We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than a general zoo”

Featherdale Wildlife Park
Book In Advance
Buy Tickets Online
More Info
US$26.09*
and up
Featherdale Wildlife Park General Entry Ticket
More Info
US$96.35*
and up
Small-Group Blue Mountains Day Trip from Sydney Including Featherdale Wildlife...
More Info
US$112.41*
and up
Blue Mountains Day Trip from Sydney Including Scenic World
Ranked #1 of 26 things to do in Blacktown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Featherdale Wildlife Park is Sydney's ultimate hands-on wildlife experience! We're located just 45 minutes drive from Sydney and en-route to the world famous Blue Mountains. With over 1,700 mammals, birds and reptiles, our comprehensive collection of Australian species awaits your visit. You can meet a Koala, feed the Kangaroos and Wallabies, admire the size of our enormous Saltwater Crocodile "Ngukkur" and loads more! There's a Kitchen and Cafe on site with an abundance of great food and beverage choices for the whole family, and a HUGE retail store for you to find the ultimate keepsake from your trip to Featherdale! We also offer FREE WIFI to visitors throughout the main facilities in the park. There is FREE onsite vehicle parking and we're easily accessible by public transportation. Simply catch a train to Blacktown and board Bus #729 to Featherdale.
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The zoo is small but worth the $29 admission fee because of the up close and personal interactions with the animals. We got there a bit late, but we still had about 3 hours to see everything. It took us about 2 hours to go through it, but we didn't see any demonstrations. It was a Wednesday afternoon in April, so it was pretty empty. The animals are all native Australian animals, so that is why we wanted to go here. We got to take a picture with and pet a koala, and the kangaroos were wandering around outside of their pens. We definitely enjoyed this place and would go back again to spend the whole day there.

Thank raraavis17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kellie A, Manager at Featherdale Wildlife Park, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Hi raraavis17,

Thank you for visiting Featherdale and for taking the time to share your experience. Its great to see that you were able to meet and interact with a variety of Australian animals. We hold several wildlife presentations throughout the day so please make sure you visit us again so that you are able to watch them.

Kind regards,
Kellie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,895)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,197 - 1,201 of 1,895 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

Featherdale was described to me as a big petting zoo and it was definitely something like that. There were wallabies and kangaroos jumping about and you could feed the kangaroos if you paid $1 for food. It was worth it to be able to rub on them while they ate! There are koalas in that are perched for you to pet them- which I did several times! The trainers were helpful and informative. I was glad to get to talk to them. The cassowaries and other birds were so beautiful. There is definitely nothing like this in the US so it's worth the trip!

Thank jamirdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kellie A, Manager at Featherdale Wildlife Park, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Hi jamirdale,

Thank you for sharing your recent visit to Featherdale. We aim to provide an unforgettable, interactive wildlife experience and its great to see that you were able to get up close to a variety of Aussie animals.

We hope to welcome you back to Featherdale again.

Kind regards,
Kellie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We have been to Featherdale numerous times both as a family and with international guests. We have some teenage American exchange students staying with us during the week and would love to have taken them to experience the kangaroos and koalas etc up close. Because the students will be at school during the day, the earliest we could get to the park was 4pm, giving them only 1 hour. We called in advance to see if some sort of discount was possible as we would only be there for such a short period of time and $29 per adult and $22.50 per student would be ridiculous........."No, we have nothing like that" was the response - so whether you are there for the day, or for an hour, it is the same price. Disappointing to say the least. It is a shame that in this day and age some sort of flexibility is not possible. As much as I enjoy Featherdale, it is not worth anywhere near that amount of money for an hour.

4  Thank Redborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kellie A, Manager at Featherdale Wildlife Park, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Hi Redborg,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Whilst there is no discount based on length of visit, I would recommend our Annual passes which cost less than 3 visits. If you are bringing guests with you, they will receive a further discount on entry when accompanied with an annual pass holder. If you would like any further information, please visit our website. featherdale.com.au or contact me at info@featherdale.com.au and I would be happy to send you some information.

Kind regards,
Kellie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We were in Sydney for 5 days on business. We wanted to see kangaroos and other wildlife of the Outback while in Australia. Options included a taxi for several hundred dollars. We took a train to Blacktown, roundtrip for less than ten dollars. It was easy with a 10 minute taxi ride to
Featherdale Wildlife Park from the Blacktown Train Station. We choose to walk 25 minutes back to the station after enjoying the park.

1  Thank ssjtrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kellie A, Manager at Featherdale Wildlife Park, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Hi ssjtrider,

Thank you for visiting Featherdale and for sharing your experience. Public transport is definitely a better option than a taxi ($80-$100). It is easy to catch a train to Blacktown and then bus or taxi for the 10 minute ride to Featherdale. We hope to welcome you back again when you're next in Sydney.

Kind regards,
Kellie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

It was great to have such a close-up encounter with all the animals. We found a cute wombat who really enjoyed a good scratch and the koalas were adorable as well - so nice to pat one. Btw -there are plenty of outdoor sinks with hand cleanser after patting them. Staff very friendly and happily take photos of you with the animals.

It's a reasonably long trip - about 50 minutes. Take the western train line to Blacktown Station, go up stairs and turn left, walk about 50 metres and you'll find stairs for Bus Stand 9 (on right) and walk down (or take the lift) and you need Bus 725, which is the last stand (about 100m). The bus takes about 7 mins to get to the park - not far at all. The park is on the right hand side of the road behind some trees. We nearly didn't see it so ask the driver to let you know where it is.

When coming back on the train, there are probably a few options leaving at similar times so choose the train with only three main stops to the city centre, otherwise it'll stop at all of the stations and take a lot longer.

It is a fair way out so you do need to consider the distance - leave quite early so that your afternoon is free for other activities.

3  Thank Nyl0rac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kellie A, Manager at Featherdale Wildlife Park, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Hi Nyl0rac,

Thank you for visiting Featherdale and for sharing your experience. Its great to see that you enjoyed your time getting right up close and meeting our Aussie animals. Public transport is quite easy from the City and as you have mentioned, it is a good idea to mention to the bus driver that you want to visit Featherdale.

We hope to welcome you back to Featherdale again.

Kind regards,
Kellie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Featherdale Wildlife Park also viewed

Mosman, Greater Sydney
Sydney, New South Wales
 
West Pennant Hills, The Hills Shire
 

Been to Featherdale Wildlife Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing