We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautifully furnished, relaxing, every detail...”
other travellers have booked this property
Hunter Moon's Entrance and floral gardens
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hunter Moon's Entrance and floral gardens
Hunter Moon's large outdoor spa perfect for groups Hunter Moon's many dining options
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Hunter Moon's Entrance and floral gardens
Hunter Moon's large outdoor spa perfect for groups
Hunter Moon's many dining options
Hunter Moon's relaxing Hammocks
Hunter Moon's amazing Rose Gardens
Hunter Moon's large driveway suitable for many cars to park
Welcome Champers for guests
Hunter Moon's dining or conference area
Hunter Moon's wide decks
The Cockatoo Room which could be a king Bed or 3 singles
The Cockatoo Room with many personalised touches
The Cockatoo Room
The Cockatoo Ensuite
Hunter Moons Kitchen
The Colonial Room, King or 3 singles
The Colonial Room
The Colonial Bathroom
Spectacular flowers
Artisan Amenities
The Gum Nut Room
The Hunter Moon lawn a perfect place to play
Night Time fun in the Spa
Hunter Moon's Entrance
Hunter Moon's beautiful Grounds
Outdoor Spa which can be set to hot or cold
Personalised touches to each room
Hunter Moon's kitchen set up for large groups
Table Tennis Anyone?
Great Workspace!
Hunter Moon's many outdoor seating areas with rocking chairs
Hunter Moon's beautiful Water Lilies
Vineyards all around  Hunter Moon
Hunter Moon's, Moon Room King or Two Singles
Hunter Moon's secret hammocks dotted around the property
Bare Soaps for each guest
Azure Room which can be a king or 2 singles
The Raj Room which can be a king or 2 singles
The Mandarin Room which can be a King or 3 singles
Frida Kahlo Room which can be set up as a King and 2 singles or 4 singles.
Large Media /Living Room with Foxtel, Xbox, Books, DVD's and Fireplace. A sofabed can be set up too
Yoga on the lawn.  Retreats welcome.
Hunter Moon's main bathroom
Yoga mats provided for each room
Frida Kahlo Ensuite with large overhead shower -good for tall people!
Hunter Moon's bedrooms all have writeable boards on each door for guests names and room allocation
Hunter Moon's gardens have always something happening!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
8 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 23
Broke, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

9theresaa
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautifully furnished, relaxing, every detail taken care of”
Reviewed 6 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We have just returned from an amazing stay at Cicada Country House. Another property Hunter Moon is on the same premises but they are not that close and once inside you would never know. The kitchen had every appliance we needed, everything seemed catered for. The furnishings in every room are beautiful. The house is so homely. It's the nicest property in the Hunter I have ever stayed in and there have been a few!

Unfortunately, the weather was too dismal to use the spa or sit outside to truly admire the view (which is one of the key reasons for choosing this home!) but that just means we will have to return to the property to use it the next time and although we missed out on using the spa, the log fire and top of the line massage chair made up for it. There were 10 of us in the group and everyone had a go saying it was the best massage chair they had ever used "It's all about the feet!" was the comment used most!

The speaker for the stereo was fairly average but we were just a relaxed group anyway so it didn't bother us. The property suits families and a large group of friends. It is a good 20 minute drive from the most popular wineries but that didnt bother us.

The only negative comment we would make is rather than have a bed in the laundry, a 3rd toilet would make the property perfect! All in all I would give this property a 10 out of 10 and I can't wait for the opportunity to return!

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The massage chair!
Liked least: The rain - completely out of the hands of the owners!!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
17 Jun 2016
Thank you very much for the lovely review Theresa and there has been many a discussion on the laundry and third bathroom situation. It is in the pipeline so we do appreciate the comment as it is shifting us towards that way going forward. Next time you might like to try Hunter Moon as it has 5 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms and a very big spa! warm regards Colette and Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian D
1 review
“I would go back to both Hunter Moon & Cicada in a heart beat.”
Reviewed 26 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

First up, I would like to say that the photos provided above do not to this lush property enough justice. Not only is the property a beauty in itself but the location is by far one of the most picturesque I have ever seen.

Over the Anzac Day long weekend a big group of us hired both the Hunter Moon & Cicada properties for some well deserved down time and what a down time it was - whether you're looking to spend the entire weekend in a spa, sitting in front of the TV playing Xbox, reading a book in the green, relaxing in a top-shelf massage chair or just having a great time with mates, this place has it all. In addition, if you're keen to go check out a few wineries, both these properties are located in the heart of it all, whilst still feeling so far away from reality. I would go back to both Hunter Moon & Cicada in a heart beat.

Date of stay: April 2016
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
28 Apr 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely review Adrian and hope you can come again and sit in that massage chair!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luzio Z
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Very relaxing, nice atmosphere”
Reviewed 4 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We were a group of 10 (5 couples). Everyone was amazed by the setup. We loves the room.
The spa got everyone excited.

Date of stay: December 2015
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakhall22...
Davistown, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Everything taken care of”
Reviewed 1 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed here for a couple of nights to attend a friend's wedding. there were 4 couples (room for another couple and an extra single person also!) From the moment we walked into the place, we knew that everything had been taken care of and our stay was going to be very comfortable. Indeed it was! Little things, like needing a safety pin, looking in the bottom draw in the kitchen and bingo!
The massage chair was a big hit with all of us (especially the ladies!) and whilst we ended up not using the spa, it did look very inviting.
Excellent place to stay, very clean and comfortable.

Date of stay: December 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
April H
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
“Family and friends for an Elton John concert”
Reviewed 8 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

26 people stayed two nights and were thrilled with every aspect of both houses. I cannot think of a way in which Colette and Mike could make their properties more desirable, better value or easier to book. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: December 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of house and inclusions (linen, towels, bathroom and kitchen supplies)
Liked least: Leaving.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keegan A
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The best property I've ever booked”
Reviewed 25 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We booked Hunter & Cicada Moon houses for our wedding party in September 2015 and we couldn't be happier.

The hospitality shown by Mike & Colette was exceptional, with little touches that made our stay extra special.

Both houses are very well equipped with pay TV, spa, modern furniture and plenty of kitchenware if you choose to cook at home.

This really is the best property we've ever booked. Thanks again Colette & Mike!

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biancam80...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Property!”
Reviewed 15 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Had an absolute fantastic time celebrating my birthday with friends at this amazing country house. Highly recommend staying here, makes you feel like home and the views are gorgeous. Cant wait to go back :)

Date of stay: July 2015
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.