We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Donati

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Donati
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Cozy and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

We were surprised to find a perfect getaway from our hectic life. Beautiful landscapes, charming chalets, delicious food and breakfast. Not a luxurious hotel, but welcoming and unique. Nice National Park - the first in Brazil - and lots of interesting natural sights nearby.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelmomwith2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    48
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
50
38
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
SAO PAULO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

Excelent location, inside the National Park. Old hotel needs maintenance. Cleaning of rooms and even restaurant is bellow any standard.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VMJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

Our group stayed for 4 nights in this cozy hotel. Nicely situated inside the national park, the hotel offers lots for nature lovers. Good food and flexible staff (we had our pre-dawn breakfasts at 5.00 am) were appreciated by us. With your own transportation it is easy to drive higher up within park. Nature trail behind the small chapel was rich with birds. Noisy frogs behind the room were a bit to noisy on one of the nights, during other nights they were silent.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jussi100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

Cosy hotel in the middle of the Atlantic forest, with trails that take you to waterfalls and through dense vegetation. The management clearly works hard, employees helpful at all turns. Great for a 3 or 4 day visit. Free guides are available and you return to tasty homestyle food and "chalets" with fireplaces stocked with wood. Hot water pool and sauna. A real retreat from urban mayhem and a chance to get to know another kind of natural scenery.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoisGentil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2009

We had a different experience from Vicbrow. The hotel smells badly of damp and is quite decayed with a natural pool that looks risky to swim in. The chalets are Ok but not inspiring. However the buffet food was quite outstanding of all meals. There were plenty of staff about the hotel but no obvious person in charge. Information about trips was more or less impossible to obtain even with some Portuguese..

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bobe09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2005

We have just returned from a trip in Brazil and wanted to highlight an unknown but very beautiful and peaceful part of Rio De Janeiro State. We found this the perfect get away from the hustle and bustle of Rio.
The place was Itatiaia National Park. An area of Atlantic Cloud Forest and Mountains where you can see more species of birds than in the whole of Europe and many other animals such as wild cats and monkeys, as well as beautiful plants and trees, waterfalls and lakes.
The trails to some of these places are short and unchallenging. However, if you want a challenge, you only need go to the upper part of the park where there are proper hiking trails and you can rock climb, absail and do many other extreme sports.
It took us just 2 1/2 hours to get there from Rio on a comfortable, air conditioned coach - nothing like we are used to here in the UK, these coaches are luxurious due to the long journies coaches make in Brazil and suprisingly cheap.
We stayed in the National Park itself in the Hotel Donarti - which we can not reccomend enough. All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful and did their very best to speak english.
Dora, the proprieter treated us like part of the family, going out of her way to make our stay comfortable and arranging various things for us that would otherwise have been very difficult due to our lack of Portugese.
The food was excellent. We stayed full board for just 220 reais - about £33 or $60 per night. The chalets (log cabins) were very well kept and arranged to provide privacy and peace and quiet. We had a real wood fire in our chalet that was lit every evening at twilight. We had an excellent shower and a comfortable bed.
We arranged tours of the park with a local company - Eco Ralph, again, we can not reccomend them enough, they were excellent, taking us to all of the areas of interest within the park and explaining the history and the biology of all of the plants and animals.
If peace and tranquility in beautiful surroundings and the chance to get back to nature is what you want, you should definately visit this place. Our tip is to go in the week as we were told that the place is visited by wealthy city dwellers from Rio and Sau Paulo at the weekend, but even then we can not see it being too busy.
Enjoy, Victoria and Jonathan.

Helpful?
6 Thank Vicbrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Itatiaia National Park
1.1 mi away
Vista Linda Hotel
Vista Linda Hotel
#2 of 2 in Itatiaia National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Do Ype
Hotel Do Ype
#4 of 5 in Itatiaia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Terras da Finlandia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hotel La Ponsa Itatiaia
Hotel La Ponsa Itatiaia
#3 of 5 in Itatiaia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Pousada Esmeralda
Hotel Pousada Esmeralda
#1 of 2 in Itatiaia National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Chales Terra Nova
Hotel Chales Terra Nova
#2 of 2 in Itatiaia National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Donati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Donati

Property: Hotel Donati
Address: Estrada do Parque Nacional Km 9,5, Itatiaia National Park, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Itatiaia National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Itatiaia National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Donati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Donati Itatiaia National Park, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing