We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Breath Taking”

Review of Milbrodale Lodge

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Broke, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jamieleah...
Branxton, Australia
1 review
“Breath Taking”
Reviewed 19 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This house is beautiful, located in an amazing peaceful area. Defiantly a beautiful place to enjoy a weekend away with friends. The only thing that was a let down was the commercial gas oven/stove. We were notified about it being new but this led to being unable to cook certain foods over the weekend. Other then that there is nothing i could even think to complain about.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Plenty of space and area to relax
Liked least: The commercial Gas Oven/Stove
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2016
Thanks so much for your review Jamie-Leah. We're really pleased that you loved your weekend at Milbrodale Lodge. The cooktop and oven have been checked today and everything is functioning as it should. Guest instructions for the new appliance will be installed at the house this week.
Thanks again and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
The team @ Unwind Hunter Valley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronald S
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great houses and location”
Reviewed 10 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We stayed al Milbrodale Lodge for five nights with our family of five adults. The house was perfectly suited for 5 adults and would actually accommodate several small children as well. We enjoyed the large deck where we overlooked the vineyards and saw lots of kangaroos and cockatoos every night while enjoying our wine. The living area was also exceptional for a large group and very comfortable. If you decide to eat in, the kitchen and dining area are very user friendly and will accommodate your whole family at one table. We definitely recommend booking this home for touring the wine region of Hunter Valley.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy of the home.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Feb 2016
Thank you for your review Ron, your comments are appreciated. Happy to hear the local wildlife made a regular appearance for you! You're welcome again any time.
The team @ Unwind Hunter Valley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laraine M
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
Reviewed 12 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This place is fantastic! What you see is what you get. It totally exceeded my expectations. Very open and spacious. The views are amazing. Rooms and bathrooms were very clean, kitchen very well stocked with what you need. Walk in pantry was a hit for me. Plenty of board games, dvds, magazines and books. Very serene location and isolated from the main part of Hunter but only a few minutes from some fine wineries.
We had a very enjoyable time and would highly reccomend. The only down side were the bugs..but you are surrounded by nature so it came with the area. Saw plenty of kangaroos as well. Thank you so much. We will be back!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything was better than advertised. Exceeded my expectations
Liked least: The bugs / insects
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2015
Thank you for your great review Danielle. We agree Milbrodale Lodge is a great place, very unique and perfect for a group of friends to get away from it all! We're really pleased that you loved your stay and you're welcome back any time.
The team @ Unwind Hunter Valley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marnie H
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“A must stay!”
Reviewed 16 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

An absolutely stunning house in the most beautiful location. We loved this property and everything it had to offer. The team at Unwind (Kristy and Dave) were so helpful and responsive. We will definitely be re-booking for another Hunter Valley adventure next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The entertaining area
Liked least: Poor sound system
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
Thanks for your great review Marnie. We're really pleased that you loved your weekend at Milbrodale Lodge. It's such a great property for a group of friends to entertain and relax! Thanks again... you're welcome again any time.
The team @ Unwind Hunter Valley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meg D
1 review
“Amazing Weekend Getaway”
Reviewed 21 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This property was so the most perfect weekend gateway we have had with a large group. The place was well stocked and very cozy. The views from the front deck was breath taking. The Kitchen and large frige/pantry was perfect for a big group and the stock of food and drinks we had. No bugs got in due to the well sealed windows and doors.
Would have been great if it has a Spa for 10 !
Amazing and cant wait to come back!

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2015
Thanks so much for your great review Meg. We're really pleased that you and your friends had a fabulous weekend at Milbrodale Lodge. You're welcome back any time!
The team @ Unwind Hunter Valley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna P
Narooma
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Foodies delight!”
Reviewed 15 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This property was exactly as promised. It is a beautifully designed house with a lovely view surrounded by nature. The kitchen is a dream. It contains everything you could want, and it's functional and a pleasure to be in. We made the most of everything it had to offer. The rooms are very nice, modern and comfy. The lounge and living areas are well layed out and have everything you need... tv, sound system, dvd, books, games, lots of places to sit and relax, cushions, throw rugs. Nice outdoor areas, but it was cold when we were there so we didn't spend too long outside. Small concerns that could be addressed... no soap in bathroom, not enough variety in the sizes of wood supplied for the fire (the kindling and the firelighters provided were not suitable to get the large pieces of wood going), fantastic views from the bathrooms but no privacy as a consequence, and don't try and find the place or navigate the driveway in the dark (the driveway is a little rough and needs to be taken slowly and carefully). These are small negatives in the scheme of things, and the property managers are very accommodating and easy to deal with. Overall, we would book this property again, particularly in winter.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: kitchen
Liked least: lack of privacy in the bathrooms
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jun 2015
Thank you for your review! We're really glad that you enjoyed the lovely and unique qualities that Milbrodale Lodge has to offer. So sorry about the lack of hand soap, we will ensure housekeeping pop some in the bathrooms and request some smaller timber from our firewood supplier. Thanks again and we hope to have you stay with us again soon.
The team @ Unwind Hunter Valley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathen B
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Party House”
Reviewed 1 January 2015 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

i stayed at milbrodale lodge in nov 2014 with my partner and 2 other couples for 2 nights. this place was HUGE. it had a great rustic, country feel when we walked in, which was exactly what we wanted. the space and size of this place is really what amazed us. with 2 large decks, massive open planned living, dining and kitchen area.

the kitchen really is an amazing cooking work space. i would recommend using it as much as you can. it also has a seperate room with a big commercial fridge and seperate powerful commercial freezer.

my partner and i had the main bedroom with ensuite which was its own entire wing, seperate from everyone else. it was very hot on our 2 night stay and the aircon worked very well.

generally everything that is promised from milbrodale lodge delivers. ESPECIALLY if you intended to take a heap of people to fill the many beds. its very isolated and would make a perfect party place.

the only critique would be these..........1 this place would be well complimented with a pool.
and 2 (this is the big one) some of the windows in some areas are not sealed properly. these are not in the main living areas so we didnt notice a BUG problem at first. it wasnt till my partner and i went to bed on the first night that we noticed along our hallway where the floor lights were on, there were hundreds of small bugs flying around. at this stage we just laughed it off. it wasnt till we went to take a shower that we walked into our ensuite when we realised we has left a small light on in there from earlier in the afternoon and saw, again, hundreds of bug flying around. we literally couldnt shower because as one of us would finish we would step out of shower and within 2 seconds be covered in bugs stuck to our wet skn. so you would have to jump back in the shower to get them off. before we tried showering we did go back down stairs to grab insect spray. sprayed the room for a full 2 minutes and left it for 5min before trying to shower. this did next to nothing. it maybe killed around 50 or so bugs with hundreds still frying around.

i looked around the room and thats when i noticed that the rubber seals were missing between the 2 pieces if glass in the floor to sealing windows. this was also a problem in the window near the from door. again they were attracted to the floor lighting leading to the other wing of bedrooms. luckily they had left their rooms closed to keep the aircon in but they had left their bathroom door open, so they too had a bathroom full of bugs.

this sounds quite bad, and yes it did really freak me out. but the next night we just made sure we left all those lights off and the problem wasnt totally fixed. but at least 80% better than the night before.

this issue would NOT stop me from staying here again. definitely not, but i would be making sure these windows seals had been attended to before going back.

also, one more thing. its a bit far away from the wineries. i was aware of that before going so it wasnt too bad. just be aware its at least 20-30 minute drive. if i go to the hunter again, and its a small group that wouldnt really make use of this massive property, i would stay closer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: size and the rustic country atmosphere
Liked least: the bugs
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;