
#2 of 3 in North Adams
225 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
677 reviews
16.2 mi away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
The Williams Inn
The Williams Inn
#8 of 13 in Williamstown
340 reviews
10.4 mi away
The 1896 House Country Inn - Barnside Inn
8.5 mi away
Williamstown Motel
Williamstown Motel
#3 of 13 in Williamstown
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitcomb Summit Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitcomb Summit Retreat

Address: 229 Mohawk Trl, Florida, MA 01247-9620 (Formerly Whitcomb Summit Motel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Florida
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Florida
Price Range: £86 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Whitcomb Summit Retreat 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whitcomb Summit Retreat is a 19 acre mountain top property with a newly increased view of the Northern Berkshires including Berkshire East Ski Resort, Bear Swamp and on a clear day, Mount Monadnock in Jaffrey, New Hampshire... approximately 65 miles away!! Our retreat (formerly known as the Whitcomb Summit Motel and the Whitcomb Summit Resort) has become renown for it's breathtaking mountain-top views, including 3 New England states!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Whitcomb Summit Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitcomb Summit Hotel Florida
Summit Florida
Florida Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing