We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fusion treats and country service”

Nightingales Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Broke
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
187 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Fusion treats and country service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We dined at Nightingales over A Little Bit of Italy festival on the 12th April. The restaurant offers an intimate, warm setting for any occasion - it was romantic but homely and full for atmosphere. Service was great and there were plenty of staff so you didnt have to look far to get some help :)

We tried the seared scallops drizzled in a soy ginger glaze with twice cooked pork belly which was quite tasty - especially that glaze. The scallops were cooked well and the crackling was light and flaky.

The mains, while flavourful, were nothing overly special. I had the lamb noisette served with date and almond cous cous which was pleasant though the cous cous and lamb were a little dry. My partner had the chicken stuffed with sage and bread crumbs which came out looking more like a sliced chicken schnitzel - it was tasty but also a little dry.

Desserts were yummy - the eton mess was great and huuuuge! The traditional boiled chocolate pudding with a rich Amaretto sauce was a delight.
Their wines were nice - tried the verdelho which was fruity and crisp and the Cabernet Sauvignon is soft and elegant.

Prices and portions are more than reasonable for the magical setting with entrees and desserts starting from $14, main dishes are $36 and wines by the glass start from $9.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank meikadalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    13
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
campbelltown, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Second visit & it won't be the last!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

We dined at Nightingales on Friday night, 3 of us had eaten there before so we hoped the meal and wine were as good as we had been assuring the others it would be.. And we weren't disappointed. Another exceptional meal accompanied by excellent wine, I can recommend the Merlot, again we left with 1/2 doz. bottles to enjoy at home Everyone enjoyed their entree and meal and the service was excellent. Definitely planning on returning on our next visit to the Hunter Valley.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dianne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Wow, what a wonderful place to stay and eat. The villas are beautiful, the pool inviting and the staff wonderful. Just the right amount of everything. The chef should be congratulated as the breakfast, lunch and dinner were exceptional. As for the wine, superb. Thank you everyone at Nightingales for helping to create a weekend of wonderful memories.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Teejay37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
205 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Light but delicious lunch.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

We were on our way home after staying at Pokolbin the night before and were looking for somewhere for lunch.
The service was attentive but not over the top and we just wanted something light yet tasty, I can't remember the name of the dish but it had scallops, crispy pork, asian greens and a delicious sauce, my husband had had a snack a few hours before and something a little lighter was all he needed, but both meals were very good and the price reasonable, I choose to have a glass of their Unwooded Chardonnay which I enjoyed and bought a couple of bottles to take home. The Winery also has accommodation which from their web site looks excellent, I would like to return and take advantage of the Bar that adjoins the restaurant, wake up to the view from one of the Villa's, then finish the day with a delicious meal in the Restaurant, can't wait.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chrissy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pokolbin, Australia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Breakfast with great friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Being a local, & having friends who are locals we get to go to all the best restaurants in the Hunter Valley. The breakfast at Nightingales is delicious, you can also create your own menu & mix & match what you would like, nothing was a problem. Great coffee too. Sitting on the verandah we also got a beautiful view of the ranges & vines in the forefront. A great way to start your day.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SuzieLock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nightingales Restaurant also viewed

Broke, New South Wales
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Nightingales Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing