We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should have stopped further up the roadw”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kimball
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kimball
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Decatur, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“Should have stopped further up the roadw”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Traveling from Florida to Illinois. What should have been about 17 hours stretched out to 20 all due to traffic around Atlanta. Stop and go at 25mph for three hours!!

Started looking for somewhere to stay around Chattanooga TN but couldn't find anything in our price range. Everyone just wanted to stop so I took a chance at this place...and I'm done with the brand.

Late arrival with one clerk working. Immediate seating area across from desk is spartan. Breakfast area looked okay. Got on the elevator for the third floor and genuinely worried I might get stuck. Lots of banging and groaning noises.

Hallway to room smelled damp. Doors are old looking dark wood - like built in 60's but had new electronic locks. Opened door to smell of damp carpet. Not good.

Carpet felt damp so I kept my shoes on. Found a candy wrapper on the floor beside the bed from previous tenant.

Flat screen tv with cable on older dresser armoire that had fridge and microwave. Door to fridge would not close.

Went to place wake up request on the phone and found a peanut under the receiver cord - also from previous tenant.

Throw type fabric on end of bed had something crusty on it. Threw it on the floor.

Breakfast next morning okay. Advertised pancakes but machine said it needed maintenance so none for me. Noticed cookie jar on table by front desk and realized kids just sticking their hands in to get one without using any utensil. No thanks.

The room cost me $125 which is high for in the middle of nowhere but way too much for this sub-standard hotel.

Oh and it's a good thing I woke on my own as i never received the wake up call.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkhmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kimball, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear mkhmn,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel.

We are so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us and regret our hotel did not live up to your expectations. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. We value your feedback as they enable us to further improve the quality and services we offer and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    45
    15
    10
    10
See reviews for
65
31
6
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013 via mobile

I went for a quick one day get away. I drove from Atlanta and my fiancé drove from the TN/KY line. The hotel is in a very good location, right off the highway exit. There is all types of eateries and a strip mall with Walmart conveniently across the street. Upon arrival to the hotel I was told, hold on let me make sure your room is ready. We are understaffed and we were very busy this weekend. That automatically was a red flag. I understand being understaffed. I don't want my experience to based on the fact that you don't have enough workers. We arrive in the room. I notice right away I noticed pillows on the chase lounge and not the bed. No pillow cases. The bathroom reeked of mildew. I noticed that there was NO Shower curtain. The smell of mildew came from the tub. I have pictures to prove. I called down to the front desk and told her I had no shower curtain and I had to use my towels for the floor. Instead of offering me a curtain. She said I will have my daughter bring you some towels. I informed her I wasn't in my room and she said. I will put them on a laundry basket outside of the door. Instantly I was disgusted. Overall for the price I paid. I was highly unsatisfied I have half the mind to call and ask for a partial refund. The stay was probably the worse in my travel history. Never again will I stay there.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teeisit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kimball, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear Teeisit,

We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. Nevertheless, we’re sorry for any inconvenience you experienced because we did not live up to your expectations. Though we would prefer you had a better experience, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts, and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

This Holiday Inn Express is a great stopping point from Florida to Michigan. We stayed here one night in June. The hotel has had a remodel and is pretty contemporary for this area. The breakfast was good. Staff was great. I would definitely stay here again. Great Price!

Also, has a cute outdoor pool that the kids loved. A lot of paces in the area to eat. Free Breakfast at the hotel. Can't beat it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshua S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynde D, Front Desk Clerk at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kimball, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
RDUHM,
Thank you for your feed back. We love that you found the place a perfect spot to stop at on your trip. We also hope that you made the rest of your trip ok as well. WE strive to make everyone's stay wonderful, and from what you have said we did make yours. Im pleased to hear that your breakfast was good, and the staff was very friendly. WE hope you come back through and stay with us again! Have a great day! Lynde D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Indiana, United States
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

For the last 4 or 5 years, my husband and I have stopped at this hotel twice a year as a resting place as we drive back to Indiana from Florida. As a Priority Card Member we generally choose the Holiday Inn brand. This hotel has always been well kept and recently went thru a remodel. If there was one negative of our stay this time, it would be the front desk clerk. The young man that greeted us was not social or personable. He accidentally checked us in and gave us keys to another guests room. When we came back to the front desk to make him aware, he was not apologetic and simply gave us keys to a different room, with no explanation. Breakfast is always descent and the breakfast area has been nicely remodeled.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 823LoriS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynde D, Front Desk Clerk at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kimball, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
823LoriS,
I'm glad that you have been stopping here for as long as you have, it's wonderful for to hear. First off of course I would like to say I'm sorry for the room key, and sorry for the employee. There was no reason for this to have went on. I will let my manager know about this ASAP! Other then that I'm once again so happy that you do find this place every time you travel. Our staff is very friendly, and I'm sorry for that night once again. I hope this doesnt change you mind about your hotel and come back. Hope you have a Wonderful Day. Lynde D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013 via mobile

Breakfast was good, lots of choices, including a pancake machine.

Large room, clean, nice beds. The outdoor pool looked clean.

However, at $150 or so, including taxes, I would find somewhere cheaper next time.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjlocke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynde D, Front Desk Clerk at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kimball, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
sjlocke,
Thank you for your feedback, I'm happy to know that you find our hotel nice and breakfast good. I will like to explain something about our rates. They do change daily and we are normally booked up 6 days out of the week. I'm sorry you find the rates to high, and will find somewhere else next time. I just hope you would give us that 2nd chance. Once again thank you for enjoying your stay with us! Lynde D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We stayed two nights April 26th and April 27th, 2013. It was a well kept facility; room, bathroom and common areas all properly clean. The bed and pillows were excellent. Check-in and Check-out was friendly and fast. The breakfast was standard HIE fare, including the scrumptious cinnamon rolls. Easy to get here off the interstate but far away enough so there was no traffic noise. Three reasons why I didn't give this place five stars: the price was good but not great, although there was a wide screen TV it did not have a high definition source so standard viewing, and I try to reserve five stars for exceptional/outstanding facilities. It was just a few miles to South Pittsburg, TN and the National Cornbread Festival which was the purpose of our visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rulesinjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynde D, Front Desk Clerk at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kimball, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
rulesinjax,
The Cornbread Festival is my favorite time of year and Im glad you came to join us during that exciting time. Sorry It has taken us so long to respond. Our Hotel is great and we strive to make it everything you want it to be. I'm sorry for the TVs, Ill report that to someone as soon as I can. I agree with you that the location of the Hotel is perfect. South Pittsburg doesnt have any Hotels and so every one gets to stay in Kimball. I'm sorry for the price as well. You must understand that it's during a busy weekend and we don't get to make our rates someone else does and they just come up our computer. So what the computer says goes, it only gives us a little room to play with discounts. That weekend however it puts a block on it to where we can't make it lower. Again I'm sorry for getting back to you so late and hope to see you next year for the festival!
Lynde D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 May 2013

I booked on-line back in February for a July 13th stay. I needed to cancel my reservation in May and the management was unwilling to cooperate! I wanted to stay at another Holiday Inn-express in another town, but the management was unwilling to change it for me. I will NEVER book on-line with Holiday Inn-express again!!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Fidplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kimball, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear Fidplace,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We aim to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. I sincerely regret that you were inconvenienced by our rate options. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. Rest assured, this will be passed on to the appropriate departments to consider for improvements needed at our facility.

Again, thank you for the candid review and my apologies for the inconvenience.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kimball
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Kimball
Hampton Inn Kimball
#1 of 5 in Kimball
382 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Kimball Inn
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Kimball
Super 8 Kimball
#4 of 5 in Kimball
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins
16.2 mi away
Super 8 - Monteagle TN
Super 8 - Monteagle TN
#1 of 6 in Monteagle
472 reviews
17.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Chattanooga-Lookout Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kimball? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kimball

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kimball
Address: 300 Battlecreek Rd, Kimball, TN 37380-6308
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Kimball
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kimball
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kimball 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All non-smoking facility fully renovated Jan 2008 Welcome to the Kimball Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites conveniently located off Interstate 24, at exit #152. We are centrally located to local business and industry and for a visit to major area attractions including Nickajack Lake,Widows Creek, Russell Cave National Monument, Ruby Falls, Rock City, Tennessee Aquarium, Creative Discovery Museum, and the Chattanooga Choo-Choo. Enjoy the complimentary Express Start Continental breakfast bar in our spacious great room while catching up on news from around the world on CNN and around the country with the Chattanooga Times. All rooms are equipped with free high-speed Internet access and Wi-Fi, or use our 24-hour business center. Local calls are free to all guests. In the warm months, enjoy our outdoor swimming pool. If you need a good workout, all guests have access to our on-site fitness room. For special occasions we also offer Jacuzzi suites. We offer in-room coffee. We look forward to your next visit to our area and make the smart choice, stay with us at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Kimball. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kimball reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Kimball
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kimball Hotel Kimball
Holiday Inn Express Kimball
Holiday Inn South Pittsburg
South Pittsburg Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Kimball

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing